We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Houston Hotel Westside

Save Saved
You added Omni Houston Hotel Westside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Houston Hotel Westside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13210 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77079   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #39 of 451 hotels in Houston
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Well our stay here did not get off on the best foot. When checking in, we were being given a double bed when I reserved a king. We were informed that since we booked through a 3rd party (Orbitz) our preferences were not guaranteed... Huh???? Where did it say that when I booked. My husband is 6'4" and a small bed is not an option for him. Anyway they did manage to find us a king after a few minutes so crisis averted.

After that things went well. There are a few nice perks you get with the loyalty program - free Internet and coffee delivered to your room in the morning--nice. They also have a very reasonable breakfast menu with some basic items you can have delivered with your coffee. That was something I haven't seen before and we enjoyed. The hotel room was just OK - I found the bed to be very comfortable and slept like a baby. The beauty of this hotel is in the lobby. Very pretty and as it seems the Omnis strive for, very peaceful. We found the staff to be very helpful - actually got my husband a cup of coffee when he was waiting for a shuttle to take him to the airport at 4 am.

We did use the hot tub which was nice but could have been just a bit warmer. BTW, there is access to the pool area by walking through the 2nd floor and using the stairs to the first so you do not have to walk through any parties going on on the first.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHotelsManager, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel Westside, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We're glad to hear the early crisis of having the correct room type for you was averted and that the rest of your stay was a good one. We're pleased you found our lobby to be a peaceful oasis and that you were able to enjoy the perks of our Select Guest Program. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    140
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
78
94
31
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was my first stay at this property and possibly first stay at an Omni. The hotel was very nice and was a good value. The fitness room was good but a little hard to locate. (They tell you to find it on the second floor when it's really in the lobby.) The restaurant for breakfast was the typical overpriced stuff that you see in other comparable hotels. I found a little cafe/store the second day and was able to eat more reasonably.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a really nice 1-night stay here with my wife. This is a hotel which really "gets it" - from the free bottled water at checkin, to the high-end toiletries and fast internet access (well, fast for a hotel.) Easy-access power outlets on the front of the desk. Comfortable bed and pillows, 2 nice robes in the closet, 2 laundry bags, and they even had the extra items I had listed in my Select Guest (hotel club) profile already in my room when I arrived around 4PM. If you were wondering - a buckwheat pillow and an extra blanket. checking in and out was fast, friendly and competent. The indoor and outdoor water features are really neat (and look like they would connect under the floor, though I'm pretty sure they are separate) - with a whole fleet of huge goldfish. I had requested a quiet room, so they put us on the top floor, most of the way down a hallway near the Presidential Suite. Temperature control, water flow in the shower and sink - virtually everything was just right. Good fitness center with a variety of machines, lemon-water, free weights, balls, individual earbud packs and some floor mats. One nitpick item - while the breakfast/beverage tray was exactly on time, the coffee was lukewarm and the pastries were not even lukewarm. The muffin had a noticeable metallic taste - typically this is caused by using an aluminum-containing and/or too much baking powder. Aluminum-free baking powders are less common and will fix this issue. They are not much (if any) more expensive. Again, this is nitpicky stuff - but not costly to fix and make for a perfect experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNCOTE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Omni for 2 nights and must say that every expectation of good service was met in full. The facilities are beautiful, well-maintained and gracious. But it is the staff that shines. From the front desk to catering to restaurants and housekeeping - to a person they were completely friendly, service-oriented and extended themselves graciously when needed. Cannot remember when I have had such a completely perfect hospitality industry experience - and I was trained at one of the top hotel schools in the world - Cornell.

Room Tip: all the rooms my party engaged were 100% perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I enjoyed the water features of the hotel & am sure the chairs on the little patio near the water would've been lovely (too cold one night & occupied another).
Elevators are a little slow & no central stairs that I could find (didn't try that hard).
Very friendly staff.
Quick check in/out.

Room Tip: not sure. It's not like you move all over the hotel to figure this out. Perhaps further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Room a little dated - could do with all-round renovation. Sleep not helped by aircon that was either hurricane or tornado strength and loudness. Staff friendly and efiicient and a pleasant bar.
Feel a bit mean - but really no better than average for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel lobby was very nice. All employees seemed friendly and willing to help. The rooms are very clean, but I didn't like the bathrooms, sink, pot and bathtub were all crowded into one little area like an old time motel. A microwave would have been nice, but it would be $25/day for one. Rooms have a musty odor. Beds are very comfortable. If you sign up for their Select Guest, they deliver coffee to your room each morning, that was nice.

Room Tip: Not much choice, you either get to look at the roof, the parking lot or the freeway. I did ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Houston Hotel Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Houston Hotel Westside

Address: 13210 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#39 Spa Hotel in Houston
#50 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Houston Hotel Westside 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Omni Houston Hotel Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Houston
Houston Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Houston Hotel Westside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.