We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Houston to your Saves list
JW Marriott Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #102 of 455 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
New
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a night with some friends. First off, the hotel staff sent us to a room which hadn't finished being cleaned yet. They apologized and gave us a bigger room and some marriott points which was nice. The concierge lounge is nice, and the lobby is nice as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    165
    98
    21
    18
See reviews for
70
66
33
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location was excellent. It is located across the street from the Galleria Mall and within walking distance or a short drive to many restaurants within all price ranges. The self-parking spots are small and cramped so be aware if you are driving a large vehiclke or SUV. We decided to valet and it was excellent. It was also nice to have a Starbucks in the lobby. The only con is that it is small and doesnt carry all of the food items of a larger Starbucks. Also be aware that not all of the rooms have a mini-fridge although the cabinets in the room were built to hold one. We asked about having a fridge brought up to nour room but we were told that they ran out. We were informed that a fridge would only be provided if there was a medical need for one. We were also told that we needed to request a fridge in advance. However, we were not informed of this when we booked nor is it listed anywhere on the hotel website. In general, the hotel employees were very nice and attentive.

Room Tip: If you need a mini-fridge, request it at the time you book your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia T, Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi RobertSATX!

Thank you for your review!

It was so nice to hear your positive comments about our location, the excellent valet experience and our staff service, I appreciate the great feedback!

You are correct, we do not have refrigerators in all guest rooms, however, I am excited to share that we are beginning a comprehensive renovation this year, and the scope of the project includes elevators, escalators, guest rooms with reconfigured bathrooms (which makes the room much larger), refrigerators in all rooms, new televisions, a new health club, and more.

As a native San Antonian myself, I warmly welcome you back to Houston, and hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again at the JW Marriott Galleria!

Warm Regards,

Julia Turcotte
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Location, service and rooms we good. Beds very comfortable.
The bar downstairs was a bit slow with the service and a bit pricy but you do not have to walk far to find other places to eat and drink
Right across from the Galleria mall with loads of shopping.
Starbucks on site but only open from 6-11am.
Breakfast was amazing full service very nice.

Room Tip: Request one away form the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Everything about my stay here was seamless, comfortable, and really well done. The front desk folks were helpful. Parking is pretty easy. The in-house restaurant was excellent. Room service was prompt and very efficient. All in all, it is one of the really well orchestrated hotel experiences I've had so far.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Pro's: Fitness Center, local restaurants, local shopping
Con's: Pricey hotel compared to competition

The hotel fitness center is the star of this property, and it is the best I've seen at any hotel. It's located on the 5th floor. There are about a dozen cardio machines and a separate complete weight room. The fitness center has a hot tub, and a small connecting pool that is partially indoors. The outdoor pool area has room for sun bathing. On the 3rd floor there is a racketball and basketball court. I didn't see this so I can't comment on the 3rd floor but I expect that this is done to the same high level as the gym.

The public areas are very nice looking and compare well against high end hotels. This seems more of a high end business class hotel rather than a luxury hotel like a Four Seasons or St Regis.

The rooms are nice. They are neither a pro nor a con, mine seemed like a nice basic Marriott hotel room. I wouldn't know that this was a JW Marriott as opposed to a regular Marriott based on the room. I don't know if I was upgraded or not, but the room had the normal Marriott room furniture and look with a sofa that may have been a pull out bed.

The room service food is basic hotel room service food. There are lots of very close restaurants (walking distance) of all types and prices.

There is a club lounge on the 22nd floor that has drinks and food in the morning and evening, and non-alcoholic drinks at other times. There may be a lunch service, I didn't see it so I can't confirm.

I really want to like this hotel, but find I'm very ambivalent about it. It was fine and I wouldn't mind staying here again, but have no reason other than the gym to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher is better for noise. On the 15th floor the room was definitely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The best part of our stay was the quiet room. I don't think we heard one sound from the hall or adjoining rooms the whole time we were there. Unfortunately I didn't get the name of the man working the front desk the morning we left, but he made sure we got a quick shuttle to the airport!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor and was so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just finished my first stay here and loved every minute of it. I received a nice 13th fl corner king exactly where I wanted it (end of hall) very quiet. Ordered room service for dinner and the food was good and reasonably priced (both of which are rarities elsewhere).Free shuttle to nearby offices (1mi). As noted elsewhere location is ideal for restaurants - many nearby ranging from the always good value Cheesecake Factory to III Forks steakhouse across the street. Great location and the rooms are nice and spacious. Can't beat JW.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Address: 5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#62 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Marriott, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.