We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Houston to your Saves list
JW Marriott Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #103 of 455 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hotel 3 in 3 nights after 1 night on a plane and this was a pleasant surprise. Very clean rooms, definitely no history of smoking in the room, nice linen, well appointed furniture and a pretty comfortable bed.

The only downside, like most US hotels is the lack of pressure control on the shower mixer. I never understand in the US why the temperature mixer and pressure controller can't be two controls like the rest of the world. Anyway nothing major.

Great location close to a the Galleria and a bunch of restaurant which are very nice. Only downside is the traffic around the Galleria can be frustrating especially at peak time.

Would happily go back to this hotel, when compared to the Crowne Plaza Riveroaks this hotel is a hands down winner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFoley2013, General Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind acknowledgement of our hotel! We are pleased that you found your stay comfortable. I have sent you a note to your TripAdvisor account to find out which room you stayed so that we can check out the shower pressure and make sure that nothing is amiss. Generally we do not have an issue with pressure in the hotel and we definitely want to check it out to make sure it is in good order.

We are proud to be your new hotel of choice, please let us know on future visits if there is anything we can do to make your stay the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    166
    99
    21
    19
See reviews for
71
66
34
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel has a great location - across from the Galleria. The staff is very accommodating. The food comes very slowly but it is excellent. We were on the 21st floor so the window seat and view were very entertaining for our two year old.

The rooms are on the small side and the bathrooms are way too small and a bit on the crappy side for a hotel of this level. I echo the complaints of other reviewers about the loud elevators, lack of air conditioning and the swimming pool. We were three rooms down from the elevators and could hear them all night. I am a cold-natured person and I was uncomfortably warm in our room. The swimming pool pictures online are misleading. The indoor portion is tiny and the pool is insufficiently heated. It also needs a new lining - it is falling apart. The steam room was closed for remodeling.

This property should be a Marriott - not a JW.

Room Tip: Far away from the elevators on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFoley2013, General Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and resulting review. We appreciate you recognizing our staff and their service.

We will be remodeling the guest rooms starting in September 2014 and will be expanding the size of the bathroom which will enhance the overall feel of the guest room. We will also be updating the design of the guest room and they will have a very contemporary feel. There will an extensive modernization of both escalators and elevators that will smooth out any sound coming from the elevators. This will begin in July 2014. The individual a/c components and thermostats will be upgraded in the room renovation as well.

We keep the pool between 78-80 degrees and check and log temperature and chemical levels twice a day, I will look definitely check and see if it dipped below that range. The pool was recently drained and the liner was checked and repaired wherever necessary. We will be doing a complete pool liner and deck replacement as part of the overall fitness center remodeling. These projects will take place during the winter months for the least disruption to our guests.

We hope that you will return again soon and see some of the changes that we will be doing this year. In the interim, you can certainly expect to receive the same great service and food and beverage that our brand is known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night. A lot was going on including a number of events such as a Sweet 16 birthday party. You are welcomed to the hotel (after a long drive), by very accommodating and efficient valet car staff. This puts guests in a good mood especially if the Houston traffic has been stressful. The hotel is right across the street from the Galleria mall. Simply cross the street for lots of shopping and restaurants. It was also a quick check in. The room is fine but nothing special. (A mini fridge would fit in the cabinets, but they seem to be removed). The bathroom is OK but nothing great. It's really up to the staff to make this either a Great Place or an OK place. There is no coffee maker, mini fridge, or microwave but they have a makeup mirror.

Room Tip: HIgher floor are better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFoley2013, General Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you Barbara for your kind review! We are glad that you found our staff welcoming and helpful during your stay. We are adding refrigerators for all rooms this summer and currently have them available upon request. There should be a coffee maker in each room, they are located in the cabinet under the TV. We will have our housekeepers audit all rooms and make sure that there is in fact one in all rooms just in case your room was missing one.

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you back at the JW soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Imagine a hotel where absolutely every staff person goes out of their way to be helpful. From check in to checkout everyone at this hotel, regardless of title, was eager to help. Looking to print a boarding staff? Someone from the kitchen not only pointed where but took me there. While waiting in the lobby for a ride, the concierge asked me if I needed assistance and had the valet notify me when the ride came. Meanwhile I drank Starbucks and stayed out of the cold and wet. I experienced this can do attitude across the board and very much appreciated. The hotel is in the Galleria area, near loads of shops and restaurants. The fitness center was excellent and the room and bed were perfect. Only minor grievance was the shower was smallish and 70's like. Given everything else was perfect, no big deal.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFoley2013, General Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
WOW! Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Your words really capture what I feel is the spirit of our hotel, and I can not imagine saying it any better than you did! This is exactly the sort of intuitive, caring and anticipatory service that we strive to have all our guests experience. I read your review to our front office associates this afternoon and it really made everyone feel so good to be appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on line and recognize our associates.

We hope to see you at the JW Houston next time your travels bring you this way!

P.S. The shower experience is one of the main focal points of our new guestroom design. All King bedded rooms will have new glass standup showers. We will start converting these in September 2014 and finish in February 2015 as part of our full room renovation scope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at JW Marriott for four days in March 2014 ..It was great ..the staff were professional and personable ..particularly Jaime at front desk who was very helpful to us.
Room was excellent ..the convenience of Starbucks in the lobby was a rare bit of added luxury and although the hotel seemed full it was efficiently managed .Restaurants and Room service were excellent ..
Excellent value short break if your looking for value comfort and a bit of indulgence ..not too expensive ..very good value and service ..
We loved it and will return
Hugh S

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFoley2013, General Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much Hugh! We appreciate that you took the time to recognize Jaime and the rest of our team! I will make sure that we pass along your kind words. I have to admit that having Starbucks here is a great amenity and one that most of our guests enjoy!

I hope however, that you had a chance to have a more leisurely cup of coffee in our South Coast Grill along side a big stack of our Chef's famous Multi Grain Granola Pancakes with fresh local honey and bananas. If not, it will be something to look forward to on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the JW soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Located near shopping and good dining. I want to give it 5 stars but the hotel is more of a Marriott than and JW Marriott. My room was nicely appointed but not great. I had a room with a 24 in it which got a great deal of elevator noise. Staff was great and addressed a TV issue promptly

Room Tip: I had room 1824 and had a great deal of elevator noise try to stay away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFoley2013, General Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for highlighting our service and location. I am very pleased to to tell you that the hotel will be commencing several projects in the next 12 months to update and add a more luxurious feel to the hotel. Specifically our room renovation will begin in September 2014, and will include a full redesign of the guest room and add several new features like refrigerators,USB ports bedside and at the desk, 42" WiFi HD TV's and in all King bedded rooms we will be converting the existing tub/shower setup to a glass enclosed stand up shower. Best of all, all the bathrooms in the guestrooms will be opened up and expanded in size.

We will also be doing a full elevator modernization starting in July which will make our elevator system state of the art. In the interim however, we are making some adjustments to the elevator weight system and the mechanisms that open and close the doors which should help reduce some of the sound from their travel.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Every time I travel to Houston for business rason I stay at this hotel which is located in the Galleria area close by Galleria Mall and several good restaurants. The hotel has an excellent gym center equipped with many exercise machines but can be crowded in the mornings. I also like to spend time and have my dinner at the Destino restaurant. Staff is always very kind with their guests. Checking in and checking out is fast.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor rooms close to the gym center because the noises of the gym door opening and closing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFoley2013, General Manager at JW Marriott Houston, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for highlighting several of our hotel's best assets. As always we are most proud of our staff and I am pleased that they have made this your hotel of choice in the Houston area. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

P.S. You mentioned Destino. Not sure if you have tried our Chef's Shrimp Arugula Flatbread Pizza. It is definitely worth flying back to Houston for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Address: 5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#68 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.