We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Houston to your Saves list
JW Marriott Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #102 of 457 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Overnight Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had the absolute best experience here. Everyone was so nice, but I simply cannot get over the hospitality of Briana at the front desk. She was wonderful and so considerate. The room was lovely with a stunning view. Excellent experience all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    167
    99
    21
    19
See reviews for
71
67
34
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Valet and bellman lack luster attitudes defined my entire stay. Front desk staff wasn't there to greet nor check in guest. Spent 5 mins waiting to be checked into a room. After finally getting checked into the hotel I was taken to my room. Upon opening the door an odd oder instantly filled the hallway coming from the room. i knew the room wasn't clean. Requesting a clean room was like moving a mountain. Nevertheless, after proving to two staff members the room wasn't clean I was relocated to a lower floor but a clean room nonetheless. This property either needs to change its name to courtyard or re-train employees. If you are expecting the JW service you won't find it here.

Room Tip: Always request a corner room. Great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We got the room for $59 on Priceline and consider it a steal. Sometimes, when you book with these discount sites, you get the worst of the rooms. But, not here. We were offered a king room on a high floor. AND, it was a corner room with a great view of Houston. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had trouble with the TV and it was fixed within 10 minutes of calling the desk. There were 2 drawbacks (but not deal-breakers) - the bathroom is small and the housekeeping staff didn't refill the coffee supplies for our second morning. It would be worth staying here at full price.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have very high expectations for JW Marriott properties. To me a JW hotel ranks up there with Ritz, and four seasons hotels but i was disapointed with the service. We pulled up to the hotel and it took 15 mins for the valet team to check our car. When we got to the front desk there was no one there to great us and waited another 10 mins for someone to check us into our room. Our room was nice for the most part but it was lacking in some areas like no mini bar and the bathroom looked like a bathroom you would see in a motel 8. Small bathroom, cheap titles on the wall and hair on the bathroom shower wall. We ate at the restaurant there (Destino) the NY strip was great but the drinks weren't very good. The restaurant manager looked like he just rolled out of bed he didn't wear a suit jacket and his tie was had done. The breakfast was pretty good but again the grooming standards of the wait staff was not so good. One waiter had a full beard and the other one didn't look like they ironed there close in a week. Again let me say if this was an average hotel brand it would have been a good experience but when you market JW Marriott as one of the best Marriott brands you expect 5 star service. All they places I've stayed at in Houston this hotel is on the bottom of the list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a great experience here. We hope to return soon!

Everyone -- check-in, housekeeping, pool and other health club staff -- was friendly, smiling, and helpful. We were traveling w/ 2 young children and had a number of requests, all handled quickly and graciously.

The room was very nice, great bed, nice view of the Galleria across the street. King bed and pull-out sofa slept the 4 of us.

The workout room and indoor/outdoor pool were exceptional. Beautiful space, lots of equipment, and what fun to swim outdoors on Dec. 26! (Enter heated pool through indoor side and swim out through, then you're on the 5th floor roof with a nice view. Wonderful.)

Other workout room amenities: free earbuds; chilled lightly scented washcloths; a staff member walking around offering chilled water (with a smile, again!).

We didn't eat here, but the Starbucks on site had better-than-average coffee -- excellent, in fact, and we're not usually Sbux fans.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels and was very impressed with the excellent service here. That and the health club set this hotel apart from other very good properties.

Room Tip: front of hotel faces Galleria -- better than back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a stopover here for the Christmas holidays. The hotel is branded as a JW but would say that it's of mariott standard and no more. . I was given room 310 which was fine The bed was of good quality and I was able to sleep well on all three nights. Regrettably there was a six hour power outage. This wasn't the hotels fault and they did all they could to manage the situation. This included offering to relocate people to the Westin hotel nearby.
A fire alarm sounding early morning also added to the mix. None the less , i had faith in the hotel staff i it was the real thing. I had room service which was tasty and good value on all three occasions.
The hotel is right opposite a massive shopping mall. This have numerous other dining opinions , though this was closed on Dec 25th as would be expected.
Overall a good stay. This is a good enough hotel for my personal needs, although this is chosen for me by my company.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Dont stay here, you've been warned. My partner and I are staying here now and the rooms are noisy, can hear screaming kids thru walls. The electricity s now out...no thunderstorm, just this hotel of the whole Galleria is without electricity for 4 hours now. Offered to let us pay same rate at a neighboring Marriott. Jeez, how kind. First of all, it's pitch dark in the room...can't pack. Didn't even offer to lend a flashlight. Secondly, the JW is the premium brand so by them generously offering to "let us" pay the same rate at the lesser brand down the road isn't such a smart PR move lastly, it's Christmas Eve tomorrow. This roadblock isn't doing much to make me a loyal Marriott member when the Westin and W are much better inanities and service. The tile in the bathrooms are straight out of 1970....this is not worthy of the JW name. Don't waste your money (or points).

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Houston

Address: 5150 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#67 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Houston Hotel Houston
Jw Marriott Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.