We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave away our room even though we had checked in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Houston to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Louisiana Street, In the Center of Downtown, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #126 of 455 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gave away our room even though we had checked in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked two rooms, one for my wife and I, and one for our daughter. I checked in online prior to arrival and picked up keys from the kiosk upon arrival. We occupied one room but not the other as our daughter was not coming until 10 p.m. When she got there and tried to enter her room, the keys did not work. She went down to the desk (I had to get out of bed and go down there myself as the room was under my name) and was given another set of keys only to find that the room was occupied by another guest. I was told that housekeeping makes a sweep of the rooms around 7 p.m. and IF THE ROOM APPEARS EMPTY, even if you have already checked in and picked up keys, THE ROOM IS CONSIDERED UNOCCUPIED AND RENTED TO OTHER GUESTS. This is exactly what happened. This is a horrible practice! And why were we given keys to someone else's room??

We typically stay at Marriott properties and booked the Hyatt only because it had a pool and we have young children as well. We've stayed at a nearby Marriott Residence Inn/Courtyard property and this is where we'll stay if we need to stay downtown again. I will not book this hotel again.

Room Tip: The higher the better. This is an open atrium hotel and the lobby is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent visit. Immediately please accept my apology for our poor performance in checking out your room. It was an isolated error on our part that should not have happened. I have reached out to you personally so that I can ensure we make amends. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    302
    148
    29
    37
See reviews for
70
112
63
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woerden, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Been in the hotel for a two day conference which was held in the hotel.

All went smooth, but for a hotel within this class that should be a given. Did not use any of the hotel's bar / restaurants as this was organized separately by the conference. Hotel room was ok, nothing spectacular. No bathrobe, no mini bar....not even an empty fridge. In this class....it's a first for me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for business.

Very nice hotel, with spacious rooms, good service, quality restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Outdoor pool is too small for exercise, but it could be a good relief from the heat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Even though I live in Houston I wanted to be downtown for early Sunday morning. Valet was quick and easy ($30 versus $15 for self park). A doorman showed me how to do self check in and after I did I realized I wanted a room on a higher floor. He took my room key and returned a few minutes later with not only a higher floor, but an upgrade to the suite floor. Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and had a huge bathroom. Unique walk-down shower with 2 shower heads. Bed was comfy, lots of lamps and 2 large windows. Check out at noon. The $14 breakfast buffet was DELICIOUS! Made to order omelets and waffles, several egg dishes, potatoes, pastries, bacon and sausage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your in town getaway. Thank you for sharing your comments especially about our breakfast buffet. We hope you have a chance to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stay here frequently while doing business in downtown Houston. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Hotel is clean. Gym facility is small for a hotel of this size - but equipment is nice. The west side of downtown Houston gets pretty quiet after 7PM with few if any opportunities for food. This property has a good in-house restaurant in the lobby - and a revolving restaurant on the top floor. PLUS - there is a 24 hour Einstein Bagel cafe - very much appreciated when arriving from late flights and restaurants are all closed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your loyalty and regular visits to our hotel. We are glad to be your home away from home when you travel to Houston. See you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed in 1713 for 3 nights whilst in town on business for a conference at the George Brown Convention Center. The hotel was walkable in the evening (when the heat/humidity was low), but otherwise a quick bus or hotel shuttle ride away.

Service was good - my room was clean, check-in was efficient. I'd especially like to give a shout out to the great Concierge Desk - Nicholas helped me on a few occasions with transport questions, and another guy helped me with a horrendous flight check-in challenge. Both went out of their way and were super friendly, which was awesome.

My king guest room was very big - bathroom was clean and a good size as well. I didn't care for the hotel design - with open interior hallways overlooking the lobby area. It's pretty, but can get noisy. I asked for a quiet room and mine wasn't bad, but be specific about your request if you know you are attending during a big conference.

Tea/coffee is the room was good, and there is an Einstein Bagel in the lobby which provided a cheap quick breakfast option.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that doesn't open on to the lobby hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is one the best in Houston Downtown area.

Location : Louisiana street is one of the busiest street downtown. walkable to distance to any office. and well connected to the underground tunnel.

Rooms : I got a king bed room on the 27th floor corner room, it's kind of the best rooms as they are less noisy than the one in the corridor. The room was clean, renovated, with new shower. The bath amenities were smelling good. you have an ipod dock where you can listen to your music and charge you phone.

Services : The hotel have 3 restaurants : the rooftop revolving restaurant, spectacular view of the city, and great food, the service is bit long but it's perferct for a romantic dinner or business dinner.
The steak house Shula on the 1st floor has very good steak and is like a sport bar.
The Einstein bagel shop on 1st floor is open 24/7 and excellent for quick breakfast to take out.

The hotels has a also a roof top pool on the 6th floor, that is well maintenant. and complete gym in the basement.

I stayed in this hotel everytime I visit houston and I find it practical and well located for business.

If you are looking for a night life district, you will need to use Taxi because there is nothing open late around, this is Houston downtown I guess.

Room Tip: Corner room are the less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Houston

Address: 1200 Louisiana Street, In the Center of Downtown, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Houston
#21 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#64 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#68 Family Hotel in Houston
#96 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 947
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown’s thriving business and entertainment districts, the newly renovated Hyatt Regency Houston is connected to restaurants and services via the city’s famous seven-mile tunnel system. Walk to events at the nearby George R. Brown Convention Center. Take in a game at Minute Maid Park or Toyota Center. Be sure to save time to enjoy a show in downtown’s Theater District or explore the shops along Main Street. A quick ride on Houston’s METRO Light Rail, with stops just seconds from our hotel, will take you to the renowned Museum District, Children’s Museum, the Houston Zoo, the Texas Medical Center or Reliant Park. Enjoy 360-degree views of the city as you dine on award-winning cuisine at Spindletop, our iconic revolving restaurant. When it’s time to relax, retreat to your spacious accommodations and enjoy the plush Hyatt Grand BedTM, state-of-the-art technology and thoughtful amenities. Always the right choice; book your reservation now at our outstanding accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.