We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff but The Rooms are Dated and Dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Houston to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Louisiana Street, In the Center of Downtown, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #126 of 455 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Staff but The Rooms are Dated and Dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very expensive hotel - over $300. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. However the rooms are very dated and dirty - stains on the couches etc. I will try an different place - the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We appreciate your review. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our staff and please accept my apology for the cleanliness issues in your guest room. We should have performed better in catching your concerns before your arrival. I will be sure to share your comments with our team as we are always striving to improve our performance. I do hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    303
    148
    29
    37
See reviews for
70
112
63
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great service, beautiful rooms, great view on 28th floor from room, comfy bed, what moee can you ask for!?!.....oh, food was good, not great, but good! Around the bend, we had dinner at Vic and Anthonys, now that was great food!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We appreciate the review and the wonderful comments from our neighbors to the north. Please come and visit again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Got a great rate online for a weekend,online check in so got the key from the machine, pool on 8th floor and no bar or food,didn't eat here (yet) restaurant a bit pricey and planty of good restaurants around here, self parked across the street for half the valet fee :-)
Overall a very nice and updated hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and sharing your weekend experience. Glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stated one night at the Hyatt Regency and frankly, it was one night too many. We got there fairly late only to find a convention in full flow. As the centre of this hotel is hollow with all rooms looking in, the sound bounced off the concrete balcony and despite being on the 28th floor, we could hear all that was going on in the lobby where all the convention attendees were in full party flow and so, until 4am.
Upon check out, we did say how unsatisfied we were with our stay to be told that 3 emails had been sent to per warn guests of the convention. We never received any of them. Curious, isn't it?
Dissapointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at this property several times before. The staff have always been very friendly and professional. Tricia was the super star this trip, spend a long time on the phone helping me with my room choices. Despite the large number of guests, valet parking, check in and bell service was very quick.
I'll have to admit the upgraded suite (rm 741) was not worth the extra $$...but I was super spoiled when they upgraded me to the top suite in previous stays (living room with upstairs bedroom). Also, recommend a room away from the elevators. Late night revelators getting off the elevator seem to forget there are sleeping guests in the rooms nearby. Was very noisy!
Wait staff at the Shula restaurant were excellent. Buffet was not huge but the food was excellent (great muffins!).

Room Tip: away from the elevator and upper floors
See more room tips
Green Features: replaced our towels even though we hung them up for the second night...but this is common.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for spending graduation weekend with us and recognizing Tricia at our Front Desk. I will be sure to pass along your praises. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was in Houston for a meeting held that the Hyatt. My second stay at this property. The staff was very attentive and courteous. The place was kept up nicely. The only complaint I have is with the valet parking. What a mess. There is no organization to it. You are required to stand on a small sidewalk breathing car exhaust while waiting, which causes you to be in the way of arriving guests and their luggage. There is no notificaton system to let yo know your car has arrived. And since all rental cars look alike...

All else was fine. Shula's, the steakhouse was wonderful, although the noise level from the atrium was high.

If the folks who run the front desk ran the valet, this place woudl be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Houston, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Thank you for the positive remarks regarding our service levels. I will share your feedback regarding valet with our team as we seek to always improve all areas of our guest experience. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I arrived on a Friday night for a business trip and had a quick efficient checkin. All the staff that greeted me were incredibly polite and friendly. The room was decorated in a modern masculine decor. I liked the layout- the king room was angled by the window which I think made the noise from the atrium less noticeable however you could still hear quite a bit.

That being said, the noise from the AC unit (which was placed on top of the shower in the bathroom) was way louder than the atrium noise. I was surprised bc when I first turned on the unit I thought that something was malfunctioning in the bathroom. Standing in the bathroom was like being in the engine room of a ship- the noise was so loud that the walls seemed to shake. Between having to choose between the ac noise and the atrium noise I decided to leave the AC unit running most of the night (its Texas after all) primarily bc when standing in the sleeping area the AC noise was attenuated somewhat- it was still there but was kind of a very very strong white noise. When I called down to see if all the rooms were setup this way, the front desk didn't have an answer. I decided to give it a go for one night before making any decisions about switching rooms.

Also, the bed at this particular Hyatt seemed to be from the 1980s. When sitting on the edge of the bed, if you flopped a hand against the mattress, you could hear the springs squeaking as they bounced up and down. Also,the bed was a platform bed that was so unstable that at one point, I thought it was going to cave in. In an era where we have memory foam mattresses, I think the Hyatt Regency could have done better. Weird thing though is that the linens were clean and they had a luxurious mattress topper (like most other Hyatts) over a crappy bed.

Two recommendations to the manager of this Hyatt- splurge on new comfortable mattresses and if you are going to retrofit an ac unit into every room at least put some kind of padding between the unit and the ceiling so that the AC vibrations do not shake the room and keep guests up at night

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Houston

Address: 1200 Louisiana Street, In the Center of Downtown, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Houston
#21 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#63 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#69 Family Hotel in Houston
#97 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 947
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown’s thriving business and entertainment districts, the newly renovated Hyatt Regency Houston is connected to restaurants and services via the city’s famous seven-mile tunnel system. Walk to events at the nearby George R. Brown Convention Center. Take in a game at Minute Maid Park or Toyota Center. Be sure to save time to enjoy a show in downtown’s Theater District or explore the shops along Main Street. A quick ride on Houston’s METRO Light Rail, with stops just seconds from our hotel, will take you to the renowned Museum District, Children’s Museum, the Houston Zoo, the Texas Medical Center or Reliant Park. Enjoy 360-degree views of the city as you dine on award-winning cuisine at Spindletop, our iconic revolving restaurant. When it’s time to relax, retreat to your spacious accommodations and enjoy the plush Hyatt Grand BedTM, state-of-the-art technology and thoughtful amenities. Always the right choice; book your reservation now at our outstanding accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.