We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved, but still more needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Houston Southwest to your Saves list
Hilton Houston Southwest
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6780 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074-2102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Malakoff, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Improved, but still more needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Staff was very friendly. First night Air Conditioner was frozen so it was miserable. Unit replaced next day while I was out. Fruit & cheese plate sent up for my enjoyment with nice card apologizing for the issue. Parking if arriving late is horrendous. You must walk a good distance to the entrance. Housekeeping was very friendly and thorough. Television signal was an issue throughout the visit. Nice perk of having a Starbucks on site

Room Tip: High floor facing away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    90
    77
    43
    25
See reviews for
40
36
32
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Houston hotels are now charging New York rates just because. Looking for a better rate, just as a principle since the company would pay almost anything we booked this hotel. At arriving we had an awkward situation with a non-experienced employee resolved by the acting manager. After dinner I arrived to notice that the TV was not working. They offered to change room which I declined. Believe me, I had not noticed the feeling that in room 900 and similar the noise of trucks and cars seems like going under your bed because windows are not insulated. Finally due to noise I accepted to change room simply because I had a 7am meeting. The next evening when I arrived at 11.30 pm the room was not cleaned. I call the front desk person that had a response at that time but offer that that the night was going to free of charge. The next morning a very nice call from the general manager offered me some hhonours points to respond for the problems I had, a ridiculous amount of 5,000 points that would not give a fraction of a night in this hotel let alone the ones that I usually book. Now, to be fair my workmate had not n o problems so I was the unlucky one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at beginning of April. This hotel appears to be older, but is holding up ok. Its Directly alongside the SW freeway, adjacent to an office park. Per some other reviews, the neighborhood to some would be sketchy? I did not feel scared to drive through by any means, but can see some concerns. There is really no place in walking distance for eating, nor would I recommend anything in the close neighborhood. I did eat there at the hotel each night and felt food was fine! If you are Gold/Diamond HH member, the lounge offered a Free light breakfast and some light snacks in evening. Free cocktails too, which was nice, not many do this. Saw a prior review complaining about "Free Breakfast", Its FREE, likely this person had option for Free Breakfast downstairs at buffet, likely if wanted more to eat, should have done that, but I thought attendant there in mornings and evenings VERY friendly, and food was fine.
The Room bed was comfortable, WiFi worked fine for me, would have liked a "plug" outlet with the lamp to charge phone, iPad, etc, but this is an older hotel as I said.
Would not mind staying here again if here for business, as this hotel was in my budget. Houston Hotels in general are pretty High.....Staff went out of way to be polite, thought everyone on staff from Check in, Bar, Lounge, ALL friendly. No issues here for me!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Staff at the Hilton Southwest went out of their way to welcome and assist me in any way possible during my stay. The Business Lounge was a great place to relax and socialize with other guests. The young ladies at the Starbucks Coffee shop were a pleasure. As were the ladies at the bar and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was upgraded to a room fasing the lake since I am a Hilton Diamond member. The toom was great and the view was even better. However, the breakfast at the executive lounge was really bad. The oatmeal was burned and cold. Selection was very very limited. No hotel service staff showed up during the entire 30-40 min when I was up there. I could not even find newspaper to read.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobeor82b
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Houston Southwest for several days. The Staff for the most part were friendly, but the rooms are designed more like motel 6. The beds are in need of replacement. Center of the both double beds slopped down wise. Nice desk to work from. Carpets in room were old and sink seemed to have a mind of its own. Would make loud noises even if I had not run water for a few hours before hand. This facility has a small workout room, but was nice to have. Since I have stayed at many Hilton Hotels I had access to the Executive lounge on their 14th floor. During the week it was nice as you had water, soda, juice, snacks and fresh fruit you could come and get anytime. They even brought in a small breakfast in the mornings. However Friday night though Sunday night there was NOTHING, not even water you could get. Called the front desk and ask if some water could be brought to the lounge. After about 30 minutes, called them back again since no one had bothered to call to bring the water. Was told the hotel did not have any more water. But they could send some to my room. Some friends and I talked that if the Hotel didn't have water, how could they bring it to my room, but not to the Exec Lounge. I went down to my room and waited and someone did bring the water we had ask for. I took the water and carried them back up to the Exec lounge were we were working. A few people in our group wanted to get something to eat so we went to the Restaurant. One person could not have any MSP or Gluten and we ask if they could prepare something for them. We were told no nothing like that could be prepared. Not wanting to eat and them not being able to eat we left and went to a restaurant that would prepare meals for people who requested things like gluten free meals, etc. Overall the stay at this hotel was ok, but did not meet the high standards most of the Hilton Change follows.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors as they are quieter. Understand the rooms are older and not modern. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I am in this hotel every week for almost a year since June 2013. They have been very good from day one, and quality is consistent. Friendly staff, you can hang around to chat after a stressful day. They are helpful with anything such as car jumpstart, early breakfast, keeping luggage for next week. Staff is stable without noticable turnover, which helps maintaining quality. I am picky about clean rooms and never had complains here. Breakfast is high priority for me, and deterred me from many other places. This hotel has buffet with great selection, staff is courteous, remembers individual preferences, such as preferred table, coffee with ice to cool down etc. Concierge host makes the lounge a cozy place to sit down for a drink in the evening. These guys really care, I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Houston Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Southwest

Address: 6780 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Southwest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel, only nine miles from the Sugar Land business corridor, and 10 miles from downtown Houston. Located just off Highway 59 and two miles southwest of Loop 610, this Houston Galleria hotel is three miles from the prestigious Houston Galleria area and offers complimentary local transportation. Centrally located to Houston attractions such as NRG Stadium and Minute Maid Park, the hotel is 30 miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) and 18 miles from William P Hobby Airport (HOU). During your stay at our Houston Galleria hotel keep in touch with complimentary high-speed internet access in each guest room at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel. Swim laps and enjoy the sunshine at the sparkling outdoor pool and sundeck area. Stay active in the fully equipped fitness center with modern equipment. Relax with a refreshing drink at the Poquito Bar and enjoy casual dining in the warm atmosphere of Desert Rose restaurant. Host business meetings or events in over 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible Houston meeting space at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel. The Grand Ballroom is perfect for conferences and the Atrium and Regency areas provide a wonderful backdrop for wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Houston Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Houston Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.