We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value... and a Hilton!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Save Saved
You added Hilton Houston Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Houston Southwest
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6780 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074-2102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% Today!
Ranked #129 of 447 hotels in Houston
SPRINGFIELD, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value... and a Hilton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel located on the Southwest Freeway (U.S. 59/I-69) is in a very convenient location in Houston. The hotel itself was very clean, spacious, and the food was great. I have not found a better deal in hotels anywhere. If you need a nice, comfortable, and quiet hotel in the Houston area, this would be my recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Hilton Houston Southwest, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for mentioning our great location - just off of SW Fwy 59 and right around the corner to the Galleria, Medical Center and Westchase. Next time you stay with us may I suggest a shopping trip down Harwin Drive - very close to the hotel - and known for it's intenational imports from jewlery to bags and clothing! Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    66
    60
    36
    20
See reviews for
26
26
31
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stay at this hotel at least once a month due to it's proximity to Galleria, Hilton brand and price. Staff is always friendly and they care about your stay. Beds are comfortable and good water pressure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Hilton Houston Southwest, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for the Excellent review and recognizing our team here for their friendly service - we refer to it as our "Be Excellent" culture and we strive to exceed your expectations every stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel has seen better days; it had a definite shabby feel about it. The room--even on an upper floor--has a lot of highway noise, the HVAC system was very loud, and the surrounding neighborhood left a lot to be desired; I certainly worried about parking my car there overnight. Overall, it simply didn't live up to what one expects with the Hilton name.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Hilton Houston Southwest, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel has a plan for on-going renovations, so I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Voloria, Lark, and Arcie were so helpful! I am traveling from out of town for a large conference and dreaded trying to maneuver my way to my room and finding the food and facilities. The staff was everywhere and went out of there way to help me. Super quiet and comfortable. New make over , and I took pics to use ideas for my house :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Hilton Houston Southwest, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review and for your comments on our team members - we have a service culture of "Be Excellent" and I am pleased we met and exceeded your expectations! Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our stay at this location started out very unpleasant, however, we contacted corporate who not only made sure our stay was accommodated by Mark Thomas with Guest Assistance; but he made sure the mangement team of that property was notified. Christopher Cunningham of course made sure the remanding of our stay was more pleasant. As a Diamond customer it is very important to us that the environment we stay in is conducive to our needs. We travel all over the US and have planned for out of the country travels soon. We want to know that the Hotel Community Hotels is a Hotel Community that we can depend on without question and that they will always honor their values.

HOSPITALITY INTEGRITY LEADERSHIP TEAMWORK And OWNERSHIP
We’re passionate about delivering exceptional guest experiences. We do the right thing, all the time. We’re leaders in our industry and in our communities.
We’re team players in everything we do.
We’re the owners of our actions and decisions.
We operate with a sense of urgency and discipline.

Room Tip: We ended up at the Hilton Garden in at the Galleria for the next 4 nights. Our experience in this l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Hilton Houston Southwest, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for being a Hilton Diamond member and I am sorry your stay started on a negative tone - thank you for mentioning our rooms division manager Christopher and the fact that he was able to turn things around during your stay. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I would definitely not recommend this Hilton. Typically, I have had great experiences with Hilton Brand, but this was hands down the dirtiest Hilton I have ever stayed in. The Fitness Center was the worst of all with an overflowing bin of dirty workout towels. The rooms smelled of mold/mildew. I would highly recommend the Post Oak Hilton in Houston over this location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Hilton Houston Southwest, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am sincerely sorry that you had a negative expierence at out hotel - I am reviewing your comments with my director of Housekeeping and we will make every effort to improve the cleanliness of our rooms.I Have also requested a deep clean of the fitness center - in 2014 we are doing a total make over of this room with new flooring and all new equipment - thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had read the reviews here, but the hotel was very convenient to where I was going. In addition, I was using HHonors points and this hotel required fewer points than the nearby Galleria hotels. As sometimes happens, I got to my room and someone had been smoking heavily in there. I went back down to explain to the front desk. Unfortunately, the front desk agent was extremely rude, not the least bit apologetic, and basically threw the key card back at me with a new room assignment (even though I not the least bit upset about the porblem). This was really a negative start to my visit.

Thankfully, the agent manning the HHonors check-in saw what happened and tried to smooth it over. Also, there was a gentleman who worked the Executive lounge every day who was extremely pleasant and very helpful. His positive attitude almost made up for the evil front desk agent. The room was pleasant (older but renovated and very clean). The freeway noise wasn't too bothersome since I always use earplugs.

Overall, with the exception of the evil front desk agent, the stay went as I expected. Most of the employees at this hotel are very nice and courteous. I would stay here again, particularly if they re-train the front desk agents.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Hilton Houston Southwest, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - I apologize that the check in process was not up to your expectations, but I am glad that we were able to make it up to you during your stay! Thanks for the comment on the Hilton Honors floor concierge - Noe - he is a great team member and I agree his positive attitude is a perfect example of the excellent service we tried to provide all of our guests. I hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Houston - we have made some changes at the front desk so and I am sure your check in will be better if you give us another oppertunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Houston Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Southwest

Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Southwest Hotel
Hilton Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton
Address: 6780 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Southwest 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel, only nine miles from the Sugar Land business corridor, and 10 miles from downtown Houston. Located just off Highway 59 and two miles southwest of Loop 610, this Houston Galleria hotel is three miles from the prestigious Houston Galleria area and offers complimentary local transportation. Centrally located to Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium and Minute Maid Park, the hotel is 30 miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) and 18 miles from William P Hobby Airport (HOU). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Houston Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Houston Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.