We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not there when I arrived.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center to your Saves list
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6633 Travis Street, Houston, TX 77030-1308   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #126 of 456 Hotels in Houston
1 review
“Room not there when I arrived.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

They oversold. I arrived in the middle of the night, dead tired and waited 20 minutes before being transferred to another hotel 30 mins away. No offer of anything to make up for it. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    88
    62
    26
    14
See reviews for
61
30
20
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family were up there for a friend in The Memorial Hermann Hospital. We stayed there for about a week. I personally liked the service but I thought the food was expensive. Also it was not very good.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you did not enjoy your food, and we always look to reviews for insight on improvements to our hotel. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've stayed here twice now, and the service is excellent. The last trip I left a sweater in my room and when I called to inquire, the staff found it and mailed it to me at no cost. On both visits my room has been very nice-- comfortable bed, and good view of the city. It's very convenient when flying into town to meet with researchers at the nearby universities and I will definitely stay here again. Had dinner and a beer in the bar after flying in late one night and it was good food and pleasant atmosphere. Had the breakfast buffet ($15) with my business colleagues and was quiet and just right for our morning discussions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, TN
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Since UT System is a client I visit the medical district often and I really like the location and layout of the rooms. Big suites and the ones that have been refurbished are even better. It's like a home away from home. While I never need the 1/2 bath at the entryway it's nice to have if there are meetings in the living room.

I've only eaten once for breakfast in the hotel and it wasn't good at all so I've avoided it for all future trips. I'm not sure it's fair to judge a restaurant on one experience but I've stayed away since then.

I typically will walk to Main Street or Fannin and grab dinner or coffee.

I (and co-workers) continue to visit and plan to as long as rooms are available.

Room Tip: Always ask for a "complimentary upgrade". You never know what you're going to get. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for a friends birthday weekend. Check in was fast, but uneventful. The staff wasn't exactly friendly nor mean. Just not what you expect when checking in. The service was real slow. We had to call more than once for them to bring towels to the room & when they got there they didnt bring wash cloths. So they had to come back, which took another 5 mins after the 30 mins it took for them to even show up. There wasn't anything special about the hotel. The hallways were hot, It was an overall strange hotel. Other than the slow service everything was just okay. Being a Hilton, I definitely expected more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of being more attentive to our guest’s needs. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area. I do hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very nice location for both Texas Med Center and Rice Univ. The value is definitely very good too based on the very spacious 2 room suite. Parking is additional but is pretty inexpensive and you have in and out privileges which I haven't had at other nearby hotels. The only downside is that the property is a little dated and could probably use some updating. But I will definitely stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I may be a bit picky but I do have a set standard when staying at a Hilton. This property is definitely below par when compared to most others and I have been a gold/diamond member for the past 12 years.

The hallway/room has a strange odor, like from an old establishment. I believe my floor is non-smoking (not sure about the entire hotel) but i can definitely pick-up the scent of the smoke; kind of smells like its been baked into the walls.

The suites are quite large, with a living room, bar, mini-fridge, and 1.5 baths. However, the shower/tub is worn, in need of renovation. I'm not sure if there are renovated rooms in the hotel, but as a Diamond member, i should have been given a room upgrade if available. At least the furniture is new.

The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Medical Center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt U, General Manager at Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of the issue with your guest room. I often times utilize guest reviews to assess insights within our hotel operations and I have reviewed your feedback with the hotel team and we are now actively taking steps to freshen our guest rooms. We’re sorry if we did not meet your expectations of a Hilton. I appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center

Address: 6633 Travis Street, Houston, TX 77030-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center hotel is located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical facility in the world, and is on the doorstep of Rice University. We offer complimentary shuttle service around the extensive medical center complex and surrounding areas.Our rooms and 720-sq.ft. suites provide views of the Houston skyline, and we host two onsite dining options for your breakfast, lunch and dinner needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Plaza Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Houston Plaza/Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.