We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Save Saved
You added Houston Marriott Medical Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Houston Marriott Medical Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6580 Fannin Street, Houston, TX 77030 (Medical Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #94 of 452 Hotels in Houston
Louisiana
1 review
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Great experience! I have two children and wanted an indoor pool because of the cool weather. Since no pictures of the pool were posted, I was a little uneasy about it. I didn't need to worry- the indoor pool/ hot tub were large and clean and my kids and I really enjoyed it. The room was very clean, sound proof (couldn't hear the traffic, people in the hall, etc.), and the bed was comfortable. The metro stopped right outside of hotel stopped right outside of Hermann Memorial Hospital (where we needed to go) so we didn't have to fight traffic or pay additional parking. For only $2 each we could ride it for 24 hrs. Staff was helpful and friendly. We plan to return within two weeks.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    99
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
68
32
26
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, TN, US
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

I stayed two nights here and was struck by the extreme courtesy and efficiency of all of the staff. Admittedly I booked through a travel agency and received a room with no view and outside construction work continued until 9 pm, but was paying half the rack rate. Everywhere was spotless and the staff clean, polite and attentive. The food was good but more in the JW Marriott price range than simple Marriott. I would stay here again but consider eating out.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Outside construction noise until 9 pm
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed for two nights in order to visit Rice University. The Hotel shuttle service took us to Rice and back numerous times with less than five minutes notice...tipping the drivers didn't cost me anymore than paying for parking at Rice would have. The Shuttle service was extremely busy in this location but always courteous.
I wish I had not rented a car at all since this hotel is so incredibly convenient to the 15 Hospitals, Rice University and to the Museum district. Taking an airport shuttle service to this Marriott would have been cheaper than renting the car which we never moved and which cost me 22 bucks a day for valet parking. There is a super streetcar service in front of this Marriott which has a quick and direct route to park, zoo and top museums, as well as stops for the hospitals and Rice.
Great comfy beds. Rice Village is also very walkable and the area feels safe. There is a Chipotle very close to this Marriott. We used room service twice and both times had good service. The hotel buffet is exceptionally attractive for breakfast as well. This hotel feels less jumbo/corporate/cold than other downtown Marriotts tend to feel. Always many people in medical clothing walking through the lobbies and a more intimate Marriott than most.
Nice front desk staff. Wireless was costly.... a negative for this busy hotel. Not only it is close to ten bucks a day to go online in the room..you must also pay to use the lobby's wifi wireless, which I thought was pretty annoying. The lobby service can be purchased however at a lesser hourly rate via your laptop. They do provide a three computer "free" business center at no charge on floor six but it is closed at 11pm, and no one could make the printer operate when I was there....it was set up where you had to turn over each page in some convoluted way to do backside printing on each page....
They are supposedly rewiring for better WiFi lobby service for laptops.

  • Liked — Location to Hospitals, Museums and Rice University, courteous fast Shuttle service
  • Disliked — wireless is costly
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed at the Marriott Medical Center during a very worrisome surgery performed on my father. For this reason, location was paramount, price secondary. On that score this hotel is an A-plus. Houston in August is very hot, but I was able to use the walkways to get to MD Anderson for his cancer surgery and my many return visits. That was priceless. So location is the big draw at this high-rise, older Marriott. Walking distance to Methodist, Texas Children's, MD Anderson

The staff was friendly (I'd rate it above average), and many areas of the hotel (lobby, etc.) are nicely renovated. Again, I think the main audience for this hotel is someone staying while visiting a sick relative, and to that extent, the hotel delivers.

I also liked my wired internet connection. The health center was a B; it gets crowded later in the morning. I always wish the chains would devote more space to exercise facility -- this one has about three treadmills -- I'd double that if I was manager for a day.

The downsides: 1) wake-up calls used that automated voice system when you are dialed, but they were routinely 20 minutes late. Very odd and unusual; Marriott -- reset the computer-dialer! By day 3, I started taking room service to act as a backup wakeup call.

2) Thin walls. One night was the Democratic national convention. Guest next door might have been hard of hearing, but his TV bled right through the walls. Bring ear protection.

3) Towels. You must ask for more towels at this property. You are only dealt two towels; the housekeeping folks were good about this.

Final tip: You can save money in a multi-day stay by parking overnight at one of the hospitals. MD Anderson's garage is $12/day. I think Marriott is something like $27.95 valet parking overnight. Again, you just have to be willing to walk -- but that is the virtue of this hotel. Valet parking is essential at the hotel.

  • Liked — Location next to the world's best hospitals
  • Disliked — Thin walls, botched wake-up computer calls
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Sure, it is "just" another Marriott. I spend way too much time in Marriotts!

But, they try a little harder here. They have recently finished renovating their lobby and it looks very open and modern. There is now a Starbucks to one side. There are nice touches like aromatic lotions, and water containing fruits by the elevator. They have been kind about providing access to the concierge level (I am a silver member and this is not an expected part of my Marriott privileges.) They have a fairly nice workout room. Chocolates are provided with turndown service.

Overall, a very pleasant stay in the Medical Center area.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

First thing is that this Marriott is confused with another that has "Residence Inn" in its title. One of the pictures at this site shows the hotel with a large reflecting pond near it. This is not that one. This hotel is surrounded by hospitals and is opposite the tram.

I stayed two nights for a consult at MD Anderson. My friend from Dallas had stayed there before and had a good experience so she booked it for us. '

All the people who worked there were extremely polite and friendly. When we asked for real cream for our room coffee, it appeared at our door within 2 minutes. Same for a hair dryer. There is a Starbucks in the hotel lobby and then another just outside the hotel that has better baked goods.

The hotel lobby has potpourri all over the place so it smells relaxing and refreshing. Every afternoon they make this fresh fruit punch over ice and leave it out for guests. It's marvelous.

If you come by car, leave the car in the garage and use their free shuttle service. The shuttle will take you to "the Village" where there is every kind of restaurant and good shopping. It makes for a nice gettaway from the hospital scene.

The beds were yummy and the rooms quiet. I didn't hear my neighbor's TV blaring, phone conversations or bathroom sounds like I often do in other hotels.

Highly recommended. When you come from out-of-state for a serious medical consult, the last thing you need are rude hotel staff or hassles. The Marriot Medical Center understand this.

  • Liked — clean rooms, yummy beds, kind staff
  • Disliked — they charged for internet use
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I stayed here in June 2008 while on business with Texas Children's Hospital. The location is supremely convenient to the Medical Center - I only had to walk a block to get to TCH - and a tram line passes directly in front of the hotel.

The lobby of the hotel is surprisingly spartan and clinical looking, which made me a bit nervous at first, but the floors and my room were both great. The bed was very comfortable, the AC worked great, room service and operator were friendly and prompt. Prices were on par with other Marriotts I've stayed at over the years.

The only real issue I had with the room (pretty minor) was that internet was available via ethernet cable at the desk -- wireless would have been preferable so I could sit anywhere in my room while working on my laptop. In general, though, this was a pretty minor issue.

Note that the hotel is quite far from GHW Bush Airport, so if you're flying in, expect the cab ride to cost on the order of $55-60.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Houston Marriott Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Medical Center

Address: 6580 Fannin Street, Houston, TX 77030
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#70 Business Hotel in Houston
#83 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Medical Center 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Houston Marriott Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Medical Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Marriott Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.