We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to zoo and shopping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Houston Marriott Medical Center to your Saves list
Houston Marriott Medical Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6580 Fannin Street, Houston, TX 77030 (Medical Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #89 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Convenient to zoo and shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family of four spent one night here. We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the Houston Zoo and reasonable price. We also planned to do some shopping in the Galleria area but we had heard that traffic gets pretty congested there making it difficult to come and go. Overall we were pleased with our experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the customer service was good. Self-park was a little inconvenient--you had to park at the adjacent Scurlock Building parking lot--but it was a cheap ($5.00 overnight) alternative to valet parking. There's no free wi-fi in the rooms--only in the lobby area.

Our daughters had planned on swimming in the hotel pool, but decided not to. The surface looked "scummy" and had hair and other stuff floating on it. I think maybe the filter wasn't working. I planned on heading to the Starbucks in the hotel lobby on Sunday morning to get some work done and to let the kids sleep in a little; however, it was closed. But there was a Starbucks in the next block.

I think it was a good hotel for the price and proximity to what we wanted to do. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickSmith001, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your thoughts. I’m so sorry that the pool was not up to your expectations while you stayed with us. The pool filter has been repaired and I’m confident that the next time you stay with us your kids will have a fun filled time in the pool! Thanks again, Rick Smith, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    119
    56
    24
    13
See reviews for
80
37
28
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 12 nights because a family member was receiving medical treatment across the street at Methodist Hospital on Fannin Street. I also stayed there on another occasion for 2 nights. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated. Staff is friendly and always helpful. When you need to get to Methodist Hospital you can use the crosswalk - very convenient. The hotel has a Starbucks, small stopre and a restaurant - Driscols and it has very good food. There is also a lounge, but I didn't visit the lounge. There is also a deli, pharmacy, florist and a hair salon next door in Scurlock Tower. The hotel has valet parking or you may park in the parking garage next door. There is a business center on the 6th floor with computers and desks. The only thing i was not pleased with at this Marriott location is the air conditioning. The central air/heat seems to not cool as it should. You have to put the unit on 59 or 60 degress to keep the room comfortable. Management is aware of the problem, so If you ask for another room, they will accomodate you. That's good, but it would be a problem if the hotel was booked and you had to stay in a room that was not cool. Hotel is great in every other way.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickSmith001, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thanks so much for your review. I’m happy that our Hotel was able to make your extended stay a little easier for you. I’m very sorry the air conditioning was not cooling in your room properly. Our experienced engineering staff is eager to resolve any problems as they arise. Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel! Rick Smith, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

very convient to the medical park. The bathrooms are small and the beds are not as comfortable as usual. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Free shuttle service within two miles is a big help

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I had just arrived in Houston after a miserable trip - I was supposed to check-in the night before, but got held up in another city because of flight delays. The staff here were wonderful, they didn't charge me for the first missed night and gave me free internet to make up for my bad trip. The room was really comfortable, nice bed and pillows. I liked that there was a Starbucks actually in the hotel and the breakfast was pricey but nice. All in all, a great place to stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickSmith001, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
I’m so sorry you had to arrive to Houston in such a bad way but I thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I’m so pleased to know when our staff goes above and beyond to make someone’s trip a little brighter! We look forward to your next visit! Rick Smith, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here two nights to help our daughter get settled into her nearby college room. We had a check-in snafu in that we'd booked on-line but hadn't received a confirmation no., so we were only "partially" booked. This led to a later problem where we got a bill under our door after one night, which we had to then explain to the front desk that we'd booked for two nights. Thought all would be OK, except when we returned the 2nd day, our room entry cards didn't work, so we had to get their function restored.

Great room, although the king size mattress was oddly soft and floppy. Water was slow to warm for the shower, but Houston is so hot it didn't seem to matter. We paid extra to get "valet" parking service letting us use our car whenever needed, which for us was a good choice, since we were exploring Houston and the local gulf region with our daughter for the first time.

We used the Fitness Center, and the secret 6th floor Business Room, which your room key card can open. Here you have access to a computer with internet access, as well as a fax machine and a printer. Not sure why this is kept secret; they tell you at the front desk if you ask about it. We never got to the pool or spa. Wide screen TV only gets about a dozen analog stations for free, nothing in HD. A little disappointing. We didn't check any of the Pay per View options.

The highest three floors are "Concierge" floors, which provide breakfast and other "complimentary" food but these Concierge Rooms cost extra, so for us not having this worked out OK since we dined out at some pretty nice Houston area restaurants.

Room, bathroom were clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I had first called the Rotary House at MD Anderson and since they were booked up, they referred me to this hotel. I was in Houston for medical treatment so I was dressed casually , so maybe that is why anytime I was in the lobby area, I would be asked what I needed in a suspicious manner as if I didn't seem to belong there. Same attitude when waiting outside for the shuttle to the hospital. Then when I went into the lounge or restaurant, I was ignored until I protested and would finally be seated at a small area away from the "real guests".
Since I was paying the same price as other guests, why was I treated in such a shabby manner which reminds me of traveling alone back in the 70's and 80's.

I won't stay there again unless there is no other choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmora, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We where staying at the Marriott on Fannin because of the Medical Center across the street and I am so glad we did. They treated us like we where family not just like people checking in and out of a Hotel they where there for our needs and our needs at that time was a smile and a kind word and it was just what we needed when we came back from a long day at the hospital.

Room Tip: Made you feel like you where special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthea H, General Manager at Houston Marriott Medical Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to comment on your wonderful experience at our Hotel. Our whole staff delights in any opportunity to make your trip here easier and a little brighter. I hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again under more pleasurable circumstances. Thanks again, Rick Smith, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Houston Marriott Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Medical Center

Address: 6580 Fannin Street, Houston, TX 77030
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#47 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#74 Business Hotel in Houston
#82 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Medical Center 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Houston Marriott Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Medical Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Marriott Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.