We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for a cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental to your Saves list
Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18700 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #194 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Amarillo
1 review
“Best Hotel for a cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We were celebrating our 32nd anniversary in December 2009. We always book a hotel a day early before our cruise and a day after. Our past experiences with hotels ranged from the Bates hotel from the movie Psycho to dial M for murder. The past hotels were smelly and dirty with the customer service you would expect from rude TV charter.
This time allowed Carnival Cruise lines to set up all of our before and after hotel, they choose this hotel. On our day before the cruise we arrived at about 11:00 and were worried that we would not be able to check in until 3:00pm as with most hotels. To our surprise we were greeted with the best customer service I have ever seen. They gave us a room and explained how the transfer service worked, for the next day.
After a 7 day cruise the last thing you want is a hassle about your room. This hotel’s ambassador Ms. Flowers made coming back a joy she gave us our room key with a smile and remembered us and asked how the cruise was. Did I mention we arrived early to the hotel and that was no problem for this hotel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was helpful, and everything worked. We had room service for breakfast and ate lunch at the hotel’s restaurant, the food was great.

Joe W

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    216
    184
    81
    32
See reviews for
98
147
77
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Weather delays forced me to spend the night at IAH. The next flight out was EARLY the next morning. I didn't want to deal with getting to the airport at 5:30 so despite the 225 a night rate I grabbed a room. Sure, getting there from the terminals is easy via the underground trains. Nice to know where the movie Future World was filmed... on these underground trains. Not sure but I think I saw Blythe Danner and Peter Fonda down there. The rest of the hotel hasn't changed much from the 70's. VERY dated and showing dirt and stains. The room was basic and less than clean. Room service was painfully slow. Check in and out was S L O W and there were no other guests around. Ancient systems from what I could tell. Staff is very stiff and uninviting. As you can tell, I didn't like this place and hope to never have to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed on a Saturday after a 9 hour flight from London. We were able to check in at 1pm, which was a bonus. We were allocated a room in the North Tower, which is a circular building. It was clean but very dated and was in need off a renovation.
The kids had fun in the outdoor pool that afternoon. We had a meal in the lounge next to the revolving restuarant which was of a good standard and good value.
The hotel has a shop which sells sundries. It was very expensive for soft drinks and snacks though.
The underground tram is very efficeient and runs from 4am to 1am. We went from hotel to check in in about 5 minutes.
Having stayed at airport Marriott's in Newark, San Francisco, Dulles and LAX this one was not up to the usual high standard. The following evening I was at at Holiday Inn express in Wyoming, that room knocked the Marriott into a poor second place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed at this hotel the night before a flight and thought it was fine. Parts of the hotel are a bit dated, but I think that some remodeling must have been done since some of the previous reviewers were there because it was fine.

My room was very well appointed with nice furnishings, a good desk, and a comfortable bed. A portable crib had been left in my room from a previous guest and I needed a data cable, so I called the front desk and within minutes someone was at my door with a cable and to take away the portable crib.

I had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which is at the top of the hotel and rotates - that was fun. The service was excellent and the food was pretty good.

The next day after check out, I went downstairs to the airport tram and took it directly to my terminal - very convinient.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

After being discharged from a nearby hospital, I was still far away from home. To my luck, I found a Marriott near IAH. If the rest, food, and drinks made me happy, that's all that mattered.

The best: The bed, the bed, the bed. Being next to IAH AND having an A/C malfunction (brrrr) had almost no effect on the quality of my sleep throughout my stay! I've never slept better.

Allie's restaurant features food & furnishings you'd probably find at many other Marriott and similar competitors but this place somehow made it feel more comfortable. Service was very kind and had a pace that matched up very nicely with mine. They were quick with the order, food, and cashout, and in tune with the pace of the diner.

There are many fine hooks to this place. Underground shuttle to IAH, flight crew shop, solid basic restaurant, outstanding beds, good noise control, Continental training site, and great beds.

The only drawbacks were the pricey rates, awkward gift/sundry shop, and the malfunctioning air conditioner.

All in all, they took excellent care of me. I just hope that this can be maintained.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We had an early morning flight and decided to stay at the hotel with a direct tram into the airport. The room (in the south tower) was typical ~ nice. Room service was fast, good and with huge portions. Getting into the airport couldn't have been easier. Take the hotel lobby elevator down to tram level, the tram is then just a few steps away! My absolute favorite part was the parking. We left our car there for 5 days and they had an extended stay rate ($16/day, I think). Airplane landed; we picked up our baggage from baggage claim; we took the airport elevator down to the tram level; tram off at the hotel stop; up the hotel elevator to the lobby and within a literal, total 10 minutes we were on our way home!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Weather stuck us in Houston on the way to vacation. The easiest option was the Marriott, so we got one of the few remaining rooms. The weather had hit the airport hard, and the hotel showed it. The area around the (center) elevator on our floor was flooded. One of the overhead walkways from the center to the outer (rooms) was closed and 1/2 torn down, so we had to walk a bit further- no big deal, though. The room was basic, and pretty worn (like the whole place), but not bad (not even close to the Westin SFO that we stayed at the night before for about the same $$).
The bar at the top had pretty good burgers and beers, but was overpriced as you would expect. Casual and easy, with good service.
I thought the Marriott mercy rate was fair, and I'd probably do it again just for the convenience. Like the others have described, a good stop-over, but not much to look forward to.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental

Address: 18700 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 565
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Houston Airport At George Bush Intercontinental Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.