We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent nights stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental

Save Saved
You added Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18700 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #158 of 451 hotels in Houston
tahoe
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent nights stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very pricey for what you get other than convenience of the airport. It was NOT noisy as I was worried about the noise level and everything was decent. Our room looked out on the pool in a courtyard. We only spent a total of 6 hours in the hotel (sleeping time). The beds were decent. The bathroom a bit old with a weird door. I was hoping they had some early morning eating options (like a breakfast bag to gO) but they did not offer anything like that.

Room Tip: Make sure you get on the right underground shuttle from the airport to the hotel. One of the shuttl...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    157
    129
    61
    21
See reviews for
69
93
61
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, UT
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I didn't have a good night's sleep because I would wake in the middle of the night overheating because the AC shut off. Then it would turn back on, so maybe it was one of those that uses a motion sensor or something to turn it off if you're not active. Regardless, when I set the temp in the room I want it to maintain that temp, whether I am asleep or not. Perhaps I am fussy, but I don't like waking up all sweaty because the room has warmed up beyond the setting I preferred. Anyway, other than that, the hotel is fine. easy access from the airport, the restuarant (the flight deck) is nice for having a few beers and a good ribeye, so no ciomplaints about the food not the staff - they are excellent. I just hate the AC turning off, that's all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel December 2012 for a pre cruise night. Friendly staff, great buffet breakfast and nice appetizers in the non revolving restaurant. We were told there was a shuttle from the airport to the mall, but it only leaves a few times. Took a cab and was over $20.00 due to the traffice. Comfortable and clean, but be aware there is nothing to walk to as it really is in the middle of the airport. Nice gift shops. I would stay again! Not sure I would pay the rack rate, but used Marriott points.

Room Tip: Stay in the north tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent just one night here on business, and found it to be a decent airport hotel, but in desperate need of renovation. I did notice they were installing new carpet in the hallways, so they are possibly starting the project. At first it is sort of confusing to find your way around with hallways going off in all directions. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and the staff is excellent. If you are flying in and out, it is an excellent hotel being right by the terminals. They also seem to have plenty of conference space as well. I did try the restaurant upstairs which was pretty good with excellent personnel. It has a great view of the runways if you enjoy watching the aircraft. I had en evening snack in the Concierge Lounge, and the dessert were very good, and the young lady working there was wonderful. I also ate breakfast in the Concierge Lounge, and found their breakfast selection to be one of the best with eggs, bacon, sausage, fruits, cereal, sweet rolls, juices, and plenty to choose from. The only thing that kept me from giving it an excellent rating was the fact it was in desperate need of renovation. I would recommend this Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

On a recent extended trip to Central America, we decided to use our Marriott reward points to stay at the hotel the night before our early flight. We were given a king room overlooking the airport runway in the newer section of the hotel. The room was large & very clean with a good sized bath. The hotel is connected to the airport terminals by an underground tram which was convenient since we had to visit the airlines reservation counter the night before our flight. We had a nice dinner in the hotel bar/lounge. The fish & chips was surprisingly good; lightly breaded fish was flavorful & the portion would have been enough to split. Back in our room, it was interesting to watch the takeoffs & landings of the planes. We had an extremely early flight the next morning, so requested bellman service the night before; he was prompt & very helpful. He took us to our terminal by car shuttle (about 3 minutes) instead of having us use the tram ( we had considerable luggage) which made it a lot easier. Staff was very helpful & friendly & made a perfect start to our vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had to overnight in the IAH area and opted to stay here to save ourselves the travel time to/from another hotel. From the airport you ride a train (very reminiscent of the TTA ride at the Magic Kingdom!). Service is every three minutes and takes only a few minutes to get to the hotel. When departing the terminal just follow the signs for the subway/hotel. Once at the hotel stop you take the elevator up to the lobby level for check-in. I was in the Elite Member check-in line, and of course the other line went faster! Once I got to the front desk, check-in went quickly. Since I'm Platinum Premier with Marriott I was given a room on the concierge floor (second floor) and was told that the lounge was open until 2200.

The hotel is circular, so once you get off the elevator on your floor you have to look for the signs to figure out which "spoke" to take to get to your room, especially if you're not told which tower you are in. Our room was a nice size and there was the standard coffee maker with supplies, mini-fridge, a complimentary small bottle of water, and flat screen tv. I had requested extra feather pillows and they were on the bed, along with a nice note from the manager. The bathroom was quite small and there was no way that the two of us could use the sink/vanity at the same time. The bathroom was well stocked with amenities. I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was since the hotel is on IAH grounds. I did not hear a single airplane and slept quite well. While the room was fine, the bathroom and halls looked like they could use a little updating.

I had access to the concierge lounge, so I followed the signs to the lounge, but it seemed like I walked halfway around the hotel to get there! The lounge was a little smaller than I expected and there were dirty dishes on some of the tables. The dishes appeared to have been there for quite some time. Dessert was being served and these dishes had snacks from the earlier offering. There wasn't much left of dessert, and I was there by 2100. I did not see an attendant in the lounge. There were fridges with cold water and soft drinks. There was an assortment of teas and coffee available. We left the next morning before the lounge opened for breakfast.

We went down to the lobby to check-out a bit before 0600, but there was only one person working at the desk. I waited a minute or two, and there was no movement with the line. Since I received my bill under the door and all was ok I decided to just leave the keys and go to the terminal.

If you are flying out of IAH after staying here, be sure to check which terminal your flight is leaving from so you will know in advance which stop to get off at.

If we have to overnight at IAH again we would stay here, just for the convenience of not having to ride a shuttle bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

this is a great place to stay if you're jumping from here to a cruise. We stayed here overnight before getting picked up for a disney cruise sailing out of Galveston.

tip: if you are going on a cruise - Disney picks up from the terminal and from the Marriott. you can specify when you're booking or switch when you're already there.

Rooms are clean and well appointed. facilities are a little old, but well maintained.

toughest part for us was things to eat. Houston airport has some great terminals with food in them, but we made the mistake of thinking this was accessible to us. All the shops and resto's are behind security so you really can't access them at all.

Outside of that, the Marriott has its own restaurant which is pretty decent, and also a very decent tuck shop that carries a ton of stuff. Above average for families I would say.

if you don't have a car, that's the extent of your food options. Not really good for families. The hotel provides a shuttle to the nearby mall to expand your eating options, but be ware that walking from the mall to the rest of the surrounding restaurants is almost dangerous with young children. A cab will cost you $20 to and from the hotel to the mall.

This hotel would be a 4 even with the food limitations but I had to pay for internet. Who does that anymore??

Room Tip: free shuttle provided to the local mall, Disney Cruiselines picks up from this airport and has a des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental

Address: 18700 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 451 hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Houston Airport At George Bush Intercontinental Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.