We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aptly named, as it is literally at the airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental

Save Saved
You added Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18700 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #164 of 451 hotels in Houston
Draper, UT
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Aptly named, as it is literally at the airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel could use an update, to be candid, but the location is great. The layout is somewhat dated and inefficient (some would say weird), as you have a hub and spoke type arrangement to get to your room. The 'spokes' are glass-walled hallways that radiate out from the elevator core and the ceilings in them are so low if you're over 6'3" you'll be crouching to keep from hitting your head. Having said that, this hotel is well cared for by a staff that seems to enjoy what they do. I give high marks to the staff, as they were very eager to help and when you lose yourself trying to get out of the hotel, they come in very handy. ;-) The upstairs lounge - I think it's called the Flight Deck - was a nice place to go and watch the football game and have dinner, and the staff was fantastic there as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    161
    131
    63
    23
See reviews for
72
95
61
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel to break up a lengthy trip with three young kids. The location is extremely convenient - you can either walk or take the airport train from any of the terminals - and convenience was really what we were looking for. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the service. Because we were traveling with 18-month-old twins, we had several special requests -- two pack & plays in the room, some dish soap for washing baby bottles, specially prepared food from the room service menu, etc. -- and the staff could not have been more pleasant or accommodating regarding our requests. Also, we had originally booked a regular room, but at check-in the attendant took one look at the size of our group (we're like a traveling circus with all our gear) and mentioned that we could upgrade to a much larger suite for a fairly reasonable fee. We took her up on the offer, and ended up with a very nice, spacious suite - complete with living room, dining area, two bathrooms, and separate bedroom -- which turned out to be ideal for us. I can't speak to the quality of the regular rooms, but the suite was very clean, spacious, and comfortable, if perhaps in need of some updating. Also, the rooms are extremely well soundproofed -- we slept like logs and didn't hear any plane or other noise from outside. Though we didn't use them, there's an outdoor pool and a jacuzzi available. Very decent food as well - we had room service for dinner and the breakfast buffet in the morning - and enjoyed it more than we had expected. But the aspect that stood out was the quality of the service - absolutely everyone from reception to room service to the restaurant staff were as friendly and as accommodating as you could ask for. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone in need of a hotel convenient to this airport.

Room Tip: Spacious suites available for families - great option if you're traveling with several kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a mid sized business gathering there and the hotel did a great job--conveninet (rail to airport), nice facilities, and really top shelf service and attentiveness. Food was quite good and reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for business recently, and although you really can't beat the convenience for a business traveler - since it is connected right to the hotel - I felt like I stepped into a time warp. The public areas were dated and tired looking, making me feel like it hadn't been updated in years. The rooms themselves were comfortable and pleasant enough, but the conference space, hallways, and other public areas were depressing. There was a rumor going around in our group that this place was slated to be demolished and completely replaced, and if true, it would be welcome news.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Good location at the airport. No need to take a shuttle bus, you can walk to the hotel or take the automated railway (subway). Rooms are adequate. No minibar. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. I stayed on the concierge floor, but the lounge was not open. High speed internet for a fee. Great exercise room with a variety of machines and free weights. Breakfast buffet, Allies restaurant, ($20) was average with a small selection of meats, fruits, and cooked to order eggs. Service at the restaurant was prompt. Front desk staff were helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a business trip of 7 nights, and whilst the hotel may be suitable for a one night stopover, it is very much lacking for any length of time.

I was located in the South Tower, my room was basic for a Marriott but adequate, with good coffee making facilities. The bathroom was very small, and dated, and the carpet in the room was torn in places. Overall pretty shabby.

As per my profile extra towels and pillows had been placed in the room prior to my arrival, however, for the next 6 nights additional towels were not replaced.

I once ordered room service breakfast which did indeed turn up on time-however it wasn't my breakfast but someone else's....A new breakfast was prepared, but arrived too late-although I must stress this was provided free as per Marriott policy.

I also used the laundry service, 3 times, on 1 occasion my laundry was lost and subsequently found-but with a lack luster attitude from the staff and no apology.

The only real star of the hotel was the breakfast in the main hotel building and the service from all there. The waiting staff were 1st class as was the egg chef who took great pride in his work and customer service. Breakfast was a great experience.

Overall, poor standards for the Marriott group, let down by dated rooms, and disinterested staff. Yes, it is convenient for the airport and as a 1 night stop over I would probably stay here again-just for the convenience factor-for any longer stays I would stay else where.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms in the North Tower are better, but I would check at reception to confirm if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Marriott is a more than adequate hotel for overnight passengers using the airport. Unbelievably easy to get to with the terminal train, which brings you to the lower elevators below the lobby. Convenient is an understatement! ADD polite, professional customer service.

ROOM: was very clean and spacious.. able to spread out and relax in. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The room was missing soap and coffee cups but a trip to housekeeping easily took care of that.
HOTEL: shows some slight aging but nothing to complain about. We can age gracefully. It depends on what you want. Looking for a resort hotel? Don't go here, it's an AIRPORT hotel, and they do a wonderful job of it. I liked how only guests with room cards could operate the elevators.
LOBBY: Refreshingly nice touch of citrus slices in icewater, free for the taking from an elegant dispenser. Lobby area had free wifi and many seating and work table options for me to plug in my laptop and use.

I was very pleased with this restful, safe overnight on my way to Costa Rica, from Canada. would definitely do it all again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental

Address: 18700 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Houston
#164 Spa Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Houston Airport At George Bush Intercontinental Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.