We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental to your Saves list
Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18700 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #164 of 457 Hotels in Houston
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

convenient, yes, but it comes at a hefty price of nearly $300 with taxes (not including internet or breakfast). Staff was nice and the room was clean. This place needs to be torn down and rebuilt. It was nice that the the manager emailed me to say he'd throw in free internet on my next visit, but there won't be a next visit -- it's not worth free internet.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    192
    151
    69
    24
See reviews for
85
114
66
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Let's face it. If you're staying here it is because you either missed a flight, have to catch a really early flight, or have to be here for a conference. The rooms are secondary, and the management knows it. Old, tired decor every where you look. But it serves its purpose. It could not be more convenient for catching a flight at IAH -- it is liternally on the airport property and is one of the stops on the automated train connecting the terminals. Only sleeping at the gate would put you closer to your flight.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

$14.02 for internet for one night, but it's fast.

Spend some time exploring this one-of-a-kind architecture.

Check out the rotating high up restaurant.

Cloistered courtyard with hot tub gazebo.

Enthusiastically helpful staff.

Worth the extra $$.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor and access to the concierge lounge. Ask for courtyard vs. airport sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazakhstan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My flight was unexpectedly cancelled due to some technical problems with the aircraft. So, the airline gave the passengers vouchers for an overnight stay in G. Bush Airport Marriott. First of all I was impressed with the quick turnaround at the reception. With so many people rushing there, it was quiet and there were no long lines.
The room is spacious and clean. The bed is comfortable. Previous reviewers noted that the hotel needs updating. I might have been very tired, or just did not pay attention, but I was satisfied with the condition of the room, the bathroom and their cleanliness.
I had dinner in the airport restaurant and the dinner was very decent too.
As for its location, I find it just excellent. You do not have to go/drive anywhere, you just need to take a short tram ride from the terminals.
I did not pay for the stay, thus cannot judge the price/quality ratio. However, I was pleased with this short stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel would have been fine 20 years ago, but now almost everything looks incredibly dated, with the exception of the lobby which is fine, and tricks you into thinking you're staying somewhere nice!

I was only there for one night, and found the check-in staff decent enough, in that, "we're being paid to be friendly" manner that you expect from a big hotel. To get to the room, you walk through the most dingy, dirty looking hallways (it's not actually dirty, just really needs re-decorating), with low ceilings and poor lighting. It really didn't inspire confidence.

When I got to the room, like the corridors, everything was clean, but worn out, with the exception of the bed linens, which seemed brand new. The bathroom especially looked like it really needed replacing. When I got to the room there was a "welcome" card addressed to someone else (the sort I used to get when I was a Platinum member of Marriott!), which turned out to have been left after the intended occupant cancelled. Not really a big deal, but a hotel on their game wouldn't have let that happen.

When I left my room to goto the fitness centre (which was, by the way, excellent), there was a tray with empty plates on it outside the room next to mine (which had been there when I got to the room), and was also there when I got back from exercising. For some reason a hotel employee came to my room to give me a razor (?) so he must have noticed the empty tray sitting in the corridor, but when I left my room to go for food, it was still there, and when I got back from eating about an hour later, it was still there.

It seems trivial, but again, it's just an example of a hotel that isn't top notch, and when you're being charged $279 a night, you expect better.

One of Marriots problems now is that with the refurbishment of their Courtyard chain, the cheaper option is now often better than their "full service" hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Previous reviews about the hotel needing updating are appropriate. However, the hotel was clean, comfortable and definitely convenient after a long flight from Europe (and another missed connecting flight on United Airlines).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a great property for a short IAH layover. A short walk or tram ride from the terminals. Rooms are clean and quiet.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the south tower because it seems newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental

Address: 18700 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 565
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Houston Airport At George Bush Intercontinental Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Houston Airport at George Bush Intercontinental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.