We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2712 Southwest Frwy, Houston, TX 77098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #17 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed there for business for a week in Nov'12. The hotel has everything that you'd expect from a Crowne Plaza. Breakfast buffet menu was standard and didn't change, was bored with the food after a couple of days. Location was excellent, with just a 15 mins drive to the downtown offices. Definitely a good stay for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hay aKasAdvisor,
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are really glad you recognize our hospitality service and our convenient location. we really appreciate your business and I hope next time you saty with us we get a five stars review.
Best,
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    204
    92
    44
    30
See reviews for
163
111
75
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Close to the Galleria and other Houston highlights.....Friendly, knowledgible staff. Rooms are spacious and clean.... Concierge was very helpful....Reception was a great way to wrap up the day.....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello txpsi,
Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear that your recent stay was a great one! We are so happy to hear from satisfied guests and it is our pleasure to assist you. I am thrilled to hear that our location works great for your traveling needs and we look forward to your return.
Take care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for businness and have no complaints. Great location, value and extremely friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and updated. Make sure you meet Mandy, the concierge, she is a wealth of information and will answer any questions you may have. Reception on the 18th floor on Wed (5:00-6:30), drinks and hors d'ouvres.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello paxarus,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We love getting such great feedback and I will gladly share your gracious comments with the rest of our team. Mandy will also be thrilled to hear she was acknowledged in your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My experience was great!!!!!I highly recommend this hotel Crowne Plaza!!!!! Staff was great,Wed happy hr on 18th floor was great. Good selection of beers and drinks. I look forward to coming back soon to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello expojuarez,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service that we provide. The wednedsay reception is always a blast and I am glad you were able to attend. We will see you next time!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great customer service. Clean hotel and friendly workers. Great resturant. Alot of stuff around. And great food. Locatiin is great iI enjoyed my stay will return. Visit its nit bad . Good rooms and great prices

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello crissy1012,
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our hotel, staff & location. We appreciate you taking the time to share your candid comments about your recent stay. We csn't wait to exceed your expectaions on your next visit.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice / helpful workers and great food at the bar! The room was clean (a little outdated) and very spacious. Try out the restaurant Or the local establishments. Recommended to families and business travelers alike.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello Davidbowser,
Thank you for your sharing your comments on your recent stay! I am happy to hear that you enjoy our bar and great staff. Our hotel has a lot to offer so I hope you are able to take advantage of all of our amenities and services. We are conveniently located and I am glad that our location works for your traveling needs. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return!
Take care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I travel to and work in Houston on a weekly basis. I stayed at the River Oaks Crowne Plaza for 2 to 3 nights a week for most all of 2012! (at least 100 nights) The staff at the hotel has always been friendly, helpful and always recognize my return business. They have a great corporate rate that includes parking.

I have traveled for so many years that I had made it a habit to not eat in the hotel where I am staying but...when the weather in Houston is really cold and rainy or I have just tired of being on the road, I have learned that the CP restaurant or room service will give me a good meal while I kick up my feet with my Kindle!

Room Tip: I haven't had anything to complain about in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello FTAB
WoW!! Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am thrilled that you have stayed here most of last year and have no complaints. I love hearing for satisfied guests and I am thrilled to hear that CPRO never disappoints you. We appreciate your loyalty and recommendation and we can't wait to have you back.
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Address: 2712 Southwest Frwy, Houston, TX 77098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Houston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#40 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.