We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Plaza River Oaks Houston....Just OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2712 Southwest Frwy, Houston, TX 77098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #36 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Crown Plaza River Oaks Houston....Just OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed there a couple of nights in November. The beds were a little lumpy and old and the furnishings were dusty and worn. The bathroom fixtures were great, looks to have been upgraded recently. The AC in the room kept flashing a wrench, as it needed maint but we did let the front desk know. Check in was a bit slow and lacked any enthusium. parking, for self park was a little pricy, but better than the Galleria area.
next time will stay in the galleria area, closer to food and shopping.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hello ndlsteve,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. I am sorry for the small issues that you faced during your stay. We take all complaints seriously so I hope that you made us aware of the issues so we could fix them immediately. Parking is $8 in our secure garage and I am sorry that you did not like that. We do have a complimentary shuttle that goes to and from the galleria so you won’t get stuck in all of the galleria traffic. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you will give us another chance to make sure your stay is the best it can be.
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    217
    106
    51
    39
See reviews for
175
123
81
489
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We selected this hotel because it was close to a function we were attending and less than $100.00 a night. The lobby and service was fine but the hallways and room smelled musty and the hotel decor has certainly seen better days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hello Tammy S,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay. We offer a great value and I am glad to her that you liked the lobby and our great customer servcie. I am sorry that you feel that our hotel's decor is outdated. We are constantly updateing the hotel and I hope that you will give us another chance. We will not disappoint you next time!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Belvieu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were planning our 53rd wedding anniversary celebration and the best gift was finding Mandy Bates, the Concierge at this hotel. She went way beyond what we expected, not only with our room reservations, but also with recommendations/suggestions which made our whole trip memorable. The accommodations and staff mirrored Mandy's excellence. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and the beds were most comfortable. From the front desk to the bar and restaurant, the service was courteous and attentive. The food and drinks were well prepared and quite tasty.
We are new to the area and plan on spending some time in Houston and we will certainly make the Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks our headquarters.

papa and bear, Mont Belvieu, TX

Room Tip: Although located on a freeway, the rooms and hotel itself were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello Richard W,
WoW!!! I am so happy to hear of that Mandy helped make your special occasion a memorable one! Congrats on 53 years of marriage to you and your wife!! Thank you for your feedback and compliments regarding our hotel, service & staff. It is always nice to read praise about the quality of service that we provide. We loved reading that we are now your preferred Houston hotel. We look forward to your return!
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's the next best thing to being home!!! Mandy and staff of the Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks are always fantastic, which is why our company prefers this hotel while staying in Houston. Thanks to all. Special thanks to Mandy Bates, Manager. Thank you. Steve L.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello Steve L,
Thank you so much for such a nice review!! We are thrilled that you feel at home here at CPRO! We have a great hotel and staff and it is our pleasure to take care of you. I will pass on your gracious comments to Mandy and I know she will be thrilled that she was mentioned for her hard work. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your return.
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Ana Maria Hussan was very professional and kind. She very helpfully on giving my wife directions to the nearest spa. Made are stay In houston wonderful. I would stay at this hotel again because of her.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Jalcorta75,
WOW!!! Thank you for such a nice review about our hotel and Ana Maria! I know she will be thrilled to hear the gracious comments that you left for her. I will make sure that she is commended for her superb service to you during your visit. We look forward to your return and we will thank her for it!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is an excellent destination for my family; we come here every other weekend. The service is responsive, all of the rooms have we have stayed in have expansive views of the city, the blankets are warm and the milk is cold.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Frank S,
Thank you for your feedback! It's nice to know that the Crowne Plaza never disappoints you. I am glad that you love our cozy blankets among everything else! What's so nice about our location is that we are surrounded by amazing views of downtown, the galleria & the medical center. I am thrilled that you appreciate all of the great things that CPRO has to offer. We will see very soon!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel as part of a tour of Texas and Louisiana and it has all the qualities that one expects of this excellent chain.

It is a shame Houston is such a sprawled urban mess and this hotel is located quite centrally to this sprawl by a highway of about 15 lanes in total. There was no traffic noise though.

The room was very well appointed with plenty of space, a settee, chairs, tables and 2 massive beds! There was an area with a microwave and a fridge and the bathroom was excellently appointed with lots of white fluffy towels and a hairdryer.

We ate in the hotel and it was the most expensive meal of the entire holiday! The food was excellent but the service was *dreadful* with a ‘Manuel’ type waiter who kept vanishing and if called shouted ‘just a minute’ and disappeared again. One man got up and followed him and took him to task. It was a VERY long wait for a meal, about 45 minutes.

Breakfast was complimentary and was excellent although one had to ask for juice which is unusual.
Surprisingly for the States there was abundant fresh fruit including melon, pineapple and strawberries.

It was a good hotel but it is stranded somewhat by a major road network and we couldn’t see anywhere to eat within walking distance. We didn’t care for Houston as a city at all although we enjoyed the visit to NASA it is not as good as the Kennedy Space Centre in Florida although being in Mission Control was brilliant.

The hotel deserved to be in a better place as it was a very comfortable stay with no complaints other than they should sort out the Manuel type waiter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello EPD,
Thank you so much for writting such a detailed review! I am happy to hear that you loved our city and we appreciate you choosing the Crowne Plaza River Oaks for your traveling needs. I am sorry that you did not care for the prices and staff in the restaurant. I apologize that you were not taken care of properly. I will definetly pass on your comments to the Food & Beverage director. I am thrilled that you liked our hotel and thank you for giving us 5 stars!! We really appreciate your comments. We hope to see you the next time you come to Houston!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Address: 2712 Southwest Frwy, Houston, TX 77098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Houston
#46 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#59 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#73 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.