We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the property, negotiated great price, parking sucks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2712 Southwest Frwy, Houston, TX 77098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #15 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the property, negotiated great price, parking sucks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Got a great rate, property is a bit dated but overall very nice. TV in the room is one of those big Walmart old 300 pounders. Limited channel selection and reception and picture quality is very low standard for this type of property.
Parking IS the issue. Either you valet for $14.00 a day or pay $8.00 a day and park in the parking garage adjoining, no other options available. If you self park, it is a hike through the structure with your bags to the check out and elevator. Bar is comfortable and reasonably quiet. Noticed the channel selection in the bar flat screens far exceeded the availability and quality in the room. Also the valets do not overtly expect a tip but I felt compelled, even though I was in and out several times a day. Adds up after a week of staying there...so the value goes down because of the parking. Beds were OK but not high quality mattresses I have found in other Crowne Plazas in San Antonio and Dallas.

Room Tip: TV sucks, quality and channel selection, small screen old style big box small screens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    204
    91
    43
    30
See reviews for
163
110
75
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The staff was EXTREMELY friendly. Concierge provided excellent recommendations for dinner. Hotel hosted a Priority Club Members Reception, and one of the guests was even doing magic!!!

Location is good, with easy access to expressway.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello Magic12man,
Thank you for your review and for being a priority club member! I'm very pleased that your stay was absolutely magical! I'm also glad that you were able to attend the PC reception that we have every wednesday. We did have a guest doing amazing magic tricks last week and it was definetly entertaining! We appreciate your business and we hope to see you back very soon!
Best Regards,
Sid Siddiqi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I travel a lot for work and I can tell that this hotel was very clean ... Staff was awesome specially Gwen at the front desk ... the food at the restaurant is really good . nice little pool ...if you wanna relax , I will definilly will retured

Room Tip: ask what type of bed is in that room before you get to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello Gustavo C,
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience during your stay! Gwen is a sweetheart and I'm glad took such great care of you. Its always nice to hear that you will be returning when Houston is in your future travel plans. Also, thank you for the room tip. It's always a good idea to confirm your room prefence during check-in. I appreciate your comments and I hope you have a wonderful day!
Best Regards,
Sid Siddiqi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The staff was more than courteous and helpful from Shaila who checked me in to Mandy the Concierge who invited to the Priority Club reception and called to check on my satisfaction with my room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello RickVannoy,
Thank you for writing a review and for being a priority club member! I'm glad you were able to make it to the reception. It's always a great time! I am pleased to hear that you had a chance to meet Shaila and Mandy. They do a wonderful job and I will pass your comments on to them. Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay and we hope to see you soon!
Have a great day!!
Best Regards,
Sid Siddiqi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

i and friend traveled to Houston visiting a friend in Rice. if you have a car, this hotel has a nice location close to the university and museum district. but if you don't have one, the hotel has free shuttle for places like these two. besides transportation, it also have a nice customer service. we used the swimming pool, mini gym, and laundry room. they are clean and sweet. we booked a regular double room, which only caused us $75. i usually stay at hotels that costs about $200 per night. so i was not expecting a room and service quality like this nice for only $75! I'll definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello RoadO,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am delighted that you were pleased with our hotel and services. Our complimentary shuttle is a great way to get around if you don't have transportation. The Crowne Plaza is a great value and its always nice to hear that you will be returning when Houston is back on your agenda. Have a wonderful day!
Best Regards,
Sid Siddiqi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Excellent location south of downtown Houston. Accomodations are up to date, comfortable clean, with adjacent parking garage. Food is good, and very user-friendly business center, complete with computers for on-line access (hate dragging that laptop around). The real joy here is the concierge, Mandy, who is most helpful with regard to directions, good places to eat, discount coupons, and just her general "joy for life." Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Tip your front desk clerk. They control the inventory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello Stephen D,
Thank you for such a nice review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and especially our superb location. Thank you for your comment on Mandy, she is a great asset to our team and I will pass along the kinds words to her. I hope to see you very soon. Have a great day!
Best Regards,
Sid Siddiqi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel was great! I loved the service, the hotel set up is so comfy and peaceful. I loved the breakfast and dinner, the area is also nice and close to pretty much everything you need. Also Ms.Jackie Frank was very helpful and was so nice to me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello Ralph M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts about your stay. I will pass on your nice comments to Jackie. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Houston! Have a great day!
Best Regards,
Sid Siddiqi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Address: 2712 Southwest Frwy, Houston, TX 77098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Houston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#42 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.