We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2712 Southwest Frwy, Houston, TX 77098   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #16 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
“Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

From the moment my daughter and I walked into this hotel, we were met with welcoming smiles and courteous service. This never changed throughout the 10 days of our stay. It is rare to find a hotel where every part of the operation is run smoothly and with such caring staff: the valet men, the lovely parking attendant, awesome front desk staff, housekeeping staff, concierage, shop lady, etc. In addition, the location of this hotel is exceptional. Located next to the interstate (never heard any noise from it) and main roads - Kirby and Richmond - it is a quick trip to most anywhere. My daughter and I felt safe and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I am already planning a return trip to Houston and absolutely intend on staying at this property again. Thanks to your entire team!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    204
    92
    44
    30
See reviews for
163
111
75
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I will never stay here again. We were woken up before 8 am (and sometimes in the middle of the night) for random reasons on four of the seven nights we stayed. The time in the middle of the night was when my husband went to do laundry and get change at the front desk because he didn't want to wake me up to ask for the keys to my car, where I keep change. He told the front desk this, but they had no change at the time, so they CALLED US AT 4 AM when they finally had change, waking me up in the middle of the night. Other times, there was no one staying in the room next door, so the wake-up call they did went unanswered...for 20 minutes...nonstop. When we tried to call the front desk to complain, the phone didn't work. And when there were people next door, we could hear EVERYTHING through the connecting doors. Our A/C broke in the middle of the week (in 90 degree heat). The shower is made of stone material with unsealed crevices that are now filled with mold (which I'm allergic to). The pool is a joke - they have one just big enough to be able to call a pool for advertising purposes.

Room service stops serving breakfast at 10:30 am, so naturally when I called AT 10:30, they couldn't be bothered to accommodate me. Never mind that I had been trying for the last ten minutes to get ahold of someone to take my order. I had finally had to call the front desk, who just transferred me back again. Back to calling the front desk, who ended up having to eventually PHYSICALLY SEND SOMEONE DOWN to room service to make them answer the phone.

On top of this, they get they're price down on Priceline by cheating you with extra fees at the front desk - $8 for parking per day? If I had known about all the little fees they'd add and the terrible service, I'd have stayed elsewhere. NOT worth the money. If I hadn't been locked into the hotel by Priceline, I'd have been out of there after the first day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for a week for business & I really enjoyed myself. From the moment I checked in I felt welcome because everyone was so friendly. I also attended the welcome reception which was really nice. There were complimentary appetizers & cocktails and also great company. I really liked that they had a shuttle available that took me to the galleria. The concierge was very helpful and she gave me a coupon to use at dinner. This hotel really offers many great services & it is a great value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Hello bluecorner706,

Thank you for staying with us! I am so pleased that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the hotel. The Priority Club Reception that you mentioned is held every Wednesday so please come back and enjoy again. Thank you too for your comments on Mandy, our Concierge. She is indeed a great asset. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at Houston River Oaks with another couple for a concert. We were very pleased with our stay. Our rooms were very clean and the staff here gave great service. We had emailed the Hotel ahead of time with a few questions which Jackie and Mandy gladly kept in contact with us and were very ready to help with anything. Thank you two very much!! We did eat breakfast at the Hotel which was all very good. We choose the buffet which ran about $10 but was worth it. The sad part we only stayed one night. We surely would stay here again. Thanks again Jackie and Mandy for your outstanding customer service. The Savoy's

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Hello cajunpeach,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thank you for submitting a review and for you comments about Jackie and Mandy. They are great I agree! I hope that you will come back and see us again.

Best regards,
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here during a recent visit to see the family and we really enjoyed the service. The cookies in the room were my a nice touch too. I would definitely stay again. The nice girl that greeted us at the front was extra helpful deciding on dinner and even went as far calling ahead for priority seating..thanks a ton Mindi? (sorry..bad with names)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Hello Pbaperez,

Thank you for a nice review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments to Mandy. I hope that you will come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Location great. Shuttle to Galleria, shopping area & other places. Restaurant has breakfast buffet. The dinners were delicious. I have many food allergies & the chef prepared the dishes I ordered special. We had a suite with microwave, refrigerator, sink area. It was one of the nicest we have stayed in. Pool was in a quiet area. Room rates average prices. The staff is first rate. Enjoyed the weekend & will go again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Hello pill35,

Thank you very much for your review! It is always nice to have our guests not only enjoy their stay but to also post a review. Please do come back and see us again!

Best regards,
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed here for business. Location ideal for meetings I attended in the Galleria as well as Downtown. And the breakfast buffet great and ideal for being in a hurry. The lady at the concierge desk also very helpful when I needed directions and a dinner reservation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiddiqi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Hello Lar22258,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. It is always nice to hear that guests enjoyed the hotel. We are very happy too with Mandy, our Concierge. I will pass on your compliments to her.

Best regards,
Sid Siddiqi
713-577-1250
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Address: 2712 Southwest Frwy, Houston, TX 77098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Houston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#40 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.