We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8611 Airport Blvd., Houston, TX 77061 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Houston Hobby Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #224 of 468 Hotels in Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent staff here at Holiday Inn Hobby Airport. Front desk personnel very helpful and friendly, room attendants kept room clean and well supplied. Dinner was always EXCELLENT!! Business center available with no equipment issues.
I am here on business and would love to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Abarksda, Thank you for the time taken out of your schedule to write such a pleasant review. We strive to provide the best possible experience and services for our guests and always welcome feedback from our guests to let us know how we are doing. Your refreshing comments you offered about your stay with us will be shared with our team. We would love to be your host next time your in Houston and look forward to seeing you again!!! Sincerely, Antonia W., Guest Relations Specialist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
14
18
14
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you just need to stay overnight before a flight the next day, this hotel has a restaurant, bar, easy parking and is very convenient so it can be a one stop shop. Rooms are large enough and clean as it the hotel. Breakfast buffet is good value. I was staying 2 nights and thought the bar a bit dingy and wasn't overly excited about the dinner menue. Not many decent places to eat nearby, but Papa's BBQ was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Michael B, Thank you for the time you took to write about your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your compliments you gave and they will be passed along to our team. We sincerely apologize that we fell short of your standards regarding our longes' atmosphere and dinner menu selection. We appreciate and value your feedback offered as this helps us recognize areas in which may need to be considered for change so that we may prosper in serving our guests. We were thrilled that you were able to staisfy your taste for BBQ at one of the restaurants located conviently close-by. We hope that when you may find yourself in Houston you will come and stay with us again. Best regards, Antonia Williams, Guest Relations Specialist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was assigned a room on the side of the hotel that faces one of the runways at Hobby airport. I figured there would be lots of aircraft noise, but I was pleasantly surprised that the noise was, most of the time, negligible.

However, the hotel seems to be located directly between a fire station and something that is very combustible.

The hotel itself was fine; no complaints. The neighborhood is not the greatest but when I went walking during the day toward the airport it felt reasonably safe. Some of the other directions might be a little questionable especially at night.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, really no complaints at all to speak of. Housekeeping was an exception - one day they just opened the door and started to come in without knocking (I had the safety hasp engaged which stopped her). Another day the maid knocked and seemed irritated when I said I'd be right out in 5 minutes. I was out of the room in about 3 minutes but she disappeared and when I returned half an hour later the room had not been cleaned so I had to go to the front desk and vacate again.

The main thing is that the bed was not worn out like most hotel beds I've encountered. Nice and firm with good pillows.

Room Tip: A room that does not overlook the street would have been quieter, but it was not that bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear PseudoGeek, Thank you for taking time to offer your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. We were pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised about the level of aircraft noise you experienced while being our guest. We do offer quieter rooms which face our swimming pool/hot tub area. We also have a fitness center located on the 1st floor in which does have a treadmill and provide shuttle services 24 hours a day for transporting our guests to local clubs, resturaunts, pharmacy's and etc. We sincerely apologize for any incidents you had with our housekeeping team and thank you for providing your feedback related to this as it gives us information on areas in which we need to improve services offered for our guests. We were thrilled to read such refreashing comments about our beds and pillows being comfortable for you as we know that a good nights sleep is essential for our guests. We would love to be your host again if your travel plans ever bring you back to Houston. Wishing you safe travels, Antonia Williams, Guest Relations Specialist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Ms Antonia was a Great help.Sonia was excellent with our reservations.These two Ladies know how a Hotel should be run.Thank YALL! Their shuttle bus runs 24 hours so that is great.They haveGood food and crawfish seasonis in and they have em Hot n Spicy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear rnmsn, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write such a refreshing review!! We were thrilled to read your generous comments about our team which have been shared with the respective associates and departments. We were also pleased to know that some of the services we offer such as free 24 hour shuttle services is accommodating for our guests. We strive to provide the best experience for our guests and it is always well appreciated to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We were delighted to know that you enjoyed good food and crawfish prepared by our kitchen associates!! We hope to see you again next time your travel plans bring you back to the Houston area. Best Regards, Antonia W., Guest Relations Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

1-night stay on the way to our Cruise; the Shuttle was late, but Naomi, graciously offered 2 free drinks at the bar, when I mentioned the wait time; I wasn't even complaining about it. Then when we wanted to get out, they had a , shuttle take us to a local mall, pick us up later, and then later take us out to 3 other locations to get some last minute shopping done. The driver, Paul, was excellent, the staff, especially Naomi, was attentive to every need, and the food & service in the restaurant was excellent as well. We're having a great time & haven't gotten to our vacation destination yet. We were extremely pleased with out stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Bill S, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us such a refreshing review. Your feedback will be shared with our team as we are happy to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and your stay was pleasant and memorable. Many wishes of safe travels to you and hope you'll stop back in to stay with us again in the near future!!! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Flew in to Houston Hobby Airport to meet the Cruise Ship Crown Princess for a seven day Western Caribbean Cruise, and stayed over night. On arrival used the phone near the baggage pick up and called hotel for their shuttle and was told it would be there in ten minutes and it was.
Hotel lobby was invitting and there were cold water and cookies in the lobby for guest. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle driver told us when we were ready to eat he would drop us off to one of the near by resturants and pick us up,which he did. The room was large and clean, the furnishings looked to be fairly new. King sized bed gave a good nights sleep no commplaints,nice flat screen T.V. Only con would be the bathroom was a bit small but well appionted nice towels soap etc. Ate breakfast in the Hotel Resturant it was quite good and waitrest was great food was good as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear ranchogordo, Thank you for taking time to share your nice comments about our hotel. We're happy that you had a positive experience and you enjoyed the wonderful amenities and services our hotel offers. Offering complimentary punch and cookies in the evening are just a few little touches we've implemented to take care of our guests. Please think of us next time you're in the area, we'd love to have you stay with us again!! Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

1st the good: beds & pillows are great, housekeeping is diligent. All other services are terrible. I don't blame the friendly but untrained staff, I blame management. Staff simply have no idea what's expected in the "hospitality business."

Nothing works: ice machine, boarding-pass printer, vending machines (they give nothing but keep your money,) phone button for "front desk"... I pushed the phone button marked "front desk" many many times, it rang & rang, finally I went down to the desk in my pj's & was told "oh, that doesn't work. You have to dial '0,' didn't they tell you?" Fridge is available "on request" -- I requested one before arrival, upon arrival, the next day, and the day after. Very friendly response, but no fridge or even follow-up call about it. The restaurant "serves dinner til 10pm." (Btw, you're stuck -- there's no other food w/in striking distance.) I arrived at 9:00, the only one there, was told "sure, you can order dinner now," then abandoned for 20 minutes. Had to go to the front desk to ask if I could get some food. Finally the same young woman who had said "sure..." came back and took my order, then sat down at an adjacent table to do some serious texting. I went to the front desk to pay my bill. I asked to check out the night before since I had an early flight; got the following responses: "sure, no problem;" "no, the night shift will put something under your door around 3 AM" (they did not;) then when I called the next morning "well, I'll just check out for you." I said "but I need to see the charges." They seemed to think that was silly. After standing in line to check out, I dashed off late to catch my plane without having a chance to actually check the bill. By that time, I'd had it.

Staff is very young, some friendly and some surly, but they have absolutely no training or clue about basic job expectations. At times, friendly staff who clearly wanted to help (e.g. w/ the printer) just fled, because they didn't know what to do and didn't want to get in trouble.

Whatever the issues, if you just want a good bed near Hobby Airport and NOTHING else, this is fine. If you're hoping for more, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: You're basically on the edge of the airport, no views, moderate airport noise. Windows don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear GloucesterKoko,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport

Address: 8611 Airport Blvd., Houston, TX 77061 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Houston Hobby Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport . Convenient is a word that describes the location of The Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport . The hotel is located minutes from Downtown, Reliant Park, The Galleria, UH, TSU, Rice, Pasadena, San Jacinto Junior College, and the Medical Center. You will appreciate the fact that we offer 24 hour transportation to and from Hobby Airport. We ve even made it convenient to print your boarding passes from our Business Center. The Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport is the perfect place to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, business center, outdoor pool, exercise room, and an in-room luxurious bedding package means we can make every night a great night! Hungry? Experience dining at the Boulevard Cafe or enjoy your favorite beverage in our Boulevard Lounge. From a simple breakfast to a lavish dinner, we have your favorite dish. The hotel has 1900 square feet in the Aviator Ballroom which is perfect for classroom seating of 80 and seating for 120 in rounds of 10. The Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport Hotel is the perfect solution for the busy executive. Remember: We'll get you to the Airport on Time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Houston Hobby Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.