We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 S Main St., Houston, TX 77030 (Medical Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #135 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    259
    188
    85
    28
See reviews for
316
55
58
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thiensville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The front desk gave a key to my room to two other guests - and they keyed into my room while I was in there getting ready for dinner. The hotel offered no apologies or explanation. They just changed the lock on my door - without ever talking to me. When I next left my room, I couldn't get back in. When I went to get new keys, the folks at the front desk just didn't want to talk about it. Mistakes happen but this one was handled poorly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredoM543, General Manager at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback… it is through comments like yours that we become better... I would also like to apologize for the misunderstanding with the room keys; there is no excuse for a mistake like that and I assure you that we have addressed this issue in order to avoid it from happening again. We “dropped the ball” and for that we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiensville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Argued that I had cancelled my reservation when I had not, then after much stress honored my reservation. The breakfast is awful dont bother, rooms are nice, but a big trip to downtown with $20 taxis rides anywhere short

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredoM543, General Manager at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at our Hotel and for taking the time to send your review. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay regarding the breakfast, this has been addressed with the staff for immediate attention. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This might become a great hotel eventually but right now this place is torn up. I had a beautiful room on a floor that was untouched but the bedsheets must have somehow touched a floor that was being torn up. Especially one bed out of the 2 had very dusty and smelly sheets which set off my allergies. The towels in the bathroom showed large spots and I again think that they were left somewhere in a construction area. I paid almost $200 per night and the room certainly was not worth the expense.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredoM543, General Manager at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback… I wanted to let you know that we have completed all the restorations to the lobby and public areas. The last 2 floors will be completed by mid-December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Address: 6800 S Main St., Houston, TX 77030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center , University Place
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Houston
#105 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the convenience of our Houston hotel near the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Center, George R. Brown Convention Center and Houston Zoo. The Wyndham Houston Medical Center is a full service hotel with friendly services and thoughtful lifestyle amenities for you to visit, work, play, and unwind. Relax in one of our newly renovated rooms or spacious suites with everything you need to feel right at home. Our accommodations offer plush beds, free Wi-Fi, work desk and complimentary morning newspaper. Spread out in our suites with separated living areas, kitchenettes or full sized kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.