We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay as Always” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 S Main St., Houston, TX 77030 (Medical Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #117 of 451 hotels in Houston
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Nice Stay as Always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stay here at least once a quarter when he visits MD Anderson. The staff is always very friendly and helpful trying their best to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. Every room we have stayed in has a kitchenette which is great, we don't need to go out to eat every meal, but there are restaurants in nearby such as chipolte or bueno appetito The hotel is a short walk to the hospital and also has a shuttle if the weather isn't good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMedCtr, Director of Sales at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you take advantage of our suites, the kitchenettes are a great way to store and prepare meals in your room.
We look forward to your next stay with us and Thank you for being a loyal customer of ours!
Michelle Hosey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    215
    156
    71
    21
See reviews for
262
43
51
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mathewra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay here on periodic trips to work in the medical school. The staff is very good. Join Priority Club before you stay at this hotel to get VIP treatment. (Make sure you join loyalty club for all facilities to take advantage of special services available). They have shuttles to go to local shopping throughout the day, they concierge has contacts with pleasant , relaible and fair priced limos to airport drivers etc. Coke machine on odd floors - 20 oz bottles only $1- best deal anywhere ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade to one wit kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMedCtr, Director of Sales at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. Just like you I take advantage of the vending machines for $1 Coke Zero! You are correct that there are many benefits to joining Priority Club, especially if you are a frequent traveler, Thank you for being a loyal customer.
We look forward to your next stay with us,
Michelle Hosey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have a granddaughter that had major surgery at TX Childrens hospital in Houston. Wanted to be close and did not want to stress about bad hotels. Thought the Holiday Inn name would be a good choice. I was wrong. This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. When we checked in the first room the air conditioner was not working moved to the 2nd room and first thing we found was a dirty plastic cup with kleenex in it. Needed to get to the hospital so dropped off our stuff and came back that night. Went to shower and had no washclothes, and only one bathtowel and it had a dried booger in it. Used hand towel to dry, pulled back the sheets and they were stained up. My adults daughters bed also had a booger under the bed spread. we had to be at the hospital at 6 am and quiet frankly that was all we were worried about. 10 hour sugery so by the time we got back to the hotel that night it was 11:00pm. As we walked in there was an overwhelming smell of natual gas. No one at the front desk so I headed to the closed resturant and heard someone in the back. He said the pilot light was left on and that he fixed it. For this we were paying 126.00 per night + taxes. ( I think their computer did not work at check in or check out) We moved to the Best Western the next night and it was one block closer to the hospital and absolutely fabulous. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOLIDAY INN.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMedCtr, Director of Sales at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you did not have a positive experience during your stay with us. If your time permits I would like to find out more information on the rooms you were checked into. When customers provide us feedback like yours we definitely like to research and find how we can address these concerns.
We understand the stress you have when traveling to the Texas Medical Center and our main goal is to make sure your stay is of the best quality. If you are returning we would like another opportunity to have you stay with us to provide you the best experience possible.
With Hospitality,
Michelle Hosey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The staff here is very nice and the bed is comfortable. The staff tries very hard, but there is only so much they can do. The hotel is musty. The couch by the laundry facility is ripped. Their computer has been down for over a week so you can't get a receipt for your expense report. I received a long term rate and was told they would not bill in advance, but they charged my card $2300 in one day, and cannot give me a receipt because the computer is down. The bar was out of their normal wine and charges $9.50 for a glass of wine, It is more expensive than the full service Marriott. The Wi-Fi is spotty and keeps disconnecting. The business center has no copy machine I am very disappointed, but they know they have you because of the location. I would say if you are ill and need to be close to the hospital it would be alright, because the staff is nice, but if you don't have transportation and need to grocery shop it's tough. The shuttle drops you off, but doesn't come back for 2 hours and is late alot. You have to willing to take the inconveniences because of the location. The upside is the staff does try their best. I have been traveling a while and don't generally complain, but this time around there are alot of things that make it tough to be on the road all the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a true non smoking room. The plce is musty. Ask for a room that faces away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMedCtr, Director of Sales at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you did not have a positive experience staying with us. Currently we are having work done on our system that is not allowing receipts to be emailed automatically. If you have not received your receipt as of today please contact me direct.
Your comments have been share with our Management team specfically in regards to the restaurant and shuttle schedules. We did just purchase a "new' sofa for our laundry area and are excited to get the old sofa replaced to improve the quality of the waiting area. For copying items the Sales Office and or Front Desk is more than happy to take care of your copying needs at no additional charge, we unfortunately do not have enough space to have a copy machine inside our business center.
Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and we did share with the entire team. If your travel brings you back to Houston we hope you will give us another opportunity. Please contact me direct to personally make your reservation.
With Hospitality,
Michelle Hosey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everytime I travel to Houston, I always stay here. Easy to find, in a great area. The staff is great! The folks in the restaurant always remember me and my order every time I stay. Little touches like that mean a lot for those who travel often. I highly recommend this hotel. Enjo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMedCtr, Director of Sales at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to have you as one of our loyal guests. The restaurant staff here is one of the bests when it comes to providing excellent service, I will pass on your comments to let the staff know what they do means alot to our guests.
We look forward to your next stay!
With Hospitality,
Michelle Hosey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a last minute stay and the staff was great from the time I checked in to checking out. The room, which is really a suite, has a kitchen, dining table and living room with an adjoining bedroom. There is two televisions, living area and bedroom. I will definitely stay here during my next trip to Houston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMedCtr, Director of Sales at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! We look forward to having you stay with us again and are glad that you enjoyed our Deluxe Suites!
With Hospitality,
Michelle Hosey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent four nights here for professional visit to several hospitals. This is not an inspiring hotel, but then that's not what's needed. The room was far more spacious than I'd expected, and the kitchenette was a great bonus. The bed was fabulously comfy, and the housekeeping was suitable. The gym was very basic, but available 24 hrs which was great. The restaurant staff are so welcoming and thoughtful, and the breakfast menu was well-priced and fresh and for me a better option than the buffet. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful at every turn. The shuttle took me to hospitals not on their usual route. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMedCtr, Director of Sales at Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities of your room. Our suites are perfect in offering guests kitchenettes to prepare meals and store snacks. The transportation team always go out of their way to accommodate requests within the Medical Center and are glad they could assist you.
We look forward to your next stay with us!
With Hospitality,
Michelle Hosey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites

Address: 6800 S Main St., Houston, TX 77030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Houston
#109 Business Hotel in Houston
#117 Spa Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the convenience of our Houston hotel near the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Center, George R. Brown Convention Center and Houston Zoo. The Wyndham Houston Medical Center is a full service hotel with friendly services and thoughtful lifestyle amenities for you to visit, work, play, and unwind. Relax in one of our newly renovated rooms or spacious suites with everything you need to feel right at home. Our accommodations offer plush beds, free Wi-Fi, work desk and complimentary morning newspaper. Spread out in our suites with separated living areas, kitchenettes or full sized kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.