We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Suite; Nightmare Parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Package
Ranked #157 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Nice Suite; Nightmare Parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The good news is that the suites are well arranged and have lots of room, and there seems to be adequate soundproofing (we did have a minor issue one night with the amplified sound from across the street coming through the bedroom window at 2 AM). The bad news is that you can't get to your room if you have the misfortune to return to the hotel in the evening when they have a lot of events using the ballrooms. First, we could not even get to the parking structure because we got stuck behind all the parked cars waiting for valets which had completely filled the portico you need to drive through to get to the structure entrance. Then we were told there was no parking available in the structure anyways since it was all being used for valet parking, so we had to wait for the valets to clear enough cars so that we could exit through the driveway which crosses a driveway the valets use to get to the structure, another nightmare, and drive down the street to the employee lot. Once in, we stopped to complain to an individual who had a badge designating him as the "Sales Manager" who seemed to think we were nuts because he hadn't noticed any problem and "we have 4 valets." So if you're not actually staying there in connection with a specific event at the hotel, plan your timing carefully.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kele A, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good evening Sir,

My sincere apologies for the issue you encountered this past week with our parking as it related especially with unavailability of spots. I have shared this with our valet team and parking attendants. There is no reason we couldn't have parked your car in a timely manner, close to the hotel entrance. I am sorry about this.

Please let me know when you are returning to Houston. I would like to make it up to you.

My direct number at the hotel is: (713) 585-2706

Very sincere regards,

Kele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    184
    123
    67
    38
See reviews for
129
71
30
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was an excellent room especially for the price. I loved having a kitchen in the room. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Originally my room was wrong but the staff quickly corrected the issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kele A, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good evening,

I am glad we were able to rectify the room assignment issue quickly. Please come back and see us soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stay here several nights a year. We were excited when they renovated all their rooms and we requested to be pales in one of the newly renovated rooms for this stay. We were disappointed because I am not sure what was renovated? The same gross coffee table that has a glass top so you can see the rim of the table that is full of hair and rust - really gross! New couch but unbelievably uncomfortable - must have looked long and hard to fin this one. Chair had some sort of white stain on the cushion???? Beautiful mirrors with hand prints all over them! Does housekeeping even care???? Sliding glass door to balcony probably has never been cleaned! All of this tells me there is a definite problem with management - they don't care enough to check the rooms - so very sad...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kele A, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good evening,

Thank you for your detailed comments regarding your stay with us last week.

I apologize for the cleanliness issue you encountered, and have shared your valuable feedback with the housekeeping team, to ensure this issue never repeats itself.

I am sorry you had a bad stay, and would like to speak to you about this. At your leisure, please call me on (713) 585-2706

Again, I am sorry this happened, and want to make it right.

All the best,

K Agi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Travel frequently and stayed at many Hilton's in Houston. This is by far the best based on room size, food quality, and friendliness of staff. Large rooms, reasonable price, quality breakfast with interesting options for foreign diets. Very nice staff and rooms are always clean. Updated modern look with clean new amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kele A, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Good morning,

What a wonderful review.

It is always great to know we created an experience for a guest. Please come back soon and thank you for giving us the opportunity.

All the best.

Kele Agi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

With my work I travel weekly and often Internationally, so I base my review on similar properties I have stayed at. The Hotel is well situated near the Galleria and close to many good restuarants, everything is in walking distance. The rooms are large and have everything needed for longer stays, or on the occasion I bring my Kids, they offer plenty of room. The service from the front desk is very good and they are very responsive to my needs. WIth all that, I still find that the renovations have caused some of the amenities to be closed or less attractive, i.e. the gym and pool. The best thing the hotel has going for it though, is the Manager Kele! More than once he has gone above and beyond for me. I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kele A, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your great comments regarding your most recent stay at the hotel. I have share your comments with all concerned, and look forward to your return visit. It is always a pleasure to have you and your family here.

Have a delightful evening.

K Agi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in August and had a good stay - great location for galleries and fortunately my company had a corporate deal and we got some really good prices and benefits which made it a good hotel value for me - anything higher would have been overpriced for what you get

Good points
- great location for galeria and shopping
- close to restaurants
- nice long pool great for swimming
- nice friendly staff

Bad points
- really small room with no view other that some other apartment blocks
- adjoining door to the room next door meant I heard all my neighbours conversation and late night telephone calls
- they charge you extra for the car park so beware - 17 USD a night
- breakfast was ok - nothing special
-

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kele A, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. Thank you for staying with us.

The majority of our rooms here at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Houston by the Galleria are 2 room suites. Please let me know when you plan to return, so that I may have you enjoy of of our many luxurious suites.

Have a delightful weekend.

K Agi
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great staff. The rooms are spacious and the bartender is the best! I would recommend this to anyone doing business in Houston. I am a frequent guest and they always make me feel at home. Great dining is any direction. There is no need to drive when access is the convenient!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kele a, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We look forward to having you back at the hotel.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria

Address: 5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria welcomes you to Houston, Texas. Our hotel offers travelers an unmatched experience with premier comfort and service. We are located in the heart of the Uptown/Galleria area, famous for world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment. We are steps from the landmark Galleria Mall, featuring over 400 upscale shopping and dining outlets for your pleasure. Guests at our Houston hotel enjoy spacious, residential-style suites, a swimming pool, and a convenient location near many of Houston's most exciting attractions. Business travelers will also enjoy a quick commute to the Central Business District, Hobby Airport, and George Bush Intercontinental Airport, all of which are just minutes away. In addition to our central location and legendary DoubleTree service, our Houston hotel features thoughtfully designed, spacious suites and Deluxe Rooms and a wide variety of hotel services. Relax with all the comforts of home, and enjoy must-have amenities like a full kitchen, dining area, sitting area, and wireless high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Doubletree Hotel Houston
Doubletree Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.