We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Spacious Suite, Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 454 Hotels in Houston
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Location, Spacious Suite, Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

have stayed for 2 weeks beginning of November and found the stay very comfortable. location is great by the galleria, very convenient with lots of things to do after conference. rooms not luxurious but very spacious suites and clean. could not fault the service. breakfast included in the rate is fine. will be back if visiting Houston again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria. The entire staff stives to provide the best service in Houston to every guest. We obviously achieved that goal during your stay.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton for your accommodations needs in Houston. We look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    157
    98
    50
    29
See reviews for
109
57
28
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The night manager, Mr. [-], is by far the worst manager I have had the displeasure of speaking with. Very condescending. Had a problem with one of the credit cards and he treated me like a theft or something. I am a business executive with years for traveling and have never felt so belittled. Someone promoted this person in error.

Hope you don’t check in at night and have a glitch on your credit card – because if you do, be prepared to be treated like a theft -- I dont care how sucessful you are --- Worst experience every!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really an excellent hotel for business. I just spent 5 days at this hotel for a business conference and was really impressed. The reason this hotel is great lies with the staff. 100% pure awesome.

The first day I was there we had some issues with the air conditioner, but the staff did go out of their way to make it right for me. Their friendly attitude and willingness to go the extra distance definitely sets them apart. (Thank you Gerald...)

Though I did not do any shopping, this hotel would be perfect for the shopoholic because it is right next to the Houston Galleria. A high end mall with about a zillion shops and restaurants. Because of my experience last week, I plan to bring my wife back for a weekend to do our holiday shopping.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. You comments have been shared with the entire staff to celebrate a job well done.

We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The place was very clean. The staff was quite accommodating and friendly. They were flexible and were able to make several last minute changes. The downtown shuttle was a great help to get around without worrying about parking. The rooms were quite nice with everything that was needed. Breakfast was quick, easy, and tasty. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite short, so no views available. Traffic is light. All rooms tend to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. You comments have been shared with the staff to thank them for showing we CARE about out guests.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel has really large rooms that are excellent if on a long trip as you get a lot of space; plus its super close to shops and restaurants which makes it convenient. The hotel is rather busy on weekends and especially during the summer, but the rest of the time it's fairly quiet. Has all the facilities needed in a hotel of its standard and the staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. You comments have been shared with the staff. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located just down the street from the galaria mall and close to dozens of other shops and restaurants. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Checking in was simple and our bags were quickly taken to our room. By far the best thing about this hotel is the staff. On the other hand, the hotel could use some major upgrades and a good cleaning. The hallways all smelled very bad. Our first room also had a bad smell. Thankfully the front desk upgraded us to another room. Although we did not use the kitchen in our suit, the oven and frig appeared to be 2 decades old. With all the choices of hotels in the area we will likely look for another place in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the property. I have passed your comments along to the operations managers to review with the staff.

The property will begin renovations in late November to improve the items you mentioned in your posting. Please keep us on your list of hotels in the area and come see the changes next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

As Hilton honors member, I like to stay in the Hilton Family hotels unless Omni like Corpus Christi really entices you with their Republic of Texas on top floor. Very busy during summer as our grandson was to arrive, we did not have time to shop for our daughter for grandson's arrival. We did have to buy something that was not on her registry, that was thoughtful and small since her registry took precedence. What other place to go and live in Galleria and let your wife go shopping while availing all priveleges of Double Tree hospitality suite for HHONORS members. This hotel had the best fresh fruit, name brand wines and beers and excellent service next to none both in the evening before dinner and in the morning at break fast that my wife missed because we had sumptous dinner in the evening. Since we did not have to drive for dinner, one of us did not have to be designated driver, so we could finish whole bottle of wine between just two of us.
Best thing about Double Tree was not just its big suite, fully furnished kitchen that we did not touch except for refrigerator and prompt vallet service, check in and in room luncheon for my wife on Monday morning when I was at meetings. So if you have Friday and Monday to work in Houston and you want to shop, mix the pleasure and stay at Double Tree, you will enjoy it. Great service and really double the best experience better than going to Europe, if you have to be lazy and enjoy this is the place with over 40 sit in top class restaurants in walking distance, be it for Steak, Sea Food, Indian, Mediterranean or Italian, we enjoyed all five from Friday evening to Sunday night. Try you will love Double Tree. Clean, best service, reght temperatures for all (we set our room at 68 F) and great HHonors lounge for breakfast and Hors d hours reception. We enjoyed it and will do so next chance we get, may be before Christmas

Room Tip: I always ask for highest floor and away from Elevators or vending machine since I am a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. You comments have been shared with the staff. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria

Address: 5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#64 Family Hotel in Houston
#97 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria welcomes you to Houston, Texas. Our luxurious hotel offers travelers an unmatched experience with premier comfort and service. We are located in the heart of the elegant Uptown/Galleria area, famous for world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment. We are steps from the landmark Galleria Mall, featuring over 350 upscale shopping and dining outlets for your pleasure. Guests at our Houston hotel enjoy spacious, residential-style recently renovated suites, a sparkling swimming pool for fun and relaxation, and a convenient location near many of Houston's most exciting attractions. Business travelers will also enjoy a quick commute to the Central Business District, Hobby Airport, and George Bush Intercontinental Airport, all of which are just minutes away. In addition to a fantastic location and legendary DoubleTree service, our Houston hotel features thoughtfully designed, spacious Suites and Deluxe Rooms and a wide variety of available hotel services. Relax with all the comforts of home, and enjoy must-have amenities like a full kitchen, dining area, sitting area, and wireless high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Doubletree Hotel Houston
Doubletree Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.