We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, large hearts, No Party Policy, for real!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Steak & Cookies!
Ranked #94 of 451 hotels in Houston
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Large rooms, large hearts, No Party Policy, for real!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Two high points were personable valets, and the Lounge bartender. The valets acted as if they enjoyed their job, making jokes and providing great service. I looked forward to ordering my car, just to see those young cute guys and laugh at their witty comments. The bartender, courteous and friendly, made fabulous top shelf margaritas, and bought a shot of tequila for my traveling companion to celebrate his birthday. Soon the entire bar was enjoying the birthday celebration. Be warned, no parties! I signed a "no party policy" at check in! That was a little odd, but I can imagine this hotel could really host a good party, with the apartment size rooms and the large outdoor pool and spa! Did I mention the room was the size of a one bedroom apartment! Large attractive clean room with super comfortable bed and over the top friendly staff make this a hotel one I recommend wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton does have the largest suites in Houston. As you stated in your review, they are perfect for parties. Well, we are a hotel that provides quiet, comfortable accommodations to our guests. That is the reason we require the "No Party" policy. It is for the comfort of ALL hotel guest.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to hosting you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    140
    84
    42
    25
See reviews for
97
50
24
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I brought my mom here to stay on a Living Social coupon deal to go shopping at Galleria, which is right next door, so it's a very convenient location. The check-in and valet parking staff were very friendly. The double queen suite room was very nice and spacious. NOTE: the walls between rooms seem to be very thin, we could hear every word of the conversation of the people in room next to us, and had to turn the TV up very loud to drown them out. There were a few service details however that the hotel could improve upon, listed below. Overall however, I would recommend this hotel.
Service/Room Issues during our stay:
- I found hair both on the bathroom towels and on my napkin at breakfast the next morning, and it wasn't mine - yuck. Housekeeping needs to do a better inspection and make sure no lingering hair on towels/linens.
- We requested an ice bucket be brought to our room, had to ask twice, and it never was delivered even though we were told both times it was on the way.
- I asked for hot tea at breakfast and the waiter brought me a cup with bright red lipstick on it. I pointed it out and he apologized, said he would bring me another one, but never did (had to ask another wait person). Then, incredibly, the man seated behind us asked for a cup and that same waiter gave him the SAME MUG with the lipstick on it, which the other man also saw and pointed out. Yuck.
- The throw pillows on the couch in our room suite had stains on them - time to replace them, not very attractive.
- There were no extra covers or blankets in room and they only put a sheet and a thin coverlet on the beds.
- There was a huge stack of empty cardboard boxes stacked in the hall right outside our room, which stayed there the whole time during our visit, just looked a bit junky.
- The cookies they present to you upon check-in are a nice touch, but they have NUTS in them. I asked if they had any without nuts and they said no. What about people with allergies or just who do not like nuts in their baked goods? Minor point but I would have liked to have tasted the famous Doubletree cookie and couldn't. :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The items discribed in your message are certainly not the standard for the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

You comments have been shared with the hotel staff and steps are being taken to concentrate on these area with re-training and adjusting smack offerings during check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were nice with the exception of the old appliances in the kitchen. The service was pretty good, however I requested a wake up call which I never received, which made us late for an appointment we had.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston Galleria. Your review has been shared with the staff of the hotel to address the wakeup call situation you encountered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this caused.

The hotel is scheduled to undergo renovations early next year. This will address the aged appliances in the suites. We look forward to showing off our new look during your next visit to the Houston, TX area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our last night in the states after a months touring. We stayed on the executive floor and the suite was very large and well equipped. We were greeted with warm cookies checked in quickly and efficiently and showed to our room with all our bags delivered. The breakfast was good and all the service excellent. It was well placed for the Galleria shopping and plenty of restaurants nearby. We had hired a car whilst we were traveling and were able to return the car at the hotel and the hotel arranged a taxi for us to the airport which was reasonably priced. All in all a great stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Staying on the executive floor was worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston Galleria. Your review has been shared with the staff of the hotel to thank them for a job well done. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Houston, TX area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I booked an overnight stay at this hotel after finding a social networking coupon for a package deal. It was affordable, and offered many extras so we could sample what they had to offer. The hotel is nice and spacious, but most importantly, the staff has been extremely gracious and accommodating. They allowed for an earlier check-in to make it more convenient for us, greeted us with warm cookies and a huge smile. The breakfast buffet was very good and offered an omelet station along with a great selection of fruits, breads, everything you might want. Since we are only staying about 45 minutes away from home, we figured it would be a great reprieve and also a place where our teenagers could get some school shopping done while we all received some pampering. Very pleased and wish I would have bought more nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I have shared your comments with all departments. Of course, we would like to remain at the top of you list of hotels in Houston the next time you need a relaxing "Get away" or friends and family visiting for the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 7/24 for one night. Am a repeat visitor and although I enjoy the size of the rooms, the hotel is showing signs of distress which need to be addressed considering the competition that surrounds this property. I was on the 9th floor and just outside of my room a large chunk of wallpaper had become dislodged and was taped or temporarily held to the wall - it looked awful. The staff is all competent, but the hotel just seems tired. The carpet in the hallways is faded and overall the property just needs some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. The property will undergo renovations starting in late September. The upgrades are scheduled to address the issues you mentioning in your comments.

Thank you for your continued loyalty. We look forward to showing off the upgrades to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel is located right next to or one block from Galleria mall and lots of shopping and great restaurants in downtown Houston. Very large and busy hotel. Service is great and rooms are clean and comfortable. Easy to find and parking lot attached to hotel.

Room Tip: I always like to stay near the elevator bank to avoid long walks. Hotel not affected by traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel. You comments have been shared with the hotel team. We excel in our service because we CARE about our guests.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria

Address: 5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#68 Family Hotel in Houston
#75 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria welcomes you to Houston, Texas. Our luxurious hotel offers travelers an unmatched experience with premier comfort and service. We are located in the heart of the elegant Uptown/Galleria area, famous for world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment. We are steps from the landmark Galleria Mall, featuring over 350 upscale shopping and dining outlets for your pleasure. Guests at our Houston hotel enjoy spacious, residential-style recently renovated suites, a sparkling swimming pool for fun and relaxation, and a convenient location near many of Houston's most exciting attractions. Business travelers will also enjoy a quick commute to the Central Business District, Hobby Airport, and George Bush Intercontinental Airport, all of which are just minutes away. In addition to a fantastic location and legendary DoubleTree service, our Houston hotel features thoughtfully designed, spacious Suites and Deluxe Rooms and a wide variety of available hotel services. Relax with all the comforts of home, and enjoy must-have amenities like a full kitchen, dining area, sitting area, and wireless high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Doubletree Hotel Houston
Doubletree Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.