We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 455 Hotels in Houston
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Twice a year I have a tradition with my granddaughters in which we stay at The Hilton Americas in Downtown Houston. We decided to try someplace closer to The Galleria, and Doubletree Hotel was my first choice. Thankfully the staff was exceptional, kind, and compassionate. My granddaughters loved the Suite and our view from the 20th floor. They also loved the attentive staff, resturaunt,and pool area! And are looking forward to coming back in September! Thank you DoubleTree Hilton for making our tradition a memorable one indeed. Bravo!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Director, Revenue Management at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank for you review. You comments have been shared with all of the hotel staff.

The team is most happy that you have decided to return to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria for your next visit. We continuously stive to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    164
    107
    52
    33
See reviews for
113
59
29
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CT
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

For business near the Galleria this property works fine. It's convenient in every way: service, rooms, restaurant, exercise room, etc.

Room Tip: The courtyard side is quietest. The street side is noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Director, Revenue Management at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for your review posting. We have shared your comments with the entire team.

We look forward to your next visit to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here for a week on business. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. The receptionist at check-in was really very friendly, The warm cookie was a nice touch. Received all the recognition as a HHonors Gold member.

Had a corner room on the 21st floor. The door was a bit jammed trying to open it and you could see someone had tried to break into it! The wooden frame at the side was damaged and the lock area had been re-enforced with some additional metal. I think a better job needs to be done in replacing this. The room smelled a bit probably from cooking in the kitchen as the windows could not open. Being a corner room, the living room was huge, but it was a bit dark as the window was in one corner and three-quarters of the room was windowless. It was also next to the elevator and on my 4th night, I couldn't sleep because of noise from it. Interestingly, the noise from the elevator didn't bother me before that, probably because I was tired at night. Requested a room change the next day and was readily granted one. The new room was much better, it smelled fresh, had windows which could open, and was bright, although it was a little bit smaller as it was not a corner room, but still a good size with living room, kitchen and bedroom. One thing which would have been useful in the kitchen is some basic pots and pans. How can we make use of the stove if we had no pots and pans? The full fridge and freezer was nice.

The executive lounge was small but pleasant. Simple but adequate continental breakfast in the morning and some hot snacks in the evenings. But it was only opened until 9:30 am Mon-Thurs and from 5pm-8pm. Would have been nice if it was kept open at other times too so people could have a soft drink there, or have a chat, do some reading in it.

Full breakfast is served in the restaurant in the morning. Nice freshly cooked omelettes and friendly staff.

Short pleasant walk to the Galleria with its range of shops and restaurants. Walgreaves and CVS just across the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Director, Revenue Management at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. You review has been shared with the entire hotel team.

The hotel does have pots and pans available on request for all suites. The management team is discussing the option of signage being added to the kitchen with the information regarding the request.

The Executive Lounge does serve Continental Breakfast and offers a small reception on all weekday. The Lounge is accessible 24 hours per day with the guets' room key when accessible with an Executive Level suite.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to your return in the near future. The staff at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria wants to be your home away from home in Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Overall stay is good, no frills. The checkin staff is very nice. Hilton honor upgrade. But do charge for parking for $16 a bit much. Got a suite, which is huge with a kitchen. Pretty nice suite. The bed is comfy, but need to be a bit cleaner. Lay in bed, and felt something uncomfortable, did some looking found some bread crumbs underneath the sheets. But it felt a bit uncomfortable, may be some left on the bed... And the SHOWER HEAD felt like a super super cheap motel.... totally need to update that... I guess I am spoil at home with rain shower heads, but this one is really a shower head from like a dollar store or something.... gee...
Location is very close to the galleria mall, so it is a good place to stay. Easy access to everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Director, Revenue Management at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. You comments have been forwarded to the appropriate managers for continue improvement planning. We appreciate all comments.

We look forward to your return in the future and want to be you first choice for accommodations in Houston.

DoubleTree Suites by Hilton...where the little things mean everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

The suites were very spacious i like the full size Kitchen and fridge. The location near the Gallaria was very convinient. The rooms showed the sign of age but the furniture were all in good condition and clean. The breakfast buffet had excellent service and average selection. The service in the hotel was great and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Director, Revenue Management at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. The hotel is in the design stages for some room and kitchen renovations that will begin before the end of the year.

Your comments have been shared with all of the service personnel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okapigirl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My company held a private job fair here this week. We occupied conference rooms, guest rooms and rooms on the executive floor. From the valets to the front desk to the executive lounge on the top floor I experienced the finest service and hospitality. The restaurant, housekeeping, and maintenance staff were all very friendly and professional as well. All the rooms were neat and clean, and housekeeping was prompt and efficient in keeping them that way throughout the day as needed, since some of our suites doubled as holding rooms and offices for our candidates. The food was delicious and fresh whether it be omelettes at breakfast, cookies in meeting rooms, lunch buffet, hors d'oeuvres in the executive lounge or desserts at dinner. The location was ideal for our international travelers since they wanted to take advantage of the shopping and attractions such as NASA. For those who wanted to go out in the evening there were plenty of entertainment and dining options within a mile. Arrivals and departures of our candidates and employees from both major airports made it necessary for our accomodations to be centrally located which made the Doubletree's an ideal location.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 08 and 16 had adjoining suites in the corner of the building for more room and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Director, Revenue Management at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I have personally shared your comments with all department managers and they have passed them on to the entire hotel staff.

Thank you for your continued loyalty. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Very nice hotel, especially for the price. The people were nice but you do have to sign a "no partying" clause.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpskinner, Director, Revenue Management at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review regarding the hotel and service. The "No Party" clause that the front desk requires is used to ensure the comfort of all the hotel guests. We do not want loud parties in the suites that could possibly disturb the rest of others in the hotel.

Again, thank you for your review and choosing the DoubleTree Sites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria for your weekend get-away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria

Address: 5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#76 Family Hotel in Houston
#110 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria welcomes you to Houston, Texas. Our luxurious hotel offers travelers an unmatched experience with premier comfort and service. We are located in the heart of the elegant Uptown/Galleria area, famous for world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment. We are steps from the landmark Galleria Mall, featuring over 350 upscale shopping and dining outlets for your pleasure. Guests at our Houston hotel enjoy spacious, residential-style recently renovated suites, a sparkling swimming pool for fun and relaxation, and a convenient location near many of Houston's most exciting attractions. Business travelers will also enjoy a quick commute to the Central Business District, Hobby Airport, and George Bush Intercontinental Airport, all of which are just minutes away. In addition to a fantastic location and legendary DoubleTree service, our Houston hotel features thoughtfully designed, spacious Suites and Deluxe Rooms and a wide variety of available hotel services. Relax with all the comforts of home, and enjoy must-have amenities like a full kitchen, dining area, sitting area, and wireless high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Doubletree Hotel Houston
Doubletree Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Houston by the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.