We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, terrible wireless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Houston Post Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Houston Post Oak to your Saves list
Hilton Houston Post Oak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Post Oak Blvd., Houston, TX 77056-4401 (Great Uptown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast/Pking/WiFi
Ranked #148 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, terrible wireless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great hotel, great location, great service.......very poor for business needs.

I have stayed here many times, over 5 in 2013 alone. I always struggle to get the wireless to connect and stay connected. Very frustrating not to be able to get work done.

Worked with wireless provider at the hotel for over an hour, but we're not able to get to work.

If you need to stay somewhere in this area but need wireless to work you need to consider the Marriott, JW or Doubletree.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Great hotel, great location, great service.......and now Great High Speed! Good news is that we updated our internet infrastructure and bandwith a few months ago! Please give us another try if your travel brings you back to Houston. You can also check out our new Connectivity Center located in the lobby. Two Mac's, two PC's and printers - complimentary for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    280
    147
    56
    32
See reviews for
116
122
64
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am a hilton diamond member, stay over 100 nights a year in Hilton's. Worst experience ever. Almost 300 dollars a night for a dirty, smelly room. Cigarette burns in carpet everywhere! Creamer cups left on floor in bathroom. Shower barely a trickle. huge roach on the floor ran under tv stand. Called to complain about all of above. No night manager on duty?? Hispanic woman at front desk laughed at me when I said a roach was in room. She said its a palmetto bug??! No lady...it's a big roach. Manager in morning told me he was sorry and offered me free breakfast. Oh boy! And when I checked out, the 42 dollar breakfast was on my bill. In all fairness they did move me after the roach incident, however, it was to yet another outdated room with a 1960s peach shower! Never again! Stay far away from this place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will work to make sure the problem is addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Hilton Galleria and were greeted by the calm, elegant lobby and the very helpful welcoming staff. Our room on the executive floor was large and nicely decorated and great views. The bathroom was large and well appointed. The executive lounge was rather small and the breakfast selection was limited although the food was well prepared and tasty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our last stay here was Oct 2011, marred by filthy carpet in public areas, a less than clean bathroom, and over-priced nickel & diming guests for services included at many other 4-Star properties. Management advised renovations were imminent.

We were delighted with our renovated room, excellent bedding and stellar housekeeping. And yes, lobby renovations are complete, including new carpet.

But, oh my, 12th floor hallway carpet should have been replaced years ago. While clean and odor- free, years of repeated stain cleaning have left it significantly worn, with large blotches showing the bleaching effects of powerful cleaning products. Hallway carpet in this condition might be expected in a 2-star property, but not in a 4-star hotel whose cheapest on-line pre-paid booking rate was $199.

Oddly, hotel website amenities list makes no mention of in-room safes, but a generous one is provided, a plus.

Biggest disappointment is that usurious pricing for basic services still reigns. Maybe we’re out of touch, but $16/day for guest self-parking and $11/day for internet access ($13/day for VPN) seems way over-the-top. We've stayed in other 4-star Houston hotels where both are complimentary.

Professional, friendly and efficient staff both on check-in and check-out enhanced our stay, but considering value delivered for price paid, we would only return on a deeply discounted Priceline bid.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are much quieter, particularly on the Post Oak side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downsville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Loved the executive floor. It definitely added a bit of class to a normal stay. I would definitely stay here again and will tell my co-workers about it. Hilton has always been a top choice for our company and will continue to be with efforts like these.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

we stayed here last weekend and we had a pleasant time...nice and comfortable room,friendly staff and its very close to galleria..the only thing i dont like is you have to pay for parking even if your a guest

Room Tip: try to get a higher room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Good location near to many restaurants, galleria mall, bars, and client offices. Also, the service is good. The breakfast is nothing special. Parking is a little expensive, but normal for this type of hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Houston Post Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Post Oak

Address: 2001 Post Oak Blvd., Houston, TX 77056-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#118 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Houston Post Oak 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Houston Post Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Post Oak Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Houston Post Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.