We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name your price on Priceline or find another hotel. Not worthy of 4 star hotel rates.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Houston Post Oak

Save Saved
You added Hilton Houston Post Oak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Houston Post Oak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Post Oak Blvd., Houston, TX 77056-4401 (Great Uptown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3x Savings: Bkft/WiFI/Pk
Ranked #148 of 451 hotels in Houston
texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Name your price on Priceline or find another hotel. Not worthy of 4 star hotel rates.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We named our price on Priceline (first time to try that out) and landed this hotel for spring break. Reading the reviews I was a little concerned, but since I wasn't even paying close to normal price I figured it couldn't be that bad. Well for the price it wasn't bad given central location and fact we were only sleeping in it at night, but I would never have chosen this hotel and would have been furious if I had paid going rates. We were greeted by a snooty woman at the front desk who went out if her way to be unhelpful stating, well if you booked with Hilton instead of online . . . Luckily when I came downstairs later her male colleague was pleasant and helpful, i guess he didn't realize we had booked online. Then the room - stained carpet, remnants of beef jerky or something that once was edible in the floor, pen ink and other stains in pillowcases, ripped sheer curtains, broken curtain rods, door key that wouldn't work properly, horrible housekeeping - i left an empty water bottle on floor as trash can had narrow opening and it was still on floor when we returned, next day when leaving room I tore one of the door hangers accidently and on return it was still on floor without a new one on the door, it is filthy underneath the beds - dust, trash, misc junk GROSS! Paint peeling in bath and bathtub filled up with drain open while I was showering. No one has wiped down the doors near the doorknobs i. Rhe bathrooms in awhile and it is black with hand prints/oils. And the noise, we were near the ice maker and people were using it as late as 1am. The pros: if you are comfortable with dirty sheets the beds are comfortable, they have a decent hair dryer and nice fixtures on sink and location. Oh - parking is $15-27 a day, breakfast is $20/person. Pay for wifi as we couldn't use our Hilton points since we booked online. Sigh. For some reason we got free AT&T wireless in our room anyway so we were fine. Anyway, I took pics (make sure u scroll thru the 98+ posted pics as u will see some nasty/telling ones) and will post. This place needs a makeover! Again, we paid $75/night from naming our price in Priceline (2 adults and 2 kids in one room), so for us it was a steal, but I wouldn't choose this hotel on my own, recommend it or pay a penny more!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your your recent stay at our hotel and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you encountered. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our guests deserve better. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    206
    112
    41
    24
See reviews for
80
88
55
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hilton Post Oak is an average hotel. It carries the Hilton name so you'd expect it to be pretty decent. It is about a 8 min walk to a huge mall, that has not only has an ice skating rink but high end to lower end stores.
Hilton has this hotel categorized as a category 5 hotel.. and the price was roughly $189 plus per night. I do not think it is worth that price though. It is a pretty decent to nice hotel, but not a niiice hotel. Friday and Saturday nights there were VERY loud.. so if you want peace and quiet, request a room away from the noise.. not near elevators or the main lobby. I suppose maybe you are paying for the Hilton name and the location, but I was not very impressed

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for a room away from the main lobby and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Where to start :
1) room was musty and old nasty carpet
2) room key didn't work well and took 4 or 5 times to get in
3) dead bolt broken on door, had to rig it to get it locked
4) on/off switches on lamps did not work well. Some had to be jimmied
5) no water supply in fitness center
6) had to tell hotel they had no water supply - see #5
7) should offer free Internet for guests
8) only 3 treadmills for a hotel this size. I've been in hampton inn's with more
9) red stains on carpet

To many other hotels in Houston to pick this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and are working with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a big and externally Hitlon-like Hilton, lots of bling cars outside with uniformed doormen, so the expectation was high, especially since it was recommended by a local. The disinterested front desk staff were the first warning sign. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom had a black granite top but I couldn't get any hot water in the sink (even if the bath was ok). No plug in the bath. 2 star accoutrements in the bathroom. Hang on is this a Hilton? This place was one of the first hotels in the area, dating from the early 80s, and it now feels like it: old tiles around the tub echo the overall lack of effort here. Then the bomb, the room price: 462 dollars for one night "you've got to be kidding" (it was a company booking) - no towel dressing gown no slippers, unbranded toiletries, in short zero effort Houston and considering the price this place is a total unashamed in your face rip-off. Plus points...Excellent innovative TV system with an App for iPad and iPhone and good WiFi. Good breakfast (for 30 dollars). But I won't be back and had I known what I now know I would have insisted staying somewhere that actually represents value for money, like an equivalent 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel, overlooking the main road, since it seems to be fashionable i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We are working on some exciting propery improvements coming soon. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Dated rooms. LOUD! It sounds like the people next store are in your room. I checked in 2 hours ago and I want to leave NOW!!! It is ridiculous. Slamming doors. I feel like I'm staying at a hotel near a college campus. There is no way this hotel is worth the money paid. Hilton Honors member and I am so angry about this property. I would have preferred to stay at the Omni with their dated rooms...at least it's quiet there with a spa on premise that is open 7 days a week. The hotel staff is very nice but sadly it can not make up for the environment!

Room Tip: Tip for a good room...pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern. We experienced extremely high occupany and traffic levels throughout the hotel on NBA Allstar weekend and this is not an example of a typical stay at our location. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Although we were in our hometown, we were here for a wedding and decided to stay the night. The hotel staff was helpful with our requests, although the night-time crew seemed a little more agitated to be there. Overall the room was extremely spacious for the price and the room service was tasteful and quick! Although this hotel was located in the busy area of Post Oak, once inside the hotel, you easily forget that you are in Houston (in a good way!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Meeting rooms were dated. Chairs were uncomfortable for long meetings.

Breakfast was simple although they provided a made to order omelette. Lunch and dinner had good options.

Comfortable bed. Internet was spotty. Tub had marks in it that looked as if it wasn't clean - it was.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Houston Post Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Post Oak

Address: 2001 Post Oak Blvd., Houston, TX 77056-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#132 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Houston Post Oak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Houston Post Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Post Oak Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Houston Post Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.