We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Doubletree Downtown Houston” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002-4777 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkst/Pkng/Wifi
Ranked #146 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Review of Doubletree Downtown Houston”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This property is worn out and for me cleanliness is a big issue when you know thousands of others from who knows where have stayed in the same room that you have. Great location for business. Had issues with room key working and had to have new keys issued twice. As always the cookies are nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    222
    120
    56
    34
See reviews for
77
136
53
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I have never been disappointed. The common areas and rooms are clean and well maintained. We had a suite this trip and it was spacious and comfortable. One big plus....the rooms were cold.

Try the breakfast, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We are glad that we met your expectations on the times you have stayed here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location is great. The valets are great. The front desk is great. The rooms are great. They forgot to include my breakfast coupon at check-in but they ran it to my room without even asking. Breakfast was great. Check-out was easy. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I apologize we didn't have your breakfast coupon inside your key packet prior to arrival. I will work on this with my team. We hope to see you again if travel takes you to Downtown Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FULSHEAR
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night after a performance at the Hobby Center. Check-in took longer than we expected. The room was comfortable, but the bathroom could have been cleaner. We had breakfast downstairs and the food was good. The menu was a bit expensive, but there were specials that made the price reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience. A lot of guest stay with us when visiting the Hobby Center. Being two blocks away, works out great and the use of our hotel shuttle. Sorry to hear check-in took longer than you expected. That's not usual. If you like to email me your room number, I will have our Director of Housekeeping to evaluate the restroom. My email address is: toya.berry@hilton.com. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The beds here are the best. The staff was so nice and helpful. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great night in the big city. The only thing is that you have to valet your vehicle which is $28.00 a day and is such a hassle since there is no self parking.
But other than that, it is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Always a huge pleasure to stay at this hotel, staff is outstanding, always pleasant, don't complain, have never experienced any of the staff say No! for anything. Love this hotel. Hotel is very pet friendly and atmosphere family-like. This hotel has such a professional staff on hand and room service is very quick and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We appreciate you acknowledging our team as we hope each and every guest receive the same experience you have each time they stay with us. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is ok, but pales in comparison to the Hyatt just a block away. The fitness center is tiny, dark and lacking... definitely not a place you want to spend time. The room smelled of smoke, lingering from ages ago when it used to be a smoking hotel. The srvice was fine, and the room was standard, but I generally get a bad vibe staying here, its just not a warm and inviting space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Our hotel is 100% Smoking and when we find guest that go against the smoking policy, we charge them $150 and we detail clean the guest room. If you like, you can email me your room number so that our Director of Housekeeping can inspect this specific room. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Address: 400 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#124 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.