We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Inn and Suites

Houston Inn and Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Houston Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Houston Inn and Suites
2200 South Wayside Drive, Houston, TX 77023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 457 Hotels in Houston
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Place nothing like web pictures
Get to the room floors are stained and nasty looking, there's a bump on the floor were they just laid carpet over it. Bathroom had trash all over the floor, picture on the tv was non existent. Staff was unfriendly and would only reimburse me for two of the three nights because I was in the room for 5 minutes. Room was on third floor and took five minutes to get to it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My family & I had came to town for the stock show. A head of time we called multiple times & repeatedly got hung up on. We pulled in to the drive & it is nothing like the picture. The photo must have been when they first opened. The young man at the front desk was very rude, & the lobby had trash everywhere from his lunch. They did not except the deals on Expedia. Every other hotel/motel was booked for the rest of the week, so we had to stay. They people at the front desk were VERY rude. We had left to go to the stock show & intended to come back & they rooms to be cleaned. The beds were made;however, the trash was still full & our belongings had been re-arganged the maid had went through my belongings & took money out of my makeup bag. Then went to the front desk & told them NOT to clean/enter our rooms until we checked out. So the next morning we put the do NOT disturb signs on the doors (we had 2 rooms). We came back that evening & the signs were gone, opened our doors & the rooms had been entered & cleaned after we specifically told them not to. We went to the desk & they told us they would call the lady over housekeeping. She had said "the signs were on the ground" on both doors? It was very suspicious. We had wanted to iron our show clothing, but there was no iron. We went to the front & they was going to charge us a $20 fee just to use an iron. Tried to go to sleep that night & the bar right across from our room was extremely loud & we got NO sleep. The area is horrible (ghetto) & I would not trust your children to walk to the vehicle by themselves. With that being said I pray you do NOT use this horrible place, we will be reporting this to the better business bureau.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonInnsuites, Manager at Houston Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you had during your stay with us.
We want you to know that we will take the measurements require to fix the problems you have stated. We try to resolve any problem during our guest's stay. Our maids went back to clean your room because the do not disturbed sign must had fallen far from the door. We train our maids in a professional manner and we do not go trough personal belongings. As for the iron we should had informed you in advance that there was a 20 dollar refundable deposit.
Once again our apologies for the bad experience you had during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Checked in at ten. They refuse to let you see a room before you pay....I'd have gone somewhere else on that alone but this was my wives idea so i let her handle it. Room wasn't horrible, missed the porn laying in the closet initially... Glad the kids are at home. Then at 12:30 am some pissed off Mexican comes beating on my door telling us we didn't pay... Wanted us to come outside. I don't think so, the motel is in a shxxty area, and the right side of the door is a good ambush point. Threatened to call the cops on us and left. We called the front desk repeatedly with the room phone and cell and never got an answer or where hung up on immediately. This woman wore no name tag and didn't identify herself until i asked her, threw up many red flags to me, alot of these issues could have been avoided with a little professionalism, like teaching your employees how to register guests, or identify yourself as hotel management with a name tag opposed to beating on my door in the middle of the night in street clothes

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonInnsuites, Manager at Houston Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest:

We want you to know that we understand your concerns about your safety.
Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding with the room you rented. Our employee tried to contact you over the phone but it was out of order. We understand that our employees should communicated with you in a better manner. We try to resolve any issue during our customers stay. We will take the measurements require on identifying our employees with the proper name tag and correct any issue when registering each guest. Our apologies for the bad experience you
had during your stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I booked a room here for one and when I arrived i was shocked. The hote didn't look like the picture on line. The picture must have been a new one not recent one. They didn't honor their promise with expedia.com, they want all the money up front and a deposit of $20.00 for an iron. The area was run down and scarey. I found another hotel and lesson learned. They knew the Congress Convention was in town and thought they would make some fast money. Make sure you know what you are being discounted on! comfort or safety!!!
I'll pay extra the next time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stay for a weekend, and the rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

I had recently lost my home and had to find a place to stay. I found this place and stayed there for a month and a half. I have two girls and they reallly enjoyed the pool. To me the rooms were ok. i din't have any complaints. The lady in the front desk advice me that if i planned to stay more days it would be cheaper to either pay for a week or a month.

  • Liked — i like the price that i payed and that it is a quiet place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2004

Pure roach motel stayed for one night and left after the first night with a paid second nights stay. Initially the owner would not refund my money because she said my wife and I stayed in the room for more than 10 minutes (what kind of motel charges by the minute) deciding if we wanted to stay. The entire first and second floors were empty about 40 rooms and the third floor was filled with crackheads and rockheads who lived there permanently or paid by the week which was about $120.00. The only good thing about the hotel was the pool they are the only motel I've ever saw with an 8ft pool. Besides that the emptiness, cracked walls, pissy rooms and bathrooms and rotten continental breakfast (cereal and bananas) was a real turn-off. Left for a Laquinta Inn which was like staying in the Ritz-Carlton compared to this. When it come to reservations do no go cheap you will suffer or double spend in the long run.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Houston Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Inn and Suites

Address: 2200 South Wayside Drive, Houston, TX 77023
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Houston Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.