We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Houston

Knights Inn Houston
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Houston to your Saves list
Knights Inn Houston
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   12500 North Freeway, Houston, TX 77060 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #401 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Was stuck in Houston after missing a flight and ended up at Days Inn. When I woke up, I noticed blood spots on the sheets and after looking closer, there were bed bugs everywhere! Not one or two but several! All I have to say is the health department should be contacted! Do not stay here!! This place should be shut down!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bed bugs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    8
    45
See reviews for
12
11
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Emigrant. MT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Most reviews here are from people who expect a Hilton at rock bottom prices. I felt completely safe here as well as when I was walking around the neighborhood, but then, I put my faith in God and not in some feeling I get about the appearance of things or what someone else tells me about what is safe. The staff I met were very helpful and cheerful.

It is an older hotel and in the humidity of Houston that means there will be wallpaper peeling off until it is repaired. There were signs of this in progress.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We arrived at the airport at 11:30 PM , got the shuttle.
Upon arrival there were signs asking to excuse the mess they were renovating.
At first glance the room looked unappealing...but considering the time and our early departure, I went to the desk and said the room was unacceptable...he had no alternatives...I decided to stay anyway.
In the morning I had upwards of 45 bites on my chest , arms and fronts of my legs.

I attended at the physician after my arrival at my destination and was told they were bed bug bites and to fumigate all my clothes and my suitcase.

So do NOT go to this hotel...

  • Liked — close to the airport
  • Disliked — the bed bugs in the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

We booked this room because the price to stay here overnight and have our vehicle parked there for a week was exceptional. Upon arriving, I noticed that the location was not the best. It is located near Greenspoint Mall (aka Gunspoint Mall to local Houstonians). Wondered if my car would be there when we got back..

The hotel is aged, although the room was ok for a one night stay I suppose. The remote for the tv didn't work. The desk service people were ok too. The only complaint I have is this: I told the clerk our plane was arriving back in Houston at 11pm. She said no problem, whenever you come back will be fine. Well our flight was delayed 3 hours, we didn't arrive back until 2:30 am. I called them to get picked up and the guy says "but it's 2:30", and I said "AND....?". He said well, I have to wake the driver up. I said ok. The driver was there within 20-30 min. Our car was there when we got back. We tipped the driver for having to wake up.

Next time I will book another room. Just was not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

I chose this hotel because I had to go to Houston for the USMLE Step 2 CS, it was recommended by the USMLE site, and it offered free shuttle to and from the airport and the exam site. Before I even reached the airport, the shuttle bus driver screamed "Go back to Mexico!!" at another driver on the road. The hallway to my room was poorly lit, the light above my door was out, and when I entered the room it smelled like mold. I turned on the air conditioning and the smell intensified. The furniture was old, dirty, the TV had a piece of the panel broken off, the remote was broken, the blow dryer had a big piece broken off, there was no alarm clock radio, the towel had an orange stain that looked like blood after its been bleached, and the shower curtain had a burn hole in it. I didnt even want to touch the bed, nevertheless sleep in it. As I was using the internet (which to their credit DID work well) to find another hotel, someone knocked on the door and didnt even wait long enough for me to reach the door to open it before they opened it with their own key. At that point I decided that as a female, I didn't feel safe staying so I checked out and stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. It's across the street from the testing center and its MUCH nicer. Very much worth the extra cost. Oh, as I was waiting for a cab to leave the Days Inn, I noticed someone who might have been homeless loitering in front of the lobby. NEVER stay there, it's not worth the discount.

  • Liked — Shuttles to USMLE Step 2 CS testing center and Airport
  • Disliked — Quality, cleanliness, and safety of the room and motel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

I had a very bad experience at this Days Inn. As a single female traveling for business, I did not feel comfortable leaving the room. My room was on the ground floor and there were questionable people loitering in the lobby. My room was outdated, not clean, and not well maintained. When I woke up in the morning, there were several dead cockroaches in the toilet. My pillowcases did not match and appeared soiled. I was not provided toiletries. The furniture in my room was suboptimal and dirty. My remote control didn't work for the TV. I could hear the guest in the room above me moving around all night. However, the front desk was very helpful with directions and a free shuttle to the location of my board exam was convienient. I did change hotels after one night. I am usually pretty easy going about one or two problems, but this was not tolerable.

  • Liked — Free shuttle to testing location
  • Disliked — Unclean, smelly and outdated rooms.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gprotomd
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

Worst hotel experience of my life. I'm a medical student that was in the Houston area taking the USMLE Step 2 CS exam. Like so many other students, I stayed here at the recommendation of the CS website. What a disaster. I have never seen such a crappy hotel room. As soon as I walked in, I noticed a dead cockroach-like bug by the bathroom entrance. The only good thing about it is that I arrived late 7-8pm and went straight to sleep and was out of there by 6am. Thank god. I woke up the following morning with a a huge bug bite on my left shoulder, and one day later, i noticed a descending rash on my left and right arm. Went to see a dermatologist a day later and suggested that something bit me. Never again will i ever visit a Days Inn hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Houston

Address: 12500 North Freeway, Houston, TX 77060 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Houston 1.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Houston
Intercontinental Airport Greenspoint

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.