We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest hotel ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Marriott Westchase

Save Saved
You added Houston Marriott Westchase to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Houston Marriott Westchase
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 Briarpark Dr., Houston, TX 77042 (Westchase)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 451 hotels in Houston
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noisiest hotel ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Up most of the night with doors slamming down the hallway. Walls seem paper thin and rooms on the atrium side get all the loud lobby bar noise until late at night. Elevators old and several not working. Decor getting old, feels like aproperty on the decline. Much better options available and will stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It is truly disappointing to learn that sounds from outside your guestroom were a disruption to your stay and we ask that you accept our most sincere apologies. We value your feedback and appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. One day we hope that you will allow us to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    86
    58
    20
    12
See reviews for
30
19
17
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

First stay at this very large corporate hotel. The rooms are the standard offering of this level of U.S. hotel group. Usual amenities and geared predominantly to the corporate traveller. There is nothing in the near locality of interest, so you would have to be coming here for a specific reason.
Its adjacent to a shopping area, but mostly food outlets. The hotel is showingthe signs of age, despite the evident small upgrading of soft furnishings and the inclusion of a nespresso machine in the room. Smart box to hook up laptops etc to TV for those presentations.
24 hour gym. Cardio area is fine, the weight/machines section sorely lacking decent kit. Indoor/outdoor pool area. Plenty of towels and water on offer.

Breakfast was below average. I had the buffet and the hot items were a strange mix , for example a heavily herbed chicken sausage, meat pattie, some sort of mini cheese burrito. .
The usual mix of fruit and pastries and short order chef to do eggs to order. It really could have been better.

In summary, an ok hotel if you need to be in the area, but I wouldn't make a point of coming here

Room Tip: There really isn't any preferred vista...you just look out over a western suburb of Houston
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Your review and feedback about your recent stay is appreciated. We sincerely regret that your visit was not all you hoped it would be and it is disappointing that we were not able to create a better experience for you. Thank you for the time you have taken to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I wish we would have continued staying at the Hilton across the street. In comparison, the Marriot was dirty, unfriendly, and the rooms a lot more dated. The room need to be vacuumed upon arrival and then my crawling son still had dirt marks on his hands, knees, and feet. Gross! I think those carpets are due to a good steam cleaning. When I arrived, I had two small children with me and luggage; not one staff opened the door for me and there wasn't any way I could go through the revolving door. Maybe I caught them at a shift change? The room in comparison to the Hilton was smaller, had a smaller TV and the cable stations not as great. The bed, uncomfortable and worn. On a side note, it seemed to be the place for airline pilots and attendants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
While we welcome all guest feedback it was disappointing to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations. Our staff’s number one priority is to provide guests with exceptional service and we do apologize that your stay did not reflect that. We will share your comments with our management team so we can continue to improve the experience for future guests. One day we hope that you will allow us to welcome you back and provide you with the service and experience that exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for one week during the Offshore technology conference and would recommended to the business traveller. Rooms are very comfortable...Marroitt, seem to have got this right and you can even order the mattress bed linen etc. Free Internet throughout and good selection at breakfast. Bathroom is typical of many U.S. hotels where the shower is in the bath...but the bath would actually seem to be to small to actually have a bath...There was no room safe, and no mini bar....The staff are very good, friendly and attentive

My overall experience was very good. the hotel is just off beltway 8 so very easy to get to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We could not be more pleased to hear that your recent conference and stay at the Houston Marriott Westchase was such a positive experience. It was wonderful to find out that you were so comfortable while staying with us and enjoyed our convenient location, services, amenities and staff so much. Thank you for your recommendation; we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found this hotel less than desirable. When we arrived we wanted to upgrade to a larger room and were very happy to pay the difference. The manager told us that the hotel was fully booked by an oil company and that we couldn't upgrade. I then explained that I had been online 10 minutes earlier and there were rooms available. She still said we couldn't upgrade and pretty much walked off. I then asked to speak to a second manager who agreed that if the rooms were free online that we should be able to upgrade. Eventually (after about an hour of standing at the front desk) they allowed us to upgrade. By the way there was another couple standing right next to us trying to do the same thing.

The staff were very unhelpful in general - even the bar staff!

We won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate your review regarding your recent stay. Our management team takes all guest feedback seriously and we sincerely apologize for all the difficulties encountered at check in. It is clear from your review that we missed an opportunity to create the experience you had expected of us but hope that one day you will visit us again and we can provide an experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights for business. The lobby was under construction when I was there, but it did not affect my stay regarding noise, etc. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious enough. The breakfast buffet was an excellent value, and comes included in some room rates. The staff with the breakfast buffet was also especially efficient and helpful, and all took the extra mile to offer great service. The gym facilities were nice enough with your typical machines, but were new and well maintained. Room service was decent, food was not spectacular but was edible, and service was friendly. I would stay here again, but other than breakfast, it was an average stay and might look elsewhere depending on price, location, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Houston Marriott Westchase for your recent stay in the area. Providing friendly and efficient service in addition to comfortable accommodations and great amenities are important to us and we truly appreciate your feedback. We hope that on your next trip to Houston you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a high school reunion. The hotel was very nice. We had a very good rate for the nights of the reunion but were shocked when we asked for the rates for an extra day. I guess the price reflects the location. We were disappointed when we tried to change our reservation. The front desk couldn't help us, but they called the nat'l reservation #. Not very personal. We did have trouble during the stay with having spotty hot water available. The bkfst buffet was very nice. We stayed on the back side of the hotel and our room was very nice. The fitness center was well equipped and kept very cool. When the printer didn't work to print out our boarding passes we were allowed to use the printer at the concierge desk. Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quiet - no micro/fridge in room. In room coffee was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are delighted that we could provide you with comfortable accommodations and friendly service during your recent stay for the reunion. Your kind remarks are greatly appreciated; however, we would like to offer our apologies for the trouble you experienced with the hot water. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Houston Marriott Westchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Houston Marriott Westchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Westchase

Address: 2900 Briarpark Dr., Houston, TX 77042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Westchase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 451 hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houston Marriott Westchase 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Houston Marriott Westchase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Westchase Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Marriott Westchase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.