We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rancor Burger? Craft Beer? I think I found Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petrol Station

Petrol Station
985 Wakefield Dr, Houston, TX 77018
(713) 957-2875
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #767 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
HOUSTON
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rancor Burger? Craft Beer? I think I found Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Iowa ain't got nothin' on the Petrol Station! If you want a laid back atmosphere, fantastic food and the biggest selection of quality craft beers then Petrol Station is for you. They've been around for a few years now and ever since we moved into the neighborhood we always make a point to visit. When they're busy, they can take a while to get your food out. But that's only because their kitchen (which was recently expanded by the way) is the size of a walk in closet. The bar can get pretty packed (5, 6 people deep) but it's absolutely worth it. The staff knows their stuff and they are always willing to give a sample of something you've never tried. If you can't find a seat inside (very limited indoor seating), try their back patio, or their front patio, or their side patio. This place has the largest outdoor seating area of anywhere I've visted. Oh, and order the Rancor burger. Trust me, I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Go for the beer, stay for the Rancor Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Petrol Station has a very cool vibe reminiscent of Portland's neighborhood beer joints. I love the fact that several commuter cyclists popped in for a pint, and then rode on. The staff is a bit quirky, like they were brought in from Austin adding to the vibe. The beer selection is great. It's hard to find Dogfish Head on draft in Texas, and I had an excellent snifter of DFH Sah'Tea. The Stone Enjoy By 7/4/13 was a great find too!

Beyond the craft beer, the Rancor burger combines volume with taste- large patty, plentiful thick bacon, at least two cheeses, pickles, lettuce, fresh huge tomato slice, topped with a fried egg. This was the best burger I've had in years.

Service is slow, but who cares! Plan to stay awhile, order your food, and kick back and enjoy some beer while waiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beer, Beer, Beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a great place for the beer connoisseur, with the variety of beers they have on tap, and the great menu of food. This is a go to place for those who want to go outside their comfort zone, and taste something that you can't buy at the grocery store.

I recommend the "Momma's yellow pills"! They also have other light beers that are very tasty.

Cheers!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I like the quiet neighborhood, the outdoor seating, the erratically installed taps, and the high-end bar food. I recommend having a pint of a local Texas beer with the Scotch Eggs and the Pig Newton sandwich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ehh...Don't Agree with the Hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place is ok. Neat neghborhood joint with great beer selections. However the service was very slow and only delivered the food. You had to go inside to order anything and had to search for silverware, condiments, salt, pepper, etc. The food was good but I didn't find it to be anything special. In addition it's very small and most of the seating is outside...which is not fun in the summer.

Neat place to go, but nothing special.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrol Station also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Petrol Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petrol Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.