We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Max & Julie

Brasserie Max & Julie
4315 Montrose, Houston, TX (Neartown/ Montrose)
713-524-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Max & Julie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #436 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Cross street: Richmond
Transit: There is a Metro bus line stop in front of the restaurant.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent place for Sunday brunch.
Located in a picturesque old house, it has both indoor and outdoor sitting.
The menu of French foods has a good variety of dishes. Don't miss the french fires, they are just delicious!
The service is good with friendly waiters.
I would highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    8
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“High French ... good, but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was so looking forward to some excellent high French cooking, and while there was nothing "wrong" with any of the dishes, I was looking for more. My marrow appetizer was a very skimpy portion, and my sweetbread main course was a bit bland for my taste. The high point is the really outstanding crusty French bread they serve.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Steak to Write Home About”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The steak is delicious and you can't beat sitting on the upstairs balcony in the trees with a light breeze! Love the interior decore as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing for brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Despite not many filled tables, our food came out overcooked and under seasoned. We noticed staff and cooks standing around and walking through restaurant so maybe there was a problem? The smoked salmon crepe was very bland despite having capers in it, and the chicken liver omelette was way overcooked, both the livers and the eggs. The space is small but pleasant, with a nice dog-friendly deck in front overlooking the busy street (parking is through the alley behind the restaurant!).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We visited for Restaurant Weeks, and the selections were nicely varied and delicious. Good portion sizes! The waiter was attentive and friendly, professional but not stuffy. Our drink glasses never went below half full. I recommend the Steak Poivre. Heavenly!

    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Max & Julie also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Brasserie Max & Julie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Max & Julie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.