We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious desserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epicure Cafe

Epicure Cafe
2005-C W Gray St, Houston, TX 77019
(713) 520-6174
Improve this listing
Ranked #451 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Family Fare
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have gone here for dessert and left very happy! The Bavarian fruit cake was delightful yet not too sweet. The apple pie left me wanting me. The staff was nice and there is a huge variety of desserts and sweets to choose from. There is also a menu for meals to choose from, but I can't comment on that because I've only had their dessert. If you're looking for a place to satisfy that sweet tooth after some shopping in River Oaks or after a movie at the nearby theater, this is the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“It's cold try the soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you're going to River Oaks theater in winter, this is the place to try SOUP! There are regular offerings like tomato basil and chunky potato but we tried pumpkin--in january. It was chunky in semi transparent broth--yummy! the chicken salad was light and fresh. Raspberry linzer cookies made a nice finish along with great cappuccino!

You order at counter--check out luscious bakery items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“European cafe with American touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Very Europea...Where else in Houston you can eat Burgandy beef or Belgian mussels with a reasonable price? But don't worry even for burger lovers this cozy cafe offers good juicy burgers! By the way great pastry selection. Try it and you won't regret...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

What a find! This up market cafe serves excellent food of a real authentic European nature.
The owner I believe spent quite a period of time living and cooking in Europe. They serve a great selection of fresh sandwiches, simple meals, and have a beautiful range of cakes made from scratch on the premises. We have had a light dinner there before going to a movie next door a couple of times now and each time it has been a delight. Beef Bourgaine and Hungarian Goulash, rich and tasty, and very authentic. Servings are not huge but that is a pleasant surprise.
We have been working our way through his selection of cakes and they have all been great. Real European pastries and cakes! Had the Apple Strudel last time and was very happy when I found that the fresh cream I asked to be served with it was real fresh cream, whipped up on site, not that horrible dairy whip, or areosol can cream! That was a treat for us.
You can also buy wine by the glass and they always have a good selection of quality wines from around the world to select from. Just what the doctor ordered.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“A piece of Europe in Houston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This bistro in River Oaks next to the theater has a European flavor that is rare in this part of the country. It is a great place for a small meal or a coffee or drink. It is popular with locals and visitors alike. You do not have a waiter come to your table to order, you line up and order at the counter in back. They have a somewhat limited menu, but what they offer is of high quality and well prepared. When you order they give you a number and you put that number on your table, like at La Madelaine. I would give it five dots except I prefer full table service. It is a great lunch spot or after movie spot in River Oaks.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epicure Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Epicure Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epicure Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.