We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat eaters will love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nelore Churrascaria Brazilian Steakhouse

Nelore Churrascaria Brazilian Steakhouse
4412 Montrose Blvd, Houston, TX 77006 (Neartown/ Montrose)
(713) 395-1050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nelore Churrascaria Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,417 of 7,287 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Cross street: Richmond Ave
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meat eaters will love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've been to the bigger Brazilian steakhouse, Fogo de Chao, but Nelore is a smaller intimate setting with the same types of meat. It is also a little bit cheaper if you go at lunch. The salad bar is great, just don't fill up on that and save plenty of room for the main course. The waiters are just as attentive as the bigger steakhouses too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Business Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I just entertained for business associates for a Friday lunch. The food was excellent. The service was amazing. The atmosphere decor ambience was everything that needed to be. You definitely need to bring your appetite. The price was not bad for everything that you get. We paid about 26 or 27 dollars per person. I never ate so much meat in my life. But I just couldn't stop eating. But it wasn't just about the meat. The buffet bar had lots of fresh fruits and vegetables an amazing type food

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better than the Big guys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Okay you know the name I mean. They are in every major city. When you think of Brazilian Steakhouses. Now Nelore is better. Why? First off it is smaller and more intimate. Second it is slightly lower in price than the big boy. Third and most important They found a way to keep the flavor without you going out of the restaurant with a SALT overload. Now we who have to watch our salt intake can go here instead. The salad bar is smaller but the salads are incredible. I don't normally eat chicken or crab salads because they are usually all mayonnaise. These dishes are infused with huge pieces of chicken and crab respectively. The soup is great and fresh. The servers are friendly and very helpful. Getting a piece of meat cooked well done if you want it ( I do) is a breeze. Their lunch is even reasonable. $24.95. So catch them on a weekend afternoon and you will get all this for what a normal good restaurant would charge for a plate of food. My favorite was the house special chicken and the chicken sausage. The beef dishes were well prepared as well and the pork choices memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quite enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I really enjoyed this place because I don't know much about different cuts of meat, and this place gave me the opportunity to sample small amounts of different things and then ask for more of the ones I liked. Also, the atmosphere was fairly relaxed and comfortable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

But the price is so high and were it not for their no take home leftovers policy, i wouldve given them a 5.

Its a buffet style restaurant except they bring you different meats as the night progresses and they cut you off a piece and serve it to you.
They have about 19 different meats to try and they are ALL tasty!

The buffet consists of rice, soup, potatoes, beans, salads, and deil type food.
You bring what you want to the table and can eat as much as you want.

Drinks are refillable as well and they have a tasty lemonade cream drink.

They have brazillian desserts and coffee as well. (Not part of the buffet)

But they give you so much food and you cant take any of it home so that is a thumbs down for me.
Especially for the price you pay for the meal.
It was over 100 dollars for just me and my hubby.

I would love to bring my kids but its just too expensive for that.
However for a romantic evening, I might consider going back even if just to try more of their desserts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelore Churrascaria Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Nelore Churrascaria Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelore Churrascaria Brazilian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.