We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostel in nice area!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel to your Saves list
HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
501 Lovett Blvd., Houston, TX 77006 (Formerly Lovett Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostel in nice area!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Helpful staff. I got my own private tour in the hostel when I got there :) breakfast was good, basic and for free. Nice room with own balcony. Area is really nice and one of the safest in Houston with lots of restaurants close by. I really enjoyed my stay there.
A that is a minor thing for improvement is, that maybe the bathrooms ought to be cleaned twice and not once a day as they get dirty quickly, but again, that's a minor thing. I loved staying there :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
7
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located in a Mansion in a ritzy part of Houston. Close by public transit, and bars
Rooms are nicely kept and all bedding provided, HAS A POOL! and some bbqs so you can grill up some good Texas steaks. Overall good value for the price you pay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is just fantastic. The atmosphere is great with people from all around the world (mostly in their 20s). The house is an old Mansion so the building is really beautiful. There´s a great pool area and garden and the staff was really friendly and helpful. For 25 dollars a night you couldn't ask for more!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend the mixed 12 dorm bedroom on the top floor that has a private bathroom (room nr 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Morty Rich Houston HI Hostel rightly deserves accolades. As with all the HI Hostels I've stayed at for 40 years it is exceptionally clean, well maintained, and operated with the traveler's needs at the forefront. It is a quiet hostel on a quiet residential street.

Almost all the rooms at this hostel have their own private bathroom with a sink, toilet, and shower/bathtub.

Of particular note is the hostel grounds. The swimming pool is clean; the back yard is shady as well as sunny.

The staff is superb and helpful. The arranged hostel activities appeared to be interesting and well attended by hostelers.

I did not find a dirty dish in the sink and yet many hostelers cooked their meals in the clean kitchen.

This hostel is located in a neighborhood of homes and small apartment buildings yet only one block away on Westhiemer Road there are many restaurants, taverns, and small shops. Likewise two blocks away on Montrose Road there is large grocery store, drug store, and other small retail stores.

The museum district is just a few blocks away and downtown Houston is more than 2 mi./5 km.

Public transport in this automobile centric city is actually relatively good during the business week and the Hostel is only one or two blocks away from at least 3 different bus lines. It is possible to reach the hostel from both Houston airports, the Amtrak station, and the Intercity bus station using only public transit. However, if you arrive on a weekend or outside of the general 8:00 A. M. to 6:30 P. M. time period you might not have convenient connections between bus lines or the municipal bus may not operate outside of those hours.

Room Tip: A number of rooms on the upper floor have an outside balcony. A nice place to sit. This is a very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Have stayed twice and this is my favourite hostel I've stayed in. It's in a lovely house in a great neighbourhood. Staff are fantastic - so helpful and willing to answer any questions about the area. Rooms are spacious and clean. Wouldn't think to look anywhere else in Houston now!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace D, Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
It's always great to hear guests have had a great experience at our hostel, and even better to hear we're your favorite, of course.

We're excited to see you again the next time you end up in Houston!

-Melissa S.
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Spacious, clean and located in a very nice neighborhood. Staff were very helpful and polite. Garden with pool and hammock and a billiards room were nice bonus's too. Some rooms also have balconies. For a HI hostel the place had quite a lot of character. Definitely a safe bet for staying in Houston.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace D, Guest Relations Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We're glad to have given you a different type of positive experience with a HI network hostel. We hope to see you again, the next time you visit Houston.


-Melissa S.
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

In one sentence: The hostel is bright, spacious, open, clean, good location and well maintained. Recommend 100%.

I generally dislike staying at YHAs, HIs, and avoid them like the plague as they are always boring, clinical, over priced, have to pay membership fee (which is stupid - they lose more money that way), but this HI was definitely the best HI/YHA I've ever stayed in and one of the best hostels I have stayed in. I have stayed and worked in many great hostels, and this really puts them to shame.

Over all, the staff were very good, helpful, polite, friendly and I would rate them 8 or 9 out of 10, but Grace the manager really made my stay. She was extremely welcoming when checking me in, and knew a lot about my home island (very rare for an American to know about it). So I give the staff 10 out of 10 purely because of Grace.

I had a 4 bed dorm, and felt it was definitely the right size for a 4 bed, although they could squeeze in an extra bunk to make it a 5/6 bed dorm, without making it too cramped. The bunks are a good size, and in the 4 bed dorm, very easy to get up and down if you're on the top bunk (my bunk had steps to the bunk - first I've seen in a hostel). Some of the rooms had private balconies as well, which was nice.

I felt very safe and secure in the hostel, and didn't really feel that I had to lock my stuff away. The lockers are also of a generous size.

As it was coming from winter to spring, the trees were starting to blossom, making the trees drop their seeds/leaves (you will know what I mean if you saw them) from their branches all over the place, including the backyard and swimming pool. It was a shame that the pool wasn't cleaned in the 3 days I was there (full of seeds/leaves).

The location overall is very good, it's not the closest hostel to downtown Houston, but it was good enough at a 20 minute walk. A 5 minute walk from the hostel was a supermarket, Wallgreens or a CVS (can't remember which), McDonalds, Burger King, bars, restaurants, shops, etc. The restaurants in the area a bit pricey, and wouldn't recommend them.

The breakfast was simple, but good enough, 2-3 choices of cereal, some jams, and best of all FRESHLY BAKED SCONES!!! Yummm......! They need more scones at breakfast as they all get eaten within 5 minutes of being put out. I also think they could increase the selection of food available in the breakfast, but it is free, plus free fresh scones, so I won't hold that against them.

Some people complain about there not being enough showers or toilets, and I think they could do with an extra shower and toilet (make them separate, so people needing the toilet, don't have to wait for someone to finish their 20 minute shower), but in honesty I never found it a problem, especially if people bothered to listen to the staff when they check you in.

They ACTUALLY show you where there are more showers and toilets downstairs - PAY ATTENTION!!! And I never found waiting for a shower or toilet to be a problem, even when there was a large group of Scotts occupying the hostel for a conference and all of them wanting to use the showers and toilets at the same time.

As I said, I usually dislike YHAs/HIs, because they are boring, over priced, membership fee, etc, this was the opposite. It was expensive to stay there, especially when they add tax, non membership fee of $3 per night (did I mention that was annoying, stupid and one of the reasons I don't stay at YHAs/HIs?), but it was clean, safe, good location, beautiful building, well maintained, by an excellent manager - Grace. Would definitely return, purely because of Grace's management.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Address: 501 Lovett Blvd., Houston, TX 77006 (Formerly Lovett Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best hostel in Houston! HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel is the only hostel to offer 24 check-in, outdoor swimming pool and a full-sized pool table. We also offer free WIFI, computers with free internet access, onsite laundry, free parking, 24 hour access to all common areas and the fully equipped kitchen and an extra special complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:30-10:00am!! HI-Houston is located on a beautiful tree lined boulevard in the diverse and funky neighborhood of Montrose. We are surrounded by some of the most popular restaurants, bars and coffee shops in Houston! We are also conveniently located just 2 blocks away from a 24 hour Walgreens and a 24 hour grocery store. Coming to Houston for a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center. We are 1 block away from #81 & #82 bus lines that will drop you off in front of the convention center. Want to come shopping at the Galleria or get a visa in the Post Oak area, we are located just one block away from the buses that will get you there! HI-Houston is also conveniently located just 1 mile away from the famous Menil Collection and Rothko Chapel and just 2 miles away from Houston's amazing Museum District and Hermann Park! Whether you are coming to Houston to work, play or just relax...HI-Houston is the place for you! Never stayed at a hostel before! Hostels mainly consist of dormitory style rooms, where you will have the opportunity to interact with guests from all over the world. Hostels are a great place to make new friends and save a little money while your traveling. Come and try us out!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.