We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food and interesting presentation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lux Cafe

Grand Lux Cafe
5000 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056
713-626-1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Solid food and interesting presentation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

All was great! Food was tasty and served hot! Will return and try again. Enjoy the variety and depth of food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    98
    26
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been here before for an all-girls outing. We met at the bar until everyone got there and then sat at a booth. Both areas offer drinks/menu. The tapas at the bar is really good! Then our booth seating was GREAT! Enough room for 6 of us..easy. This time i went there for a Sunday brunch with a good girlfriend. Loved it! Great menu, not too pricey. I had a wonderful greek salad. They had a $6 Bellini special but i didn't partake this time around.

Love ambiance. There was a surprise birthday party while we were there, very sweet. I didn't see the servers sing so I don't think they do that. But it was still very sweet to see the birthday girl walk and do a squeal at the sight of her big balloons and friends/family.

Anyway, great spot. If you go on a Sunday, get there around 11 to 11:30a to get a seat. Otherwise you will have a wait on your hands. but it's worth the wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Think own by same chain as Cheesecake Factory - has similar food and prices but opens later which was nice since we got in late. Service friendly and close to hotel

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Ate Here Two Days in a Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

In town on business and decided to try the Grand Lux Cafe. I ordered the Chicken Angeli and was very pleased with the dish. Happened to be back in the area the next day and found myself back there again. That very seldom happens with me, especially in a place like Houston.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pot Roast Cheese Fries - Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants despite the fact that often times there is a wait to be seated and the volume inside is very loud making it difficult to have a conversation without talking really loud, thus adding to the noise. The pot roast cheese fries are amazing, whoever came up with that one is a genius. The simply grilled salmon and the molten chocolate cake are favorites, but everything I have eaten here I really like. If you like the Cheesecake factory you will like this restaurant; I like Gran Lux more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lux Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Grand Lux Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lux Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.