We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mucho Gusto, Marini's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Marini's Empanada House

The Original Marini's Empanada House
10001 Westheimer Rd #2570, Houston, TX 77042 (Westchase)
713.266.2729
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 7,215 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin
Neighborhood: Westchase
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Westchase
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Mucho Gusto, Marini's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have come to Marini's on several occasions. Every time I come, the quality of the food and the level of service is impeccable. First the food. There are a lot of choices on the menu but every empanada is fresh and the filling exquisite. The crust is puffy and a little chewy and combined with the filling it completes a great snack or a meal. I usually get their combo during lunch time, which includes two empanadas, soup and a desert empanada.
I really haven't tried anything else from the restaurant but with so many choices in empanadas I think it will be a while before I order something different. They cater to both vegetarians and carnivores, so come one come all.
Their service is also very good. Mr Marini, the owner, is normally at the Westchase store location and always comes out from the kitchen and greets customers, gives suggestions and makes sure that you have a good visit. This is a true example of a family run small business and I support is whole heartedly.
Overall a great foodie haven and excellent service. What else can you ask for?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    22
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best empanadas in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wide variety of empanadas, salty, sweet, spicy, fried, baked, healty, big, or small. You will always find something to enjoy. I love the mate (Argentinean tea) and the alfajores. Good wines, and little things in the store to buy and take home. Staff is super nice and friendly, trully a family business. The best of all, when Mr Marini is in the house, he is hillarious specially during soccer games (yes they have tvs as well) !!!! Super recommended, I am a regular.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Empanadas cooked to order - all delicious kinds! Even dessert empanadas!
We visited with our three kids - ages 8, 11 and 14 and we ALL loved it!
Try the tortilla soup and the sangria! Delicious!
The service is friendly, patient and helpful and the prices were reasonable. If you are in Houston - visit this place. Yum.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This place is so good. On a cool night like tonight nothis is better than a Tia Maria empanadas. No better place in the city.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Empanada's in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I use to eat at Marini's about 3 times a week for lunch. Then I moved to a different office location and had not been back for about 6 months. Well the food was just as good as I remember if not better. I love the chocolate ones for dessert and my favorite savory is the Tia Maria!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Marini's Empanada House also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Original Marini's Empanada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Marini's Empanada House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.