We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cream was fresh tasting & nice customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hank's Ice Cream Parlor

Hank's Ice Cream Parlor
9291 Main St, Houston, TX 77025-4498
713-665-5103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 7,276 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
dallas, texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ice cream was fresh tasting & nice customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The ice cream was fresh tasting, but the flavor was not strong enough for me, the mango and lemon flavors were weak. I anticipated tasting a strong lemon or mango flavor, since those fruits are quite flavorful and can be quite powerful at times especially the mango when it is ripe. For a half gallon the cost was $12.00, and a small cup was roughly $4.50. The costs were a bit higher than I anticipated for the single servings, so I opted for the half gallon, thankfully someone else in the residence cared for the light lemon flavoring. Of course others may like the flavoring, I am going to sample a few other flavors, and continue searching other ice cream parlors, since Baskin Robbin's lemon custard isn't as flavorful as it once was. ;>)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbiana, Ohio, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Were else to go, but Hank's on a hot day, or even a cold day, yes a rainy day too! We all scream for Hank's ice...cream!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Hanks has a wide array and ever changing menu. The various flavors are always delicious. Never tasted a bad one.

Cons: Don't try to pay with a credit card. Cash only here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Some of the best icecream I have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Wonderful ice cream.. busy so it tells you it is good

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best homemade ice cream around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Hands down, Hank's has the best ice cream around. Fresh and homemade. You can even taste how homemade it is. Not too rich. Hank had just passed away when we were there so you could sense the sense of loss they were feeling. The store is older and could use a re-do but all in all a truly authentic place. Can't wait to go again!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hank's Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank's Ice Cream Parlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.