We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Greenway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Greenway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Greenway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2929 Southwest Freeway (US 59), Houston, TX 77098 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #406 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you like hairy bed sheets, cockroaches, bed bugs, terrible service, an almost abandoned building, bad smell everywhere and all of the terrible things you can find at a hotel, then stay here, because that is what you´ll find in this hotel. I had no choice but to stay here. Plan ahead and STAY AWAY as far as possible from this place. Simply the worst hotel I have stayed in Houston so far.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    4
    1
    29
See reviews for
7
3
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I will begin at the very beginning. When we pulled up I ran in to get checked in. I asked where to park and the attendant said "It's safer up front, park under a light." That should have been my first clue! The smell in the lobby was not appealing. What I didn't realize is that the floor we were on would smell much much worse. It was a mixture of bug spay and stale cigarette smoke. We arrived in our room and it smelled like I just walked into a bar, a mixture of stale cigarettes and B.O. It was so bad we opened the patio door. Immediately I noticed a roach next to my best friend that had just locked the front door. Within seconds of entering I had to kill a roach!!!! Then I saw the bathroom. The mirrors, tub, sink, and floors were filthy, nothing was clean! I posted pictures of the horrible conditions. I immediately called the front desk and received a refund. Needless to say we found a much better place to stay that night for the same price. This place should be condemned.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed. The common areas and even the rooms smell of strong chemical disinfectants. The halls are scary. The rooms and bathrooms are dirty. The elevators creak and stink. The location is convenient, but the noise from the freeways is constant day and night. No ice machine in the entire hotel works. I entirely agree with another reviewer: "This place stinks like 60 year old mildew warmed over with cigarette smoke."

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

this place stinks like 60 year old mildew warmed over with cigarette smoke. i was scared the whole time i was there; could not sleep. heard screaming foul language throughout the night. the only thing i didn't see was the yellow crime tape. the pictures on this website are misleading. doors feel like they are made out of balsa wood. bed was disgusting. bathroom was nasty. i should have paid attention to the reviews. i made the awful mistake of bringing my family here. never again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

if you don't know were to stay and want really cheap nice place, try Greenway Inn hotel, 2929 southwest fwy, houston texas 77098. 500 USD a month for a single room (you even can share room with others and save more if you want), amazing for the price, have Wireless internet, bedroom with king size bed, TV, table, chairs, kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stove, and bathroom. you clean your room by yourself as monthly rating has no house keeping. they also supply towels, tissues, iron, ironing board, cleaning stuff/ also have a washing machines and dryers for 1 USD each/one use. very near to food store (5 minutes walk) like kroger and HEB ( really excellent prices for food) and also near to texas medical center, just 10 minutes by bus 73. I know that it is far from both IAH airport and CS center, but supershuttle can pick you up to/from hotel for 25 USD or use bus but the journey is about 1.5 hour. then only problem is that a lot of Indians there and they have a big Qs about hygiene, so you will find some cockroaches visiting you from time to time, bring the paste of roaches, Raid and just keep your room clean and you won't get them anymore. but the good thing is the Indians here are preparing for USMLE CS exam, so you can easily find a study partner.
I attached a file with review of all hotels around TMC, the best rate was this hotel.
if your budget is limited, go for it and contact them at this number 7135286161, ask for Steve.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wear a mask and sleep in your clothes
Better yet leave--go somewhere else for your health
Truly despicable

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Awful place. Everything is covered with a layer of dust, grime and scum emulsion. Claims to be non-smoking, but cigarette odor is omnipresent. Bath has no ventilation. Tub was disgusting. Toilet had a "Sanitized" strip across it, but was not cleaned - had fresh stains. Bars on the balcony's railing spaced far enough for a two year old to experience free flight. Nothing in this place was above terrible.

This review comes from checking the other reviews.

Room Tip: Do not book there. Do not even drive by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenway Inn & Suites

Address: 2929 Southwest Freeway (US 59), Houston, TX 77098
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Greenway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Inn And Suites
Greenway Hotel Houston
Best Western Houston
Best Western Greenway Hotel
Houston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.