We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, some nice touches.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #82 of 456 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Natchitoches LA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel, some nice touches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Your standard in-the-city high rise Marriot, but some extras. Pros: Every single employee was exceptionally pleasant, plenty of 'good mornings' and smiles. Check in and check out was speedy, friendly and efficient. Good check-in cookies. Room was fairly standard, but with some nice extra touches. Well furnished, comfortable, quiet, good tv, very good internet. The real highlight was the breakfast buffet, which was surprisingly good. This wasn't your usual hotel buffet--it had well above average choices in every category. Table service (juice, coffee, etc.) was friendly and efficient. Pool was clean but too cold to use.

Cons: The odd thing here was the location, which while only a couple of short blocks from the Galleria, was down a sort of alley behind a strip shopping center, and to the side of another hotel. We would never have found it without GPS. The other (minor) problem was that only one elevator was working, so the wait was a little too long at times.

Bottom line: This is a reasonably-priced, clean and comfortable place to stay in a great location. It is going to be my new place to stay when I have to be in Houston.

Room Tip: There are a lot of internet specials for this hotel. Shop around a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We pride ourselves on treating each guest as if they were an extension of our family so I am pleased to hear we were able to do just that. Unfortunately you are correct on our location. Many people miss our signs without their GPS to guide them. On the bright side, our elevators are all up and running now! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    91
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
30
34
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located right in what feels like the corporate heart of Houston, Texas. Still it manages to be very close to great shopping and wonderful food. The hotel itself looks quite dull from the outside but the rooms are spacious and nice. There is wifi everywhere and good storage. The bathrooms are a bit old but still clean and ok.

Big plus for the staff! They were all super helpful and very nice! It is a shame that the hotel doesn't provide a proper breakfast area but with Starbucks coffe and wonderful bagels and yoghurt parfaits you can't help but feel ok anyway.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased that our staff were extremely nice and treated you with respect. I'm also pleased the you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very pleasant stay. Started off with friendly reception at the reception desk. Roomy bedroom with cute stuffed rabbit made of towels. Cool airconditioning that promoted sleep despite extremely hot weather in Houston in May. Clean bathroom. Coffee maker. Efficiency kitchen. Covered parking with no additional cost. Full breakfast buffet self-serve style. Free internet. In spite of my well-behaved teens and children remarkable quiet. Next to Galleria which has numerous restaurants and great shopping. Very pleasant stay due to comfortable lodging.

Room Tip: I had an end room close to the front gate so I could get out into the street traffic quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am thrilled that you found us to be clean and friendly. We loved having you as our guest! Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I strongly reccomend this hotel.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and has a good space. The bed is very cozy and comfortable. The bathroom is also good.

I didn't have the opportunity to eat the breakfast but it seems delicious!!! (not included on room rate).

The hotel is very close to the Galleria Shopping (5 minutes walk) and also to the Water Wall (10 minutes walk).

You just need to be careful because the entrance of the hotel is a little hide.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We value your feedback! I shared your kind notes with our staff. We are excited that you enjoyed your time here! Make sure to enjoy breakfast the next time you are staying with us because you were right, it is delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The welcome was outstanding and I am a demanding and cranky traveller. Room perfect for business weekend. Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner very very much appreciated. Internet completely issueless which is a huge bonus for business travel. I am Canadian and need seriously cold beer, the after hours fridge behind the front desk was perfect after a long hard trip to Galveston. Breakfast outstanding..the breakfast lady is a star..how can anyone be that consistantly caring and kind day after day....she even remembers people. We were late one day and she set up in the business lounge (like seriously) when were late anywhere else its always , sorry your late, and not even a coffee. The kindness , professionalism and demeanour of the staff was outstanding, not your ordinary yes sir no sir the staff are really proud of their hotel, it makes a difference. The heat in Houston is brutal and exhausting the staff take good care of you and their business travellers. (I watched) .
Parking lot and entrance felt safe. Lots of pillows , nice sheets, good reading lamps, good big desk and sofa chair.
Spent allot of time in the bath and shower due to the heart and the great Paul Mitchell sage and citron soap was appreciated.
All in all a return trip would definitly have us staying again. Thank you Courtyard from a demanding and jaded traveller............Texas hospitality at its best!!!!!

Room Tip: not near the drinks machines they were quite loud but it did not effect our room. ask for soft pill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay at our Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria! As a team we focus on making each guest feel welcomed and at home. I'm so pleased to hear that we completely exceeded your expections! We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is just what we wanted for a weekend stay in Houston. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are well kept and good size room. I didn't like the pillows. I found them to be hard and an odd size. The AC works really well, small refrigerator, coffee pot, hair dryer, ironing board, desk with Internet. Cooked to order weekend breakfast. Adequate indoor heated pool , hot tube, and exercise room. Internet in the lobby. Parking Garage.Walking distance to the Galleria. Short drive to theaters and museums.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at our hotel! I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel! In the future we do have additional foam and feather pillows per request if you are not happy with the ones in your room! We want to ensure you get a good night’s rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For leisure travelers looking to spend time at The Galleria, this is perfect. Just a block's walk down the street and I'm walking up the steps into Macy's. It's true that this is the "older" style Courtyard but I found it to be perfectly well kept. The room was large, comfortable and very clean. The room had a mini-fridge, coffee and tea maker, extra linens and blankets, hair dryer, Paul Mitchell bath amenities, free high speed internet, sofa, work desk and spacious bathroom and vanity. Service was great too - front office and housekeeping were especially courteous. The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is because of the self parking charge. I think it was $16 which seemed a little outrageous and more like a valet charge ($10/day would be more reasonable).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria. I’m extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and amenities and found our service to be great! We look forward to impressing you even more on your next trip to the Galleria area and earning those 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria

Address: 2900 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Houston
#64 Business Hotel in Houston
#74 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Houston Galleria hotel is a unique fifteen-story, high-rise just steps away from the Houston Galleria Mall. A stand-out among Houston Galleria hotels for our guest service scores and international amenities include a bi-lingual staff and custom menu items. Enjoy a reasonably-priced breakfast each morning at the onsite Courtyard Cafe and don't forget to come back and enjoy our Lounge each evening (5-10pm) offering a full bar and menu. All guest rooms feature a mini-fridge and a new 32" flat-screen TV; select rooms offer high-floor views and microwaves. Our green-friendly event space and services truly set us apart from other Houston Galleria hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Galleria
Houston Courtyard
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.