We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet stay in Houston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZaZa Houston

Save Saved
You added Hotel ZaZa Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ZaZa Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Main Street, Houston, TX 77005   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 451 Hotels in Houston
Dallas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sweet stay in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

This is my first time as a guest of Hotel ZaZa. The staff is friendly and professional at this pleasant boutique hotel near Rice University. The design is very progressive and extremely interesting. Pop art and fashion design are at home here. The property is definitely a sweet stay with fun space, ample room amenities and talented staff. Add it to you priority list of places to spend the night and enjoy a fun sleep-over.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, General Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for the excellent feedback! I am happy to read that your first ZaZa stay was a pleasant experience! With summer around the corner, ZaZa Houston has a lot of coolio experiences to offer! Take a dip in the ZaZa pool, indulge at ZaSpa, or dine in the fabulous Monarch Restaurant; whatever "sweet" escape you desire...stay ZaZa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    189
    59
    50
    29
See reviews for
108
320
64
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Ultra-hip, ultra-cool. And full of I hate to say it, jerks. Think spring break in Vegas and you'll have a good idea.

Great location!! Seemed like hotel catered to club crowd. Bed was super comfy, check in was a breeze! Nice and quiet, great pool!! Room was very clean and included a turn-down service. Parking is valet only and pricey!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, General Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
ULTRA-AWESOME! I am glad you enjoyed the comforts of the hotel! Please let me know when your travels return you to Dallas, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were booked in to the Zaza prior to a wedding.
The location,room and general ambience were excellent and the staff were well trained and friendly.
Our room was on the 5th. floor and the view from the balcony was great.
We had one dinner and two breakfasts in the dining room. The breakfasts were very good but dinner was a little disappointing in that the service was slow and the main course was cold.
The wine however was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for the candid feedback! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your room and the view! I do apologize for the less than satisfactory service you received at dinner; that is definitely not the ZaZa standard! Please contact me regarding your experience at the hotel, as I would like to receive more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Goth decor, lush window coverings, wan fashion models: this is a trendy spot, the sort of hotel where the vampires in "True Blood" might stay. It is a nice alternative to the corporate hallways replicated in every Sheraton, Hilton, etc.

I was impressed with the service. I forgot my Ipad charger and the staff went of its way to get me one. And if they didn't find one, they were ready to shuttle me to an electronics store.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic feedback! I am happy to read that you found ZaZa Houston to be a "refreshing alternative" with superb service. Love it! Please let me know when your travels return you to H-town, as I would love to create another signature ZaZa experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous stay at the ZaZa. Great funky hotel in good location. Lovely pool area with cool vibe at the weekends. We booked a standard room, which wasn't huge but was certainly well decorated and very comfortable. Excellent staff, special thanks to Spencer for taking care of us. This is what a hotel should be!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Fabulous stay! Love it! The pool area is definitely a fantastic spot for unwinding or having a blast. I will make sure Spencer of the Monarch Restaurant is commended for his stellar service to you during your stay at ZaZa Houston! Please let me know when your travels return you to good ol' H-town in the US of A, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Loved it. Completely wonderful from beginning to end. Loved every minute of the experience.

Room Tip: Get a balcony suite. The views are AMAZING!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
WOW! I am happy to read that your ZaZa experience was wonderful from start to completion, and that you enjoyed every minute of your stay! The balcony suites are definitely one of the many gems of ZaZa Houston. Please let me know when your travels return you to Houston, as i would love to create another signature ZaZa experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a stay at Hotel ZaZa Houston, where we were attending an event at Rice University. As it turned out, ZaZa was perfectly located for us, being less than a mile from the university. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood (known as the Museum District) and the Museum of Fine Arts is right across the street from the hotel.

The hotel is stylishly decorated and very nicely appointed. Our room (balcony double) was large and well maintained. There is a beautiful pool area on the second floor which has cabanas, bar and food service, and ample seating areas for relaxing and socializing aside from the standard pool loungers. The spa is also located on this floor of the Hotel, but I cannot comment on the services there as I could not get an available appointment that fit into our schedule.

The food at the Monarch (the hotel restaurant) was very good, however our waiter at dinner was the only hotel employee we came across with a sub-par, dismissive attitude. We ordered room service breakfast twice. The first time the meal was made and delivered perfectly to our specifications. The second breakfast was not up to par, but every reasonable effort was made to correct the issues promptly. When I brought the errors to the attention of management we were issued a credit for the meal without hesitation.

Aside from the aforementioned surly waiter, all ZaZa staff members were extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Main Street side of the hotel can get a bit noisy if there is an event going on at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ZaZa Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Houston

Address: 5701 Main Street, Houston, TX 77005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 451 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Houston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel including restaurants, pool, fitness center, spa & spa cafe with a pet friendly policy located in downtown Houston. Known for their sophisticated service and modern interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ZaZa Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.