We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Rice University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZaZa Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ZaZa Houston to your Saves list
Hotel ZaZa Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Main Street, Houston, TX 77005   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast/Valet/Cocktails
Ranked #11 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Convenient to Rice University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I visited Rice University to recruit at the career fair. The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the central campus. The decor was very modern and the room was comfortable and clean. I didn't get a chance to check out the pool but my colleagues who stayed there as well said it was very nice. I had a little trouble finding a cup of coffee at 6:30 am, but the restaurant staff very helpfully fetched me a cup. The price was reasonable, but I wasn't happy about spending $23 a night for valet parking. If I went again I would look for a cheaper off-site parking option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    194
    63
    50
    29
See reviews for
115
337
70
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We ventured into Houston due to a missed flight connection and chose Zaza for the boutique quality and proximity to the airport (still at $50 cab ride away however). We didn't stay for longer than a night, but were able to explore the property and restaurant in the short time we were there.

The decor of both the hotel areas and room were dark, sexy and fun. The bed in our petit queen was definitely a double bed, very small and measly. That said, the room was clean and comfortable and still retained some of the fun and sexy elements seen throughout the other areas of the hotel... perfectly fine for a quick overnight stay. The pillows were also quite luxurious, as were the bathrobes.

The pool left much to be desired, and the property from the outside was quite dire looking. That said, the gym was an impressive size and the restaurant dinner we had there was quite delicious (we ordered beef).

The biggest disappointment was the service. The woman at check in was not very welcoming and seemed to question the rate we received when we provided her the booking information and confirmation number. I would even venture to say she was a bit argumentative about the booking rate. We didn't receive a warm and welcoming vibe from her at all.

The other failure of this place came from the concierge on duty that night. We asked him to make a reservation for dinner at a specific restaurant and call the hotel shuttle (which is complimentary) for a specific time and that we would come back down shortly to be picked up. 15 minutes later, we came back down and sat for a while, chatted with him a bit, and then another 15 minutes after we had been waiting in the lobby he then tells us that the restaurant is closed and we can't eat there. How inept do you have to be not to mention this when we first come down? Instead he let us wait 15 minutes and then tells us? He wasn't very knowledgeable about other options and really he turned out to be completely useless. Very disappointing.

Service was pretty poor, room was fine. I reckon this is a good place to stay for a business trip, but not for a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel was wonderful, staff helpful, the pool was great for relaxing and having a few cocktails.
One bad point, there is a strange smell in the lobby of the hotel.
Valet was quick and attentive, hotel bar is excellent and food is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We celebrated our daughter's 16th birthday at ZaZa's Conspiracy Room. From Kristina (Senior Manager) to Sergio and the rest of the Catering and Banquet staff, our experience was fabulous. My daughter fell in love with the decor from the moment we walked into the hotel and had our first walk-through of the Conspiracy room; and was thrilled to know of the red carpet experience she would enjoy on her special night. Needless to say, her friends also loved the ambience, the great food and the entire hotel experience.
The general hotel staff were equally as friendly and accommodating. We spent the night at ZaZa's after the birthday party, and, the reviews were right: stylish and modern rooms with beds that swallow you up while you zzzzzzzaaazzzzaaa into the abyss of sleep heaven.
If you are looking for a trendy, yet sophisicated, all inclusive venue downtown Houston for a birthday party, rehearsal dinner or a reception for 75 people or less, I definitely recommend Hotel ZaZa's Conspiracy Room.
Thank you Kristina, Sergio, Hector and the entire Banquet and Catering staff for helping my daughter enjoy a wonderful and memorial night!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverlake
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

ZaZa was formerly the Warwick a grand old place. Due to this rooms are smallish but nicely done. Our room overlooked the pool; it was a nice view - see if you can request one when you book. We were there for a memorial service and ZaZa is there for nightlife. It was full of weddings. Actually nice to be around a happy atmosphere. They ran out of cream on our floor early on in the free coffee service and never replenished. The other thing is it would be nice if they had a second bar in the evening so that guests that don't want to be at the Monarch night club would have an option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel ZaZa is in the heart of Houston's Museum District. The location is AMAZING, parking on the street is scarce, so be prepared to valet. The valet service was also AMAZING - quick and efficient - very pleasant staff. It offers a "hip" nightlife scene and a rocking "loud" pool scene - we were on the 5th floor and an afternoon nap was not an option - the room was clean huge and very trendy. The hotel is also dog friendly - a plus. Walking fido in the a.m. around Hermann Park was a great treat. For the young (and not so young), fit and fashionable - this is a place to see, stay and be seen. Weddings and receptions were ongoing the entire weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Zaza Hotel, Houston, Texas. The place is so cozy and the staff are super friendly. The place makes you feel close to home. Very clean. The decor is so classy. Very presentable and will highly recommend to family and freinds.

Room Tip: Try to see if they have your company discounted rate. Most of the time, it also applies to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ZaZa Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Houston

Address: 5701 Main Street, Houston, TX 77005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel including restaurants, pool, fitness center, spa & spa cafe with a pet friendly policy located in downtown Houston. Known for their sophisticated service and modern interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ZaZa Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.