We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Grand hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granduca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granduca to your Saves list
Hotel Granduca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1080 Uptown Park Boulevard, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very Grand hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a smaller suite, but were upgraded to a huge space with a full kitchen, seating area, bar and balcony. The separate bedroom had the largest walk in closet I've ever seen in a hotel and a deluxe large bathroom. Thanks for an amazing stay and for impressing the heck out of my mother when she visited the room. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for being our guest at Granduca. We are so thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Have a great Summer!

Best regards

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    44
    8
    14
    14
See reviews for
43
87
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in a suite at Hotel Granduca and were very disappointed. While a nice hotel, not even close to being a five star property. The accomodations were average, the showerhead was covered in lime, the drain was slow, the carpet was worn, the food service staff were slow, and the hallways are tile making them very noisy. If you're used to Motel6 (as it seems some of the other reviewers are) then you will like this hotel. But if you are used to 4 and 5 star hotels, this one will come up short.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Granduca. I am so sorry you felt as though we did not match up to your expectations, perhaps another time. I appreciate you taking time to let us know
your thoughts.

Best regards

Mary Grace Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for an entire week. Everything was just perfect! We loved the suite! The pool, while not large, was just the right size with plenty of chairs and towels. The food from the pool grill was very tasty. This hotel does not miss anything and the staff was very accomadating and friendly.

Room Tip: Join the Leader's Club and you will get special gifts and discounted prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Granduca. We are so thrilled to know you enjoyed the pool as well as the Bar and Grill poolside. Next time save room to enjoy our Sunday Brunch...it is amazing!

See you again soon.


Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fact: The Granduca is pricier than most Houston hotels. But you won't regret a cent of it and you won't feel gouged.

The staff is dedicated to making the Granduca a perfectly relaxing oasis in the heart of one of the most desirable locations in town. No detail is overlooked. Sure, the rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The pool is a perfectly manured tropical resort.

But the beauty of this place is in the details. From the delicious coffee and fruit water served gratis all day to the staff that sees to your every need, there are dozens of extraordinary niceties. They all add up to something exceptional.

I've stopped thinking of the Granduca as a hotel. Now, I consider it a destination unto itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for being our guest in Houston recently. We are so happy you enjoyed all that Granduca has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Have a great Summer!

Best Regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What wonderful staff and great rooms. The staff made us feel very welcome. We were somewhat worried to have our children there as this hotel is on the glitzy side, however they welcomed them and we never felt our children were in the way. The rooms are very big and pool is wonderful. It's so tranquil u would never know ur in Houston

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We are so delighted you enjoyed being with us. It was our sincere pleasure to welcome you to our little oasis in the heart of our great city. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Best Regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Came for a weekend getaway. This is a nice hotel in West Houston (Uptown area). The lobby and public spaces were small enough to feel like a boutique hotel. All staff was excellent and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and looked new. My room was a suite with a fridge, microwave and even a dishwasher. Surprisingly used all 3! Enjoyed my stay here, very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am so dleighted you enjoyed our oasis in the heart of our great city. We look forward to your return; next visit save time for Sunday Brunch it is simply amazing!

See you again soon.

Thank you again for being our guest!

Very Sincerely,

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed the weekend in Houston's new luxurious hotel, that's big on service and amenities. Hotel Manager surprised us with an upgrade to their elegant 3-bedroom Executive Suite. The super-friendly Concierge guys provided limo service for our party to and from dinner during a thunderstorm. Cozy bar serving delicious and intriguing appetizers made for a romantic hour or two before retiring. Beautiful pool and 4-star Ristorante Cavour made for a memorable mini-Italian get-away in Texas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We so appreciate your incredible pictures through a rain sprinkled lens, very cool! It is really nice to know we made a rainy day a memorable one for you and your group. We are so thrilled you enjoyed our bar and Ristorante Cavour as well as our luxurious pool and garden area. You must come back during the summer to enjoy more of what Houston and the Uptown Galleria area is all about!

Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granduca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granduca

Address: 1080 Uptown Park Boulevard, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#38 Business Hotel in Houston
#39 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Granduca 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be transported to old-world Italy when visiting Hotel Granduca, Houston's extraordinary new hotel in the Uptown/Galleria area. Created by Giorgio Borlenghi, this hidden gem offers impeccable service in a private, intimate setting. 122 Elegantly furnished suites with fully equipped kitchens give you all the comforts, amenities and privacy of a real home. Most suites have a living room with dining area, a separate bedroom with walk-in closet and a spacious bathroom. Enjoy the beautiful courtyard and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granduca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granduca Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granduca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.