We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but one problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas & Go!
Ranked #20 of 451 hotels in Houston
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but one problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

If you are staying at this hotel over any weekend please ask for a room that is facing NORTH.
My room was facing SOUTH towards the Marriott Courtyard. On Thursday night everything was fine and I had a great night sleep. On Friday night the nightclub next door opened up and I had to listen to the 'THUMP' 'THUMP' until exactly 2 a.m.
Otherwise I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    81
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
83
18
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dianesenteney@aol.com
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel along with another couple and their adult children when we attended the Texan Bowl football game. Being University of Illinois fans, the hotel staff were gracious considering Illinois played Baylor University which is located in Waco, TX.

Our room was on the street side of the hotel which is a very busy street. The room was very quiet and we heard no street noise in our room. The room was very clean and well maintained. The bed was excellent.

The Galleria shopping mall is about 1 block away. It is a very large shopping center with several restaurants and a food court.

The hotel is extremely well managed, has very helpful staff and is extremely clean. The manager and his supervisors were observed frequently in the lobby and eating area taking action themselves as well as directing other staff members to assist guests and keeping those areas clean. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Houston. This was our second stay at this hotel. We returned there based on our very positive experience during our previous stay.

The parking garage is convenient and is gated. We felt completely safe going to and from our vehicle. We recognize that hotel parking presents opportunities for criminals to vandalize vehicles and hotels can only do so much to prevent this criminal behavior. It is opined this hotel has done what is reasonable to keep our vehicle safe. I know of no hotel that will be responsible for theft from a vehicle parked in their parking lot or garage.

My thanks to the hotel management and staff for allowing us to enjoy our stay at the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a top managed hotel award. We spend several nights a year in hotels and this hotel is at the top for management, helpful staff and being clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupSalesGuru, Manager at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Homewood Suites Galleria. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico, df
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed 5 nights for New Years Eve in the Homewood Suites by Hilton near the Galleria. We were 5 in one suite and we fit really comfortable. We had 2 rooms with 2 bathrooms and a living room with one sofa bed. Also you have a kitchenette in the room with refrigerator, toaster and cutlery, that you can use if you can’t catch the cheap but fair breakfast or the light dinner that they offer for free, with the always funny and kind Mr. Evaristo looking the way to make you fell comfortable.
The location couldn’t be better. Walking distance to the Galleria, really easy way to take the highways and lots of restaurants around.
I would definitely say there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Larger & Comfortable Rooms with luxurious furnishing. The hotel has a small pool one can go to for cooling off. However, the hotel has nothing much to offer by way of food and you may have to go out to eat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed at this property for two nights and enjoyed its location and the large suite. The hotel is within walking distance of the Galleria and other shops. The area is busy, but once in the room, it was quiet. The lobby was clean and the breakfast area was inviting and the food selection was the average items (wafflles, cereal, fruit, sausage/bacon. eggs, and pasteries) The suite was spacious and adequately furnished, but the televisions were outdated (not flat screen). There is a parking structure at the hotel, but it costs $10 per day to park. (I think parking should be free, especially when you pay almost $100 per night). Although the hotel was relatively clean, the drapery was dusty and the comforter had a spot that looked like ink. Overall, the hotel was a good selection due to its location and quietness.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I've stayed at the Homewood Suites by Hilton in the Galleria area for 8 days in September 2010. Overall is a great hotel! Very, and i mean VERY clean, and that is the most important thing to me.

I stayed at a One Bedroom King suite, room 1302 and it is really Big! i had, a small kitchen, a big refrigerator, a living room with sofa bed and the beedrom of course with a bathroom.

Very nice view from the 13th floor looking at the Galleria mall, which by the way is whithin walking distance, you just have to cross the street.

With a very few minor details this could be my favorite hotel in Houston like:

* No wireless internet conection ( i had free wired internet, but it is very annoying because you cant move anywhere in your suite other than the table at the kitchen )... come on Homewood suites! even super 8 has a wireless internet! and by the way, a little faster internet conection would be great too, because the maximum speed i got was like 120KBs ... thats too slow in my opinion.

* 10 dlls per night, if you want to park at this hotel, you have to pay this fee (in my opinion, should be free and for guests only)

* Big old CRT TVs... once again, even super 8s has LCD tvs now a days (anyway i didnt watch Tv)

And thats it, only this 3 complians, everything else was superb! i really like the free hot breakfast every morning. Also i got the USA newspaper at my door everyday, the recepcionists at the front desk always gave me a smile everytime i walk by the lobby. And i want to make an special mention, to the nice lady at the breakfast area, she was very very nice and every time i asked for something she go inside the kitchen and bring me what i asked for, ...she was vey kind, and also, she speak spanish like me, that was a big plus for me :)

I really recommend this hotel, whether you are a solo traveler, or with a family, THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO BE when in Houston, Tx, because is really located in the center of all the action, rigth just in front of the Galleria mall.

Hope i will visit again this hotel by the end of this year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

A clean room with nice amenities. Small kitchen. Quiet. A nice pool. A very basic buffet breakfast, both hot and cold. Parking garage is attached to the hotel. Friendly staff. Galleria mall is a block away with lots of restaurant choices and stores. Hotel is only a couple of years old and in good condition. It is everything you could ask for in a souless formula chain hotel, which is to say it gets the job done for the business traveler. The embassy suites is across the street and is much the same but has a nicer lobby. The area around the hotel is parking lots and concrete. No green space in sight. There are probably a hundred hotels in the Galleria area, the Omni riverway hotel remains my favorite, it is in a park like setting away from the hubbub and it has a more luxurious feeling.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria

Address: 2950 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the heart of the Galleria and provides luxurious accommodations for weekend travelers and long term visitors. The Houston Galleria Mall is only steps from our front door and boasts three buildings, three stories each of world class shopping, casual dining, and indoor ice-skating rink. The Galleria area is also home to world renowned dinning and night life. These amenities combine to create a year round destination for family vacations, romantic getaways, shopping excursions, or sight-seeing with friends.We are an all-suite hotel providing separate living, kitchen, and bedroom areas for all of our rooms. All of our rooms are furnished with stove tops, microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, kitchen supplies and pull out sofas. We offer one-bedroom or studio suites to accommodate all room preferences. The suites also provided a separate vanity area from the bathroom to provide convince for families and couples.Homewood Suites is pleased to offer a rotating hot breakfast buffet each morning to our guest as well as "Dinner and Drinks" Monday through Thursday evening. Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool, fitness facility, BBQ area, and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Homewood Houston
Houston Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.