We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning Traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3201 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #57 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NewYork, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Returning Traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

It is not a 5 star hotel, but is very good at what it is supposed to be. The staff is very helpful, I cannot comment on things I do not use such as the restaurant. The hotel could upgrade the television menu. The location is good and I have chose this hotel even though there is a lot of competition in the immediate area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Timothy,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that our team was able to help you with all of your needs while in town. We do hear frequently that we are the perfect location and am happy to hear that from you as well. We will definitely look at our channel offering as compared to those around us and make any changes that could enhance our guests experience. Thank you once again for taking time to leave your comments.

Warmest regards,
Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    108
    36
    7
    14
See reviews for
95
38
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Colombia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Good location but paid too much for the services offered. The rate did not include breakfast, USD 250 for a room not including breakfast is too much. I would gladly go to this for a rate close the the 150 range including breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Diego,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very happy that the hotel was conveniently located to all that you needed. It is true, we are in the perfect location for business, shopping, or easy communiting to other areas of the city.

Warmest regards,

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Typical HGI, but needs work. Furniture is visibly marked and scraped, beds are not the usual level of comfort. The room is clean and the bathroom is up to date. Good location, $10 for parking. Restaurant (breakfast) good quality and efficient. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Its good but not up to the price paid for the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear 2millionandcounting,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are very happy that you found our staff very friendly and helpful. I am excited to share with you that we do have a renovation planned for the hotel. This will definitely be an exciting way to start 2015.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed here because I wanted to be near the Houston Galleria, but the hotels attached to the Galleria were crazy expensive ($300-$375 a night for the nights I wanted). I stayed in a regular room for $199/night, which seems high until you consider that it's an expensive neighborhood altogether.

Breakfast was fine, and it was $10 for the buffet, which was probably better than any of the surrounding hotels would have charged. Room service was fast for dinner/snacks, and they don't seem to jack up their food prices for room service - a huge piece of chocolate cake was $7, delivered (yeah, still have to pay tax, but still ...).

Staff was friendly, room was clean, TV was huge. Room wasn't huge, but it wasn't crazy small, either. I can't imagine any of the fancy hotels in the area had microwaves or fridges in their rooms for free (or at all). They actually had ceramic coffee cups in the room, which was nice.

Parking was free, and although the parking garage had two floors, we were always able to park on the first floor, from which it was just a few feet into the back entrance to the hotel. The hotel is small, so it doesn't take long to walk from anywhere in the hotel to anywhere else.

The only thing I have to kvetch about is that there needs to be a stop sign installed at the bottom of the ramp coming down from the second floor of the parking garage at the point where it meets the entrance into the parking garage from the outside. Driving either into the garage or turning left off that ramp are both a leap of faith, because the two directions can't see each other, and that's dangerous. A stop sign could at least reduce the speed of the collision if there is one. Might not be bad to install mirrors too, so the two directions could see each other.

I've never stayed at this chain before, but I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Lava Lamp Junkie,

We were excited to see your review of our hotel. It was great to read that you had a good stay and you found our team friendly and our rooms clean and well appointed. We look forward to hosting you on your next stay in Houston.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with quality staff in a good location. However the external air-conditioner on the ground floor roof was very noisy and even several floors above - I was in RM 314, it required ear plugs to sleep well at night. This problem must be well known to the operator and you should check before you go to bed that this noise is not intrusive in the room that you are assigned. Be particulalry careful to turn off the room ac unit so that you can hear any intrusion from outside. Hilton should deal with this asap either by replacement of shrouding or acoustic window treatments as it spoils an otherwise excellent experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Richard L,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you found the hotel and staff excellent. I also appreciate you letting us know about your experience with the noise from the a/c unit. Information both good and bad helps us to make sure that each and every guest has a great stay at our hotel. We will definitely look into this issue to correct it for future stays.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Happy Hour was not a good experience- Appetizers were awful. Chips stale, salsa no taste, pepper poppers cold and overcooked. Breakfast buffet okay, did not like that the tip was pre-calculated for 20% for a table of 3. It was a BUFFET not prime service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Deborah M,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns with your food and beverage experience. We have been in the process of evaluating our "happy hour" snacks over the past several weeks and we agree that these items are not up to standard. The hotel has revamped our offerings to make sure we are providing the best products to our guests. In response to the concerns with the gratuity, we will investigate this practice to make sure that we are providing the best possible service and experience to our guests.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Jenni at the front-desk went above and beyond the call of duty when I recently had to cancel my reservation and switch to a hotel in far south Houston. As I waited there at the front desk, she called several hotels to find one with a vacancy, made the switch for me, and gave me the address and phone. Much appreciated help at the end of a long day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Jon B,

We sincerely thank you for taking the opportunity to recognize Jenni for providing great service. It is great to hear that she was able to take care of you and help get you a room in the area of town that was more convenient for your business. We look forward to having the opportunity to service you when your travels take you back to the Galleria area.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria

Address: 3201 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#53 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#71 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Uptown District, the Hilton Garden Inn Houston/Galleria Area hotel is surrounded by a lively mix of shops and restaurants. Our Houston hotel is steps from the prominent Galleria Mall offering excellent shopping and dining experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.