We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Past Revisited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Fire Museum

Houston Fire Museum
2403 Milam Street, Houston, TX 77006 (Midtown)
713 524 2526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 126 Attractions in Houston
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Past Revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I can not imagine how dangerous those brave firemen were so long ago, before all that safety equipment. This is very authentic. You can almost hear the fire alarm. There is a $5 entrance fee, they offer a senior discount and reduced rate for kids.
They have a play area for children with a fire truck with flashing lights, a pole to slide down and firemen clothing to put on. They allow pictures but the fire trucks are hands off. They offer a variety of items for sale.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Small but memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited the Museum with free passes courtesy of the Smithsonian Magazine Museum Day. We paid for our son's entry fee. My husband and I really enjoyed the the historical displays both upstairs and downstairs. The one thing that could improve the Museum is for them stop using the second floor as a storage room and get rid of all the boxes. It just really took away from the authenticity of the living quarters. The Museum also has a play room that doubles as a party room. Parties seem to be geared toward really young kids but my 8yo still enjoyed playing in the room, even though it felt uncomfortable to intrude upon someone's bday party. Last, but not least, for such a small museum they have a really good souvenir shop with lots of educational toys and fire/rescue related clothing items for wanna-be firefighters of all ages and genders.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Started out average, ended memorable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We took our 3 year old who loves all things about firefighters. The museum itself didn't hold his interest. My husband and I found the exhibits interesting, but it was hard to enjoy with a 3 year old bouncing off the walls. There is a pretty cool play room on one side of the museum with a fire pole, play house and hoses. This is also where they have the birthday parties and their happened to be one in there that day. It felt a little awkward enjoying the play room, like we were intruding. The bonus about their being a party was that a Houston fire engine parked out front and stayed until every kid was able to climb inside and outside and get their picture with a fire engine. Thank made our son's day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Visited with children.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Shows old fire house with vehicles. Shows how NASA has helped to improve fire fighters work and safety.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fire museum is very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It is an old firehouse that houses old firetrucks, fire equipment, etc. It is a very educational and interesting place to take children, right on the south side of downtown. The best part is, it's free!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston Fire Museum also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Houston Fire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Fire Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.