We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as I expected..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Village Marketplace

Traders Village Marketplace
7979 North Eldridge Road, Houston, TX 77041
+1 281 890 5500
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 38 Shopping in Houston
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Green Mountain Energy Summer Concerts return to Houston's Traders Village Marketplace June 6, 2009. Performers such Ezra Charles & the Works, John Evans, Luther & the Healers, Mango Punch and more every weekend through August 30. Admission is free, just $3.00 to park.
Wharton, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not as bad as I expected..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My family and I went to Trader's Village Saturday July 14, 2012. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews. It wasn't as bad as I was expecting it to be. There are a lot of vendors selling junk that should be thrown away but there are a lot of places with good things as well. You just have to take the time to look for it. I was not excited about the chance of seeing all the puppies others said were there from puppy mills but they weren't there when we went. There were a LOT of different kinds of birds for sale. It was very hot! They have cold drinks, we stopped at one of the little bars they have and had a margarita to cool off. We won't be going back unitl fall! I would suggest going to Trader's Village if you don't have anything to do on a weekend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Probably will not go back...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited Trader's Village last fall. We had not been there in a number of years, and the market has changed considerably. It is now mostly a hispanic local market but the quality of the goods was very poor. There was a great deal of garage sale reselling going on, and a lot of junk. There are still some cute shops in the village, but nothing that would draw us back to deal with the crowd and parking hassles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Large flea market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a very large flea market with lots of locals selling their new and used goods. Mostly inexpensive stuff like sunglasses, t-shirts and tools.

Many food vendors and interesting shops.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gigantic Flea Market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The stalls just keep going and going, lots of knock-offs and cut-rate goods. But in the mix, there are some curiosities and deals to be had. I was mainly looking for records and I found a few goodies. Stay away from the corndog stand. How do you mess up a corndog? I guess I should know better, it is a corndog after all.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Need to find a Market with more White people”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This use to be great 8 years ago. Now it is overcome with mexicans. All selling pretty much the same thing.

When can we go to find a equally diverse culture?

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traders Village Marketplace also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Traders Village Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Village Marketplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.