We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobby Center for the Performing Arts

Hobby Center for the Performing Arts
800 Bagby Street, Suite 300, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)
713.315.2400; box office: 713.315.2525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 126 Attractions in Houston
Attraction details
Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Hobby Center is a beautiful performing arts facility, home to Theater Under the Stars and Broadway Across America. The acoustics are great and the LED Galaxy on the ceiling amazing. The parking garage is no fun, so I always pay the extra $5 to valet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    44
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Houston Theatre at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautiful venue for the performing arts. Terrific Broadway shows by the best traveling companies in the U.S. Dine at the upscale Artiste inside the the Hobby Center before or after the show. It never disappoints. Stunning views of the dramatic Houston skyline especially at sunset. Complementary valet parking for drivers of Lexus autos.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent theatre venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a wonderful theatre venue! Spacious but not overwhelming. No need to visit New York when so many Broadway productions take to the road and come to Houston. Nice spacious lobby area with huge windows allowing a beautiful view of the downtown skyscrapers outside. Easy parking in the Hobby Center car park (although there was a bit of a log jam as everybody left after the show). Very impressed and will definitely be back to see more shows here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing First Time Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

First, the show was excellent lots of singing and character development. Love the way the 1960s style was presented.

Hobby Center is an excellent playhouse where first we received complementary valet parking because we were driving a Lexus. Entering the building we went straight to the will call and quickly got our tickets. We had orchestra tickets but it was on the second level where the restrooms are only located on the first. We walked up to the second level and there was a huge area to wait for the doors to open. It had access to an outdoor patio, bar, buffet line, and a restaurant. The doors open 30 min before the show and the inside was not huge like the Kodak Theater but definely designed for plays. It had two balconies and seemed nicely setup for sound where it had perfect acoustics. After the show there was a huge line for valet, but the workers and traffic police made the process go quickly and did not have to wait long.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The Hobby Center offers wonderful musical entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We go to the Center to see musicals & have never been disappointed. The productions are typically presented from theTheater Under the Stars group & offer top-rate traveling versions of Broadway shows. Today, we saw Camelot which is a rendition of the Broadway musical that played on Broadway in the 60s. We have several other musicals & all have been very entertaining.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobby Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hobby Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobby Center for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.